We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water sports fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
North Lake Boulevard, Kings Beach, CA
530 546 7248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Kings Beach
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Water sports fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Easy access for parking, to the lake, small shops, and places to eat for reasonable prices. Plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Best Beach on Tahoe's North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best sand, best sun, best sights. Convenient but busy parking lot. Across the street from the Kings Beach commercial strip with several choices of restaurants, bars and shops. They need to upgrade the pier for more uses.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

It's a fun place to hang out if you can find a parking place. There's a parking lot but it's not big enough and a little pricey. I'm not crazy about crowds & it seems like you always have to fight them here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a beautiful beach. How can you describe a little piece of heaven right off of the highway? The water is clear, but very cold.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BRING A COOLER AND UMBRELLA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in Tahoe Vista the last week of July and visited this State park twice. It is by far the nicest beach in the area; clean, beautiful. However, don't go there thinking you will be able to grab a drink or any type of refreshments at a stand or restaraunt. There is ONE such place, run by the state, and the prices were very high and the line was VERY, VERY long. When I finally did get my Pepsi, it was flat and yucky. If you don't mind a bit of a hike, you can run back out on the main road and get something; but i would just bring a cooler. Also, there is no place to rent an umbrella or anything to get out of the sun, so bring one with you. And be forewarned: the water is COLD! My son is very hardy and usually swims in anything; but even he could only get in waist-high. Also, we got there about 1100 am and we had to park really far away. Get there early. Lots of clean restrooms, which was nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Beach State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.