We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
North Lake Boulevard, Kings Beach, CA
530 546 7248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Kings Beach
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great beach. Ice cold lake water. Beautiful views. Friendly local people. You can spend an entire day here, or just a few hours. Either way you'll leave feeling refreshed and renewed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of few accsesses to a beach on Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very People-friendly with a variety of activities to participate in, kayak rentals, etc. A nice playground is there for children. The quality of the sand is questionable. It is within walking distance to eateries, coffee, souvenir shops. Evey year they host a fireworks display on July 3rd.,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Secret Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This trail was amazing..... with snow falling and sierra redwoods everywhere.... If you want to find out what and where the secret hike is..... you have to stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge in Tahoe Vista.... lake Tahoe

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“perfect for fun and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loooved this beach. i'm from sf and i went to tahoe two weekends in a row to enjoy their beaches. this was by far my favorite because the sand didn't hurt to walk on unless it was burning hot and the lake was perfect! i love fresh water so it was great playing in it without worrying about salt stinging my eyes or getting in my mouth. the only thing that sucked was that you had to pay $10 for parking... but i think all the beaches in tahoe cost to park...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Water sports fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Easy access for parking, to the lake, small shops, and places to eat for reasonable prices. Plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Beach State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kings Beach State Recreation Area to your Saves list