We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for ski holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Special
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
“Best place for ski holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

This place is great. The private hot tub (you have to reserve it) after a day of sking was fantastic. I live in the Bay Area so drive up early to ski. I stay at the Crown and ski the next day as well. It is so close to NorthStar (free shuttle across the street) and others, it is my mainstay.

The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Wifi worls well and the location on one of Tahoe's few actual beaches is excellent.

I am about to book my third stay here in as many months. You can't do better than this.

  • Liked — Great beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    80
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We were very pleased with our VERY CLEAN 2 bedroom unit with a lakeview. My 4 year-old neice loved the pool and beach and, for the price, this place can NOT be beat.

My only complaint (and it is a big one) is that we were kept up all night by drunk people partying in the parking lot directly below our window. It was a band that had been filming a music nvideo at the pool that day (?) and they had a whole block of rooms and they were LOUD. I finally got up to complain at the front desk and nobody was there - they were closed. We had to call the guy to come back over and he did go and talk to them and they did go inside and quiet down...for about 10 minutes and then they came back out and woke us up again.

Hopefully this was just an isolated experience. If it weren't for this experience, i would highly reccomend this resort for the price, location, views, and cleanliness. It just seems very weird that they would let such a big party go on at a family resort. Not to mention legal issues because the drinkers seemed very young, maybe not eve 21...

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

I had a king bed in a small room. It was a typical motel room with the window looking out into the parking lot. The room was dominated by the bed and would have been rather uncomfortable for two people. The bathroom had a shower stall and a small sink. There was an outside light that shone (shined?) into the bathroom and into the bedroom when the lights were turned off. It was too bright to sleep, so I had to shut the bathroom door to keep the room dark. I was in the ground floor of a two-story property. It sounded like there were dinosaurs stomping around in the room above me. However it was just noise. It's not as if the room walls trembled and dust floated down from the ceiling. The stomping became less frequent by 11 PM.

The pluses, some of which I did not take advantage of: there are two hot tubs, which are first-come-first served during the day and one of which can be reserved for 30 min. increments after around 6 PM; the private beach along the lake; the television has a large number of channels to choose from; the gas heater in the room; fluffy towels; clean room and bathroom; a free continental breakfast served until 9 AM.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Booked this motel for a weekend ski trip. Got a great room right on the beach with a spectacular view of the Lake.
The room was quiet and comfortable with the basics for cooking your own meals.
I had to leave early (due to family emergency) and even though I had booked a four-day special discount stay the management refunded the remainder without any problem.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Room with a View
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

We booked to stay at the Ferrari's Crown for a 2 week snowboarding trip, due to it's excellent location near to many of Lake Tahoe's resorts. As it is a motel we were not expecting 5 star luxury but we were pleasantly surprised! the room was spacious, clean, great shower and with a view most places would charge 3 times the price for.

We booked a lakeside room, which was RIGHT on the lake. We couldn't wait to get up each morning and look out our window at the spectacular views (see photos). There was a complimentary self-service continental breakfast which consisted of tea, coffee, rolls, pastries and bagels. Our room had a small kitchen which was fine for preparing a fried breakfast but might have been a struggle to prepare anything more adventurous.

We never used the indoor hot tub, but the outdoor tub shared the same amazing views as our room - a great way to relax after a hard days boarding!

The staff were very helpful, due to a mix-up in San Francisco we needed to print out an email for our rental car, which they were happy to let us use their printer for. They were also able to offer discounted lift passes for some of the resorts.

Kingsbeach itself has a great supermarket within walking distance of the motel and also worth a visit is Hiro Sushi (just across the road) and jason's bar & grill (just nextdoor).

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivehurst, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Yes, it's an older property and has that roadside motel feel to it, but the carpet was new and the staff was lovely. There were a few boxes of new televisions and mini-fridges sitting out back and few other odd items sitting around the property, but there were two staffers sweeping the lot, cleaning windows, and keeping the place tidy.

We stayed in room 365 facing the lake. If you go to their website and click on the map of the rooms, you can individually click on each room number on the map and see a photo of the exact room. Nice feature!

Each of the lake-facing rooms in our area had a wicker loveseat outside of the room and a small table facing the lake.

Breakfast offerings were coffee, cocoa, tea, juice, and giant bagels, served in a small room with a fireplace and television.

My husband and I liked our room - though the tropical-themed prints on the walls seemed a bit off for the location. The room had a microwave and mini-fridge. Overall, the room was quite spacious.

Would I stay there again? Yup.

  • Liked — Fabulous views of the lake & seating outside each room to enjoy them
  • Disliked — Bed & pillows were not as plush as you'll find these days in a chain hotel.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

The room was so small and noisy. Window was not sealed tightly. I actually caught cold while sleep. Harsh bath towel and thrifty bath supply. Shabby 50’s motel feeling

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.