We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ferrari's Crown Resort to your Saves list
Ferrari's Crown Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
new jersey
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

we stayed there during our annual ski trip, the room was small but clean. it is right on the north side of the lake with great views. they offer discount ski tickets, a free breakfast with everything you need to start your day. we got the room on hot wire for a discount, what else could you want.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    83
    40
    9
    8
See reviews for
76
61
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.F. Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I did not want to pay an enormous amount for a room while attending a family reunion in mid August. When I went online to make reservation a few months ahead I found many places to be all booked up. There were rooms available here and they were a decent price. I concur with the other reviewers, excellent location, clean room, loved the two swimming pools, great place for kayaking. The place is dated and kinda funky but I liked it and would stay here again, next time I might pay more and get a lake view room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Thanks to the Crown owners & staff for another great family vacation. The Crown is a great family style resort right on the water. The Ritz it is not but it doesn't mean to be either. However, there's not a better location - right on the water, nice sized rooms, friendly staff. The beach is steps away from the room, two pools, a breakfast room with coffee and a good continental breakfast. Beautiful views of the lake, mountains and sunsets. We've been coming here for a week every year for the last 20+ years and it is always sad to leave. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Not as shabby as some along the water. They have rooms on the lake but I did not get one ($108 single) for my very small room with refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, old box TV, alarm clock and Kleenex. Two nice pools and sitting areas, BBQ’s for use. The lake is up 7 feet due to the record snow runoff so the beach is smaller than normal. Complimentary continental breakfast. Free WI-FI. A good family place. I was close to the road but it was quiet. No a/c but a ceiling fan and another fan in the closet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We just stayed one night so we didn't pay extra for a larger room or one with a lake view. Our standard room had 1 double and 1 twin bed with a mini-coffeemaker and mini-fridge which ran quietly. I liked that the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the large window opened. However, I didn't like the small size of the room or that the bathroom was miniscule. So I would recommend paying for a larger room or a lake view room. The tiny breakfast room offered breads/rolls, hot and cold cereal and yogurt. The main reasons to stay at this resort are the 2 pools and spas, decks with lake view, barbecues, and beach access with adjacent watercraft rentals.

Room Tip: Visit Ferrari's Crown Resort website at www.tahoecrown.com for a description and room number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

You can't beat the location of this resort. It's nicely situated right on the lake and near restaurants, shops and beaches on the North Shore. This is an older property, which gives it some of its charm, but kept up nicely. It's the type of place that people come back to year after year for a summer vacation because it feels casual and homey. The lakefront room we had was spacious and clean with a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV. The pool and deck areas were clean and inviting. A little pricey at $220/night for a lakefront room with a 3 night minimum in the summer, but okay, we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were looking for a place on the north shore where we could relax by the lake and walk to dinner at night and this fit the bill perfectly! We had stayed the 2 nights prior in a lovely room at Harrah's and granted, no comparison between the rooms, but we truly enjoyed sitting out on the deck overlooking the gorgeous lake and even getting free wi-fi acces out there! We were in a King bedded room #427 that looked out onto the 2 pools and the lake beyond that. I would not have been happy with a room on the street side. First night we walked to nearby Jason's for dinner and the 2nd night walked to Lanza's Italian Restaurant, which we really enjoyed. We spent some time trying to see if there would have been another property that would have made us happier and other than the Hyatt in Incline which we could not afford, we could not find another place. Note, there was very little beach because the lake is so very high this summer!

Room Tip: they provide a map of the rooms and descriptions on their website - do pay attention to this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferrari's Crown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.