We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for fun and relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
North Lake Boulevard, Kings Beach, CA
530 546 7248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 attractions in Kings Beach
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“perfect for fun and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loooved this beach. i'm from sf and i went to tahoe two weekends in a row to enjoy their beaches. this was by far my favorite because the sand didn't hurt to walk on unless it was burning hot and the lake was perfect! i love fresh water so it was great playing in it without worrying about salt stinging my eyes or getting in my mouth. the only thing that sucked was that you had to pay $10 for parking... but i think all the beaches in tahoe cost to park...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Water sports fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Easy access for parking, to the lake, small shops, and places to eat for reasonable prices. Plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Best Beach on Tahoe's North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best sand, best sun, best sights. Convenient but busy parking lot. Across the street from the Kings Beach commercial strip with several choices of restaurants, bars and shops. They need to upgrade the pier for more uses.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It's a fun place to hang out if you can find a parking place. There's a parking lot but it's not big enough and a little pricey. I'm not crazy about crowds & it seems like you always have to fight them here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a beautiful beach. How can you describe a little piece of heaven right off of the highway? The water is clear, but very cold.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Beach State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.