We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Char-Pit

Char-Pit
8732 N Lake Blvd, Kings Beach, CA 96143
530-546-3171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Kings Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great burger worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our first visit after doing the sunset kayak on the lake. There was a line but seemed to move fast. When we placed our order we were told it would take 30 minutes but it actually came out faster than that, more like 20 minutes. The buns were nicely toasted, and the burger and fries were good. With all the people and the long line, we assumed the food would be good, and it was definitely well worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun Stop for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Driving around the lake and we stopped here for lunch. It was pretty crowded - a good sign. Food was good, music fun and the crowd all seemed happy. We are outside and enjoyed a nice summer day. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Char-Pit Flames Out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Char-Pit in King's Beach, CA, looks like it would be a fun place to eat. Don't bother - it's a nightmare. This is one of the worst restaurants I've ever experienced in my life. Start with the fact that there's no rhyme nor reason to the order-taking process. We were there for lunch and the girl taking the orders was way too slow - people were lined up out the door. People receiving their food and taking it to a table were constantly interrupting the order line.

Watching the kitchen help prepare the meals was like watching an auto accident. The kitchen is way too small for the crowds of people ordering food; the help was stepping over each other as a result of bad processes, and french fries and other food items were being handled directly be the staff - no one was wearing gloves. It took 45-minutes to get a simple food order - McDonald's would have fired every single member of this restaurant team the first hour they were on the job. And after such a long wait, the food was mediocre at best. A trip to the restroom confirmed what I suspected. It was filthy - just like the kitchen.

This is a bad operation and it would be best to avoid it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great local hamburger place. Go early or plan on waiting. It's worth the wait. Service is pretty quick.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

When in King's Beach..we never miss an opportunity to grab a burger and shake at the Char Pit. A classic 'greasy spoon' that scratches that special itch when you just have to have it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Char-Pit also viewed

Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Char-Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Char-Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.