We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fall rates are here!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
San Rafael, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at this motel several times in the winter when we ski. This was our first time in the summer. The location is the best in Tahoe - great beach, you can walk to restaurants. The nice feature is you can select what room you want to reserve. We picked 110 and it has its own private balcony overlooking the lake. Just beautiful. The rooms are older but very comfortable. Good mattresses. We had a kitchenette - if you are planning on cooking the pans, etc are not the best. We only used the kitchenette for toast, coffee, and cold drinks.

Room Tip: Look on the website when picking rooms. Excellent feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and providing a review. We will check the pots and pans in #110. Really helps on the reviews when room numbers are provided.

Thanks again for returning to the Crown. #110 is one of the orignal Crown rooms opened in 1956. It has been extensively remodeled to take better advantage of the great view.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First the good news. It has a very nice little beach and pool as well as grills to cook dinner.

There is a marked difference among the rooms. In the older part of the resort (eg room 119), the rooms are dark, small and minimally furnished. Newer rooms have a similarly rather tired decor and no comfortable chairs to relax and read. They are better lit. Our room in the back building (newer) faced away from the water and had no noise problems. Room 119 and the similar room on the lower floor are directly on the street and are unbelievably noisy. The refrigerator in 119 was old, poorly maintained (freezer full of frost and ice) and barely cool.

The "continental breakfast" consisted only of a few unappealing rolls.


This is a fairly expensive motel, and the lodging is not worth the money. Factoring in the beach and pool, the value is slightly better.

Room Tip: Room 119 and its downstairs neighbor are directly on the street, brutally noisy and should be avoide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It is true that there are many differences amongst our rooms. Today’s Ferrari's Crown is composed of our original property built by my father and two neighboring properties. This has been an advantage for us in being able to serve many groups and families with differing needs. Rooms like 119 are our smallest rooms and do not have lots of furniture. The “newest” rooms were built in 1965. I believe these are the newest rooms on the North Shore except for a Tahoe Vista resort that had a major fire and rebuilt.

While our continental breakfast does not have any cooked food, we do provide two types of cereal, bagels, raisin bread and yogurt with a variety of beverages.

The North Shore of Lake Tahoe has the advanantage and disadvantage of having the main highway very close to the Lake. Nearly every lodging resort has rooms near the road. We also let people know the location if they are renting a unit near the highway. That being said, room 119 has been rented nearly the entire summer and will be booked most of ski season. This room has the disadvangage of being on the road, but the advantage of being the only standard unit with a kitchenette. This review refers to the room below 119 which is 102. We just remodeled that room making it a small 2 bedroom with a bathroom and a half. It has been very popular and already being booked for next summer.

Thank you for the review.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here in July and the weather was great. The sandy beach in front is great and is shallow for quite a distance. There are grills if you want to cook your own food and enjoy the scenery. I understand there are significant differences in the rooms. Our room faced the road and had quite a bit of road noise and no air conditioning. There are some rooms with air and quieter if facing the water. One of the hot tubs was in good shape while the enclosed hot tub was in bad need of repair. The overall initial appearance is that of a dated facility and that carried over into the rooms with older uncomfortable mattresses. There was a good continental breakfast provided with bagels, yogurt, and cereal. If you stay here be sure to get a lake facing room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the review. AC is tough to find anywhere in Tahoe as we are mostly older places and AC is about a 3 week/summer need. Glad my parents had foresight in 1965 to add AC to our "newest" buildings. I agree that rooms out near the highway can be noisy especially in the busiest part of summer. We are waiting for a new blower for the indoor hot tub. We do have some blemishes to the finish of that tub, but it's a cosmetic issue we will work on when the season slows down.

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. I would like to add that we have many long term customers that return and enjoy the roadside rooms.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We decided to see if we could find a place at last minute in North Tahoe area on the beach. I kept seeing good reviews for this hotel so was able to book a room for one night. This was a wonderful find! It was right on the beach in fact we got some Taco Bell and ate it overlooking the lake for dinner. It is closer to the beach for eating than the advertised restaurants close by. The rooms were super clean. I mean spotless in the bathroom. Very impressed. Room was smallish but fine. We had one of the smallest rooms but it had a small fridge, tv, coffee maker, hair dryer, tub with shower doors, small table with two chairs, nice amenities for bath, gave you towels for pools or beach. Plenty of chairs for beach use. We didn't even explore everything that was offered. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. We very pleased and will try to stay again if we can get in as it seems to be very popular. Only disappointment was breakfast for me as I can't eat wheat and they had lots of bread goods for breakfast. Not a lot of healthy choices. Yogurt but full sugar type and packaged oatmeal they thought was healthy. I didn't see any fruit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! We're always trying to improve our continental breakfast, your comments are helpful.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

by it's cover. If we had been cruising around looking for a place to stop for the night, I am certain we would have passed up this gem in favor of a chain or casino/hotel. I am very happy that did not happen. Outside appearances put this quant motel somewhere in the late fifties or early sixties but while a bit dated, the room we stayed in was very clean and serviceable and located just a few steps from the breakfast area and just a few more to the beach and pool area. The clerk who checked us in was friendly and very helpful, giving us directions to events we wanted to get to and names of the good restaurants. He didn't steer us wrong. The price was more than fair and when we opted to stay an extra night the friendly desk clerk dropped the price even more because "it's Sunday". Will definitely stay again should we return to that area and have already told a number of my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time for the nice review. You are "spot" on with the age of the Crown. Oldest building went up in 1955 and newest one in 1965. Our focus on the rooms are cleanliness first and then having everything serviceable. We do also try to keep up with some of the latest guest needs. Original Crown did not have phones and TVs and now we are working hard to keep up the new wireless and guests arriving with multiple devices.

Thanks again for taking time to provide feedback,

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great family stay right on the beach with a 2 bedroom suite, fireplace, comfortable beds, patio with umbrella table and chairs, 2 hot tubs with view of lake, 2 heated pools, kayak rentals next door, restaurants you can walk to, breakfast, free wifi and QUIET. The rooms with lake views have full length windows to enjoy the incredible view of the lake. If you can afford the extra $, get a lake front room. All the front desk staff go over and beyond. My husband had a bad toothache and we were given a few recommendations of dentists in the area, within walking distance. Thank you ! Everything worked out great! Keep up the outstanding customer service and this includes the maid services and maintenance workers. You all obviously love your job and I would have to think you have an excellent management team. This was our first experience and we hope to make it to Tahoe again. We will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: End room, lake view, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the great review and recognition of our employees!

In 58 summers, Ferrari's Crown has always had a member of our family living here. From my parents to my brother, to me and then my sister, we have always lived on the property. As we have gotten to know families over sevaral generations, much of the summer is like "old home" week. Some of my very best friends in the world I met playing on the beach here with them as kids.

See you next time!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and it was very cold and windy in June. We didn't expect the weather to be that cold. The hotel was built in the 50's (or maybe the 40's), but it was very clean and completely updated. We had 2 double beds, mini fridge and microwave in our room. The view is outstanding as we were lake front. Pool was heated which was nice.

Room Tip: Get a lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. This very nice family group caught the worst weather week of the Spring. It wasn't as cold as it could be but windy nearly every day. Our newest rooms were built in 1965 and oldest ones started in 1956 so pretty good on age estimate. We are an old place. Furniture is older, beds only a year old in over half the property and we try to assure that everthing works as it should.

You can't get closer to the Lake than the Crown, and we endeavor to give guests a clean, comfortable, affordable place to enjoy this great Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.