We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yuck, really bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 King City

Save Saved
You added Super 8 King City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 King City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Broadway Circle, King City, CA 93930 (Formerly Courtesy Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in King City
San Marcos, California
1 review
“yuck, really bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel used to be nice, not any more. The room was dirty. Dirty floors, dirty bed spread, dingy towels that hadn't seen bleach in a long time, and there was an empty beer bottle between the bed and nightstand. The woman at the desk in the morning was barely civil and couldn't be bothered to print a reciept. We won't go back and we will contact AAA also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Tried Days Inn and desk clerk was on the phone ignoring us. Left and went to Courtesy Inn. Don't stay here. Desk clerk rude and rough. Rooms were smelly and gross. Bed ok for me- too soft for hubby. Did have in room coffee, micro, and frig but too afraid to touch. Too tired to drive farther or we would have. Creepy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these King City hotels

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel lacks service and honesty on what they say they offer! How can the AAA sign be on their window or their website? Not clean and very bad service. Called on their filthy room phone for service on needing iron and ironing board in room. Had to go get myself. Asked if someone could come to the room and unplug drain in bathroom, no one available until next day. We wanted to speak to the manager about the room and she told her employee on the phone that she would reimburse us and for us to leave. When we got to the checkout, manager had her employee tell us we would only be reimbursed 50% of the room charge even though we had only been there less than 2 1/2 hrs. There are other negative comments to this hotel. Don't recommend this hotel to anyone going to King City!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stopped here on the way in to Monterey from Los Angeles. It’s a little over an hour drive from here to Monterey. Paso Robles Wineries are about 20 minutes south from here. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a microwave, a small fridge, and a coffee maker in the room. It looked like they were in the middle of a remodel. A lot of the furniture is nice, but a lot of it doesn’t match. They need to hire an interior decorator, ‘cause the furniture was nice, it just didn’t fit. Even though, room was much better than expected. There's a small pool, but nothing to brag about. They offer free continental breakfast which was coffee, juice, cereal, milk, bagels, muffins and hot waffles. The hotel is located right off the freeway and there’s a diner and a couple of fast food restaurants within walking distance. If you drive past to the other side of the freeway, the downtown there has several Mexican restaurants. The town probably has about 15 restaurants, 10 of them are Mexican. Food was really good at the Sinaloa Restaurant. I would stay here again if I was driving through for a night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

We had reservations for 3 rooms since Aug. 2005. It was Moto GP weekend in Monterey & this was the only reasonably priced room within 50 miles. I have never felt so uncomfortable in a motel in my life. Thankfully, we spent little time in the rooms. The boxsprings all looked like they had been hauled out of a dump. They were stained and gross. I think the maids did the best they could with what they had to work with. I requested different rooms, & was offered rooms upstairs, but only for 2 out of the 5 nights we had reservations. I'm assuming the rooms were better upstairs. Next year I'll skip race weekend if it means staying here again.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

This hotel saved us the one night we were in King City, a small agricultural town near Pinnacles National Monument. I couldn't find any reviews of hotels/motels online for this city, and so I picked a brand I knew... Big mistake. (See my review of the Days Inn, King City). In any case, Courtesy Inn is very courteous and had competitive rates and nicer rooms and service. They were even kind enough to upgrade us that night when we told them of our issue at Days Inn. It's not an upscale place, it's on par or slightly better than a Super 8 or Motel 6 without more furniture and room, but some of the things in the room were dated - carpet was very used near bathroom door - couldn't close it, older sinks/counters etc, but very clean and fine. There was also a microwave a refrigerator in every room which I love to have.

So, Courtesy Inn is a great place to stay in King City, and the movie theatre in town plays recent movies and a restaurant beside it called "The Grill" has excellent food and service and a great bar. This town, except for the Days Inn, far exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 King City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 King City

Address: 4 Broadway Circle, King City, CA 93930 (Formerly Courtesy Inn)
Location: United States > California > King City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in King City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 King City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 King City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 King City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.