We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water sports fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
North Lake Boulevard, Kings Beach, CA
530 546 7248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Kings Beach
Attraction details
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Water sports fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Easy access for parking, to the lake, small shops, and places to eat for reasonable prices. Plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe Vista, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Best Beach on Tahoe's North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best sand, best sun, best sights. Convenient but busy parking lot. Across the street from the Kings Beach commercial strip with several choices of restaurants, bars and shops. They need to upgrade the pier for more uses.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It's a fun place to hang out if you can find a parking place. There's a parking lot but it's not big enough and a little pricey. I'm not crazy about crowds & it seems like you always have to fight them here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a beautiful beach. How can you describe a little piece of heaven right off of the highway? The water is clear, but very cold.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BRING A COOLER AND UMBRELLA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in Tahoe Vista the last week of July and visited this State park twice. It is by far the nicest beach in the area; clean, beautiful. However, don't go there thinking you will be able to grab a drink or any type of refreshments at a stand or restaraunt. There is ONE such place, run by the state, and the prices were very high and the line was VERY, VERY long. When I finally did get my Pepsi, it was flat and yucky. If you don't mind a bit of a hike, you can run back out on the main road and get something; but i would just bring a cooler. Also, there is no place to rent an umbrella or anything to get out of the sun, so bring one with you. And be forewarned: the water is COLD! My son is very hardy and usually swims in anything; but even he could only get in waist-high. Also, we got there about 1100 am and we had to park really far away. Get there early. Lots of clean restrooms, which was nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Beach State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.