We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Save Saved
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay & Play Golf!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kings Beach
arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great family stay right on the beach with a 2 bedroom suite, fireplace, comfortable beds, patio with umbrella table and chairs, 2 hot tubs with view of lake, 2 heated pools, kayak rentals next door, restaurants you can walk to, breakfast, free wifi and QUIET. The rooms with lake views have full length windows to enjoy the incredible view of the lake. If you can afford the extra $, get a lake front room. All the front desk staff go over and beyond. My husband had a bad toothache and we were given a few recommendations of dentists in the area, within walking distance. Thank you ! Everything worked out great! Keep up the outstanding customer service and this includes the maid services and maintenance workers. You all obviously love your job and I would have to think you have an excellent management team. This was our first experience and we hope to make it to Tahoe again. We will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: End room, lake view, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the great review and recognition of our employees!

In 58 summers, Ferrari's Crown has always had a member of our family living here. From my parents to my brother, to me and then my sister, we have always lived on the property. As we have gotten to know families over sevaral generations, much of the summer is like "old home" week. Some of my very best friends in the world I met playing on the beach here with them as kids.

See you next time!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and it was very cold and windy in June. We didn't expect the weather to be that cold. The hotel was built in the 50's (or maybe the 40's), but it was very clean and completely updated. We had 2 double beds, mini fridge and microwave in our room. The view is outstanding as we were lake front. Pool was heated which was nice.

Room Tip: Get a lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. This very nice family group caught the worst weather week of the Spring. It wasn't as cold as it could be but windy nearly every day. Our newest rooms were built in 1965 and oldest ones started in 1956 so pretty good on age estimate. We are an old place. Furniture is older, beds only a year old in over half the property and we try to assure that everthing works as it should.

You can't get closer to the Lake than the Crown, and we endeavor to give guests a clean, comfortable, affordable place to enjoy this great Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a family run motel right on Lake Tahoe's north shore. It is in a convenient location for both ski areas during the winter and lake activities during the summer. Truckee, Squaw, Sand Harbor, Northstar and Mt Rose are less than 30 min drive. This area of Lake Tahoe does not have the large resorts and chain restaurants (like the South Shore), but has several nice "mom & pop" restaurants and motels. Ferrari offers clean, efficient and reasonably priced accommodations and in great location. Don't expect Hyatt or Marriot resort accommodations. Spend a few extra dollars and get a lake view room. There is a free continental breakfast, free parking and discounted lift passes. The motel front the lake and a nice beach. Kayaks and paddle boards can be rented next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! The North Shore is a special place and you have outlined exactly what makes it that way.

Hope to see you soon,

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love this place. The location is perfect, 12 minutes from North Star! Clean rooms, nice continental breakfast. We have only stayed here during winter months for skiing, so we have not used the pools. They have 2 hot tubs, one indoors and one outside. The indoor hut tub is one you need to reserve in 1/2 hour increments, perfect after a long day skiing. Prices are just right. Affordable, clean and comfortable. Oh, and its right on the lake!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We hope you can come during the summer. This is our most popular time as Kings Beach is a great summer town with jet skiing, parasailing and kayaking right next door, music on the beach once a week, a great old time mini golf, and more restaurants open. And, being in the winter "banana built" our local golf course opened up 5 holes today!! We have lots of repeat guests in the summer -- some over 50 years into 4 generations. . . . and you don't have to drive even 12 miles to fill your day with fun.

Thanks again for for choosing Ferrari's Crown.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the 4th year we are returning to Ferrari's Crown. Very clean, very friendly, very nicely located... very... very... very... And Jacuzzi is a bonus!
Our room had a kitchenette with a stove and all necessary pots/ pans. You can prepare a quick breakfast or full dinner. Also the hotel is a walking distance from restaurants, in case you prefer not to cook. The suite has 2 rooms divided by a door- great for privacy.
Over all - nice easy experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Location was perfect. Lake view room worth every cent. Service was amazing. Room very clean. Nice balcony. Nice hot tub. Bed very comfortable. Beach at your door step. Restaurants and shops very short walk

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and hope we will see you again. We now have some regular families that have visited us for over 50 years so we strive to cultivate return guests that appreciate the Crown.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There was not much available during the Christmas at the ski resorts , so we booked a room at FERRARI'S CROWN.
The room had partial lake view, it had kitchenette and 1 king bed.

When I booked the room I assumed that “King Lake View” would face a lake.
Turned out that is called “King Lake Front”.

There is breakfast area – I’d suggest bringing peanut butter and maybe cream cheese with you. There is a Safeway nearby where you can buy groceries.

The only complain is very noisy thermostat. It kept turning on and off and making very loud clicking sound.


Overall nice place, fairly close to Northstar. Nicely located on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sorry for the mix up on the room types. We have worked to make our room descriptions accurate. We have some of the few true "lakefront" rooms on the North Shore to try to make that differentiation. We do provide cream cheese and yogurt in the breakfast room but no peanut butter. In terms of sleep quality, all beds in the lakefront or lakeview rooms are either 1 or 2 years old and are a high quality Serta bed. They are a firm bed. We do understand how a faulty heater can upset a night's sleep. These types of problems are difficult for us to know we have unless a guest makes us aware. I do occasionally sleep in our rooms to look for issues such as this but didn't catch this one. If you would like, provide us which room number you were in and we will make sure the problem is corrected. We will also offer you a discount on a future stay.

Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will give us another try.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.