We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Town fun at Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shoulder Season Specials
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Truckee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beach Town fun at Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Three families stayed at the Crown after backpacking in Desolation Wilderness for 3 nights. We really enjoyed the clean rooms, hot showers and short walk to sushi and coffee the next morning. Our kids had a blast going from Lake to pool to ping pong. This is a great place to stay if you want affordability, great views and an authentic old Tahoe experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake Tahoe if avialable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
MountainMom_530,

Thanks for your kind words, both here and on Yelp. It's our pleasure to give you a warm and comfortable experience. We know Tahoe is quite beautiful, and seeing our guests drinking it all in makes us very happy. Thanks again for your review and recommendation!

Until next time,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    80
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family has been going to Ferrari's for several years. We love staying in one of the family suites with the kitchenettes. They have everything we need for a family vacation. With BBQ's available on the decks overlooking the majestic Lake Tahoe and delicious restaurants within walking distance, we always return to this favorite spot. My children love being steps from the water and enjoy walking to the outdoor market/craft fair. We have rented paddle boards and even went paragliding which is also right there at the beach. If you want to gamble or enjoy some "night-life", that too is a short drive from this awesome spot! The pictures just don't do it justice-it is beautiful here!

Room Tip: We always stay in a room with a kitchenette but they also have full kitchens. We have stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
lovelife2012,

Thank you so much for your review! It's a real honor to be considered a "go-to" spot. Being right next to such a gorgeous spot, we want our guests to appreciate all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's our pleasure to keep you comfortable in between your exploration of the area, whether you're paragliding or splashing around with the kids in the water. It means so much to us that you've enjoyed your stays here - we really appreciate it!

Until next time,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It would be hard to imagine a better location for our triennial family reunion than Ferrari's Crown Resort. Almost 50 members spent 3-7 days at this ideal spot with superb views of the lake and surrounding mountains. The accommodations were clean and reasonably priced, and they offered a good variety of rooms to fit all needs for individuals, couples, and families. Facilities too (pools, grills, et al) met all our needs. FCR was conveniently located to many other attractions in the Tahoe area. But with all that, perhaps the highest recommendation I could make was that the entire staff from owner to housekeeping people were the friendliest my wife and I had ever encountered during travels in our 56 years of marriage. Ad multos annos to FCR.

Room Tip: Look over the FCR website and take video tours of individual rooms to fit your need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Bernard,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It is the highest honor we could ask for that you think we're the friendliest you've ever come across. I'll be sure the entire staff sees your positive words. It was our pleasure to take care of the whole gang during your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves - thanks again!

Sincerely,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Never wrote a review and I am hesitant to let the world know about this gem. It was a wonderful experience. Pay extra for the lake view room. Bring the kids. Stay for week. Again it was delightful and better than the website shows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Jay,

Thanks so much for making us your first TripAdvisor review! It's really an honor that you consider us perfect and a gem. I'm very glad you had a great experience with us, it's truly our pleasure.

Thanks again for sharing us with the TA world, even if it's against your better judgment! We hope to have you back again soon.

Best,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night, and I thought it was a nice little motel, close to everything, within walking distance to stores, restaurants, and public beach access. The motel does have its own private beach, but it is a very small area but nice to lay out and enjoy the sun. The staff members are extremely nice and helpful and they will go out of their way to make sure their customers are satisfied. You can tell these people really care about their family business. The motel does provide a breakfast and free wifi. There are 2 heated pools, as well as 2 spas, with one being an indoor spa, which you can reserve to use in private for 30 mins. The rooms that are closer to the lake are updated and more modern than the rooms towards the street. We stayed in one of their older rooms near the street. The room was very small and dated, but it was good for one night. Overall, I would return, but I would stay in one of their updated rooms near the lakeside. Motel is right on the lake and is beautiful! Can't get better views of the lake!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Michelle,

Thank you so much for your great review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We're continuously renovating, so eventually all the rooms will feel less "dated."

It's a point of pride that we make sure all of our visitors feel welcome and comfortable, so it's great to read you had a relaxing stay with us, even if just for one evening. I'll make sure the whole staff sees this, too. We really are in a great location with so many entertainment options nearby - I hope you got to check a few of them out!

Until next time,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

More than 40 members of our family, ranging from infants to seniors, stayed at Ferrari's Crown Resort from 6/17-24/12, and we had a great time. The rooms were clean, the staff members were invariably helpful and polite, the rates were very moderate and fair. We enjoyed the on-premises facilities--pools, spas, BBQ grills, breakfast and beach. And as other reviewers have said, there are many excellent restaurants and kayak/rafting facilities very nearby. Yes, we've all stayed at bigger, flashier places, but none beat the genuinely friendly FCR staff that goes out of its way to help their guests. Even the courtesy earthquake on Friday night didn't dissuade us. If we go back to the north lake area, we'll stay at FCR again.

Art Coombes

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Art,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We were very happy to host you and your family last week. It's our goal that all our guests have a pleasant, hospitable stay with us, whether it's a solo traveler or a big crew like yours. Seeing words like yours makes us smile - I'll be sure the rest of the staff reads this, too. Hopefully we'll see you again someday, this time without the earthquake!

Thanks again,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

So the place looks great online, only when we got there it was anything but. When we first arrive to check in the guy at the counter gives us the keys and then tells us we need to exit the main parking lot and then go around the "back", which basically looks like another hotel that they purchased and did not even bother to take the old sign down yet. The room was dirty, it appeared to be straight out of the early eighties, 30 year old furniture and small tube television. The bathroom was even worse, like straight out of the 60's with water that you can not adjust correctly ( either scalding hot or freezing cold) which was another problem with young kids, and not to mention the toilet ran all night and the shower did not drain properly. Also the walls are paper thin, could hear peoples mumbling conversations and a set of drunk travelers arrived at about 2 am and decided to be extremely noisy. Horrible nights sleep. All of this maybe to be expected if your paying 30-50 dollars in ghetto environment, but this is right on the beach in tahoe and for almost 100 dollars a night on thursday i was expecting more. The beach, if you can call it that, is approximately 100 yards by 50 yards with old furniture strewn about. FYI went and physically checked several other motels by this one, all dumps don't bother wasting your money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dominic,

Thank you for taking the time to try us out and write a review. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here, though I wanted to address a few of your concerns.

The old sign is still up due to a county ordinance. It's a bit more complex than we'd hoped, but rest assured, we are working on getting it down. The last thing we want to do is cause any confusion for our guests.

Our rooms have brand new laminate wood floors and yours was deep cleaned within the three weeks of your visit, so I'm a little concerned that you found it unclean. What specifically about it was dirty?

Almost all of our rooms have tube televisions - I apologize if you didn't like them. However, that's pretty commonplace for our accommodations. In fact, most of the resorts in the area were built in the 1950s and 60s. We've actually gotten lots of compliments about the style and decor of our rooms, but we understand everyone has their own taste.

We'll be sure to check the water and toilet to make sure they're running properly. Those rooms are heavily booked this summer, so thanks for letting us know!

As for the beach, we've just added some newer Tropitone furniture. That certainly helps, and we believe the area is much improved now. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the beautiful view!

Again, I want to apologize for any unpleasantness you experienced during your stay and hope to make this right. If you'd like to talk about this further, please feel free to call me directly at the number below. I look forward to speaking with you!

Sincerely,
Dave Ferrari
Owner
800.645.2260
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.