We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for recreation or just lake watching.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
North Lake Boulevard, Kings Beach, CA
530 546 7248
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Kings Beach
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
rocklin
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great spot for recreation or just lake watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had some relatives visiting from Hong Kong and had never gotten a good look at Lake Tahoe. After a stop at the pioneer museum, we headed out around the lake and stopped in Kings Beach. They were able to take pictures and enjoy a stroll around the lake. This is an ideal spot because you can see across the Lake and see a lot of shoreline. Most vista points allow you to look over the lake. Kings beach puts you in the lake. This is a very popular summertime destination for tourists and locals alike.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great beach. Ice cold lake water. Beautiful views. Friendly local people. You can spend an entire day here, or just a few hours. Either way you'll leave feeling refreshed and renewed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of few accsesses to a beach on Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very People-friendly with a variety of activities to participate in, kayak rentals, etc. A nice playground is there for children. The quality of the sand is questionable. It is within walking distance to eateries, coffee, souvenir shops. Evey year they host a fireworks display on July 3rd.,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Secret Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This trail was amazing..... with snow falling and sierra redwoods everywhere.... If you want to find out what and where the secret hike is..... you have to stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge in Tahoe Vista.... lake Tahoe

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“perfect for fun and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loooved this beach. i'm from sf and i went to tahoe two weekends in a row to enjoy their beaches. this was by far my favorite because the sand didn't hurt to walk on unless it was burning hot and the lake was perfect! i love fresh water so it was great playing in it without worrying about salt stinging my eyes or getting in my mouth. the only thing that sucked was that you had to pay $10 for parking... but i think all the beaches in tahoe cost to park...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Beach State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.