We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was OK but the hotel is dated and the facilities such as the pool, restaurants, beach, business centre, etc., have not grown despite the hotel doubling its room count. I had the Khmer Chicken Curry that had 15 chunks of red, green and yellow pepper, two small string beans, two small egg plants halves and chunks of what looked like processed chicken out of a packaged meal. The one thing I cannot eat is peppers as they give me indigestion. The staff needs training too!
They sell the hotel on the basis that Jackie Onassis stayed there. She died 20 years ago and certainly would not have stayed there had there been an alternative.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building and not the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    147
    69
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
167
29
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in February for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

I would recommend the Villas overlooking the gardens and sea view. They are very spacious and we had a lovely bathroom with an outside shower. Plenty of wardrobe space and a lovely balcony to sit on and watch the sunset go down. Although I did find the bed somewhat hard.

Breakfast was ok. Sometimes a long wait for eggs as people waiting but this got better as the week went by. We ate in the main restaurant the first night and the food was ok if a little cold when it did arrive but no atmosphere as rather stark and poorly lit. We ate at the beach on two occasions and really enjoyed the choice of menu and the location.

There is a hotel shuttle bus service into town throughout the day and evening so we made use of this to get to town but took a tuk tuk back at 5 dollars. We found more than enough restaurants and shops and was not disappointed. Best to stock up on water and drinks at the small shop where you are dropped off/picked up by the hotel shuttle bus.

Lovely beach although on first few days not enough sunbeds to go round. Same for the swimming pool as I counted only 12 beds around the pool area.

Room Tip: Book a Villa and one with an outside shower as these are bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a really nice stay here. Would definitely recommend the premier villa rooms as the sea view and private terrace were really great to have. Overall the hotel is showing it's age in spots, and the service wasn't quite as good as a few other places we stayed at while in Cambodia, but really it was still a very good hotel, and we didn't have any actual complaints or issues during our stay. I actually liked that the property is outside of the scene at Serendipity Beach, and it was only a $5 Tuk-Tuk into town anyway if you want to get down there. The private beach was probably the highlight of this hotel. Would definitely stay again if we were back in Sihanoukville.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is separated into separate areas and is right on the beach(private). There is an eight storey building that contains reception, pool area and main restaurant. We were originally booked into a double superior room in this building. The room was huge with huge bathroom area very tasetfully furnished with king size beds. It had large windows overlooking the sea however there was no balcony which is a must for us so we upgraded to a villa.
The villa room was nice but not as luxurious as the superior room but with a nice balcony overlooking the gardens and the sea.
We could only get a room with two single beds which was ok but i found them to be a bit hard.
Bathroom area was smaller than the superior room but adequate - plenty of hot water.
The staff were wonderful, helpful and polite
Breakfasts were excellent with a huge selection and variety of foods to cater for all tastes.
There is an electric cart to run you around the complex as it is a bit hilly.
A round trip to town in a tuc tuck was $10 which is a bit of a problem if you just want a few items from the mini mart so if you are in town make sure you stock up on water etc
There are no external restaurants, shops, mini marts etc near this hotel and it is about 20 mins from downtown Sihanoukville.
The only grizzle I have is that there is a card to unlock the door and activate the power and air conditioning. You have to take the card out when you leave your room or you can't get back in. So when you come back to your room it is extremely hot and I felt the airconditioning even when turned down to the max and the fan up struggled to cool the room adequatel.
For my preference the distance from town and restaurants is a negative however that is only a personal preference

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a villa unless you are happy enough to not have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have only positives for this hotel. Staff were lovely and our room [sea view villa] was excellent. Grounds and beach lovely. Free travel into town is well worth using. Very nice pool and always quiet. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

As we drove drove up the long winding drive way through the well manicured grounds, the hotel building looked impressive! The lobby seemed inviting too with a cheerful contemporary look. We really liked our 6th floor spacious room with huge windows, commanding great sea view! The breakfast was reasonably OK. But what we enjoyed was the dining room's outdoor seating. We liked the hotels own beach, which was just a few minutes walk from the main building, and could be accessed by an elevator at the end of the path. We also liked the hotel location, as it was away from the crowded, dirty, unpleasant Serendipity Beach. We had rented a motor bike, therefore, it was no problem moving around. And the hotel's free shuttle was a plus. We took it several times to town for dinner. The place is great for kids, as it offers a large pool, a clean nice beach, and table tennis. The service was slow though. Several days, when we returned to our room late in the afternoon, the room was not cleaned yet. And on our first night, we had ordered room service dinner. It took forever to arrive. Otherwise, we were happy with the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and originally booked a Deluxe Room but upgraded to a villa with a balcony, the room was very spacious, clean and in a good location, there was a semi outside shower that was just lovely, we had no problem with hot water at all.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel due to the high cost of the meals - we either got the bus or tuk tuk into town or walked along the beach to the restaurants there for lunch. Have to say the breakfast was great with an excellent choice and a good egg station. All the staff were very friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We were a bit disappointed with the beach - unless you get down there early there just isn't enough shade available, there are a few umbrellas but most people seemed to be cramped together under one big tree. Saying that the pool was lovely, there are not a lot of loungers around it but we always found somewhere to sit, at times we were the only 2 there.

This hotel is in a beautiful location and is ideal for a relaxing stay away from the town, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel & Boutiqute resort is an International standard 4 star with all room facing sea view and over 1km of private Ocean front, including 300 meters of White Sand beach and a spacious outdoor Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.