We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea View Villa
Sangkat 2 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 hotels in Sihanoukville
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Little gem of a place. Has a great atmosphere and the food is wonderful - there's an exciting menu, great choice and wonderful service. Lovely seating area at the front of the hotel with comfortable seats and extensive selection of drinks including some lovely wines. Breakfast is also a treat - you must try the breakfast granola it's to die for! Can't recommend highly enough :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
44
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Our first of 6 nights was in a double fan room through booking confusion not choice. The room was ok, clean enough the bathroom had a night time ant problem though. The twin a/c was very spacious, room itself clean, a/c good but the pillow was like a sack stuffed with socks! I'm not one to expect home bedding but sleeping on balls of something is pushing it! The downstairs room we had backed onto the kitchen. We are not party animals, in fact consumed no alcohol all week here so the constant noise all evening and from about 7am was quite bothersome. The chopping etc can't be helped but the conversation level of staff does not need to be that loud! The room overlooked what can only be the dumping ground of this place. The bathroom was narrow and the sink waste pipe drained directly on to the shower drain, the pipe must be mouldy because the stink from using the sink tap is hideous and black chunks are often seen floating out of the pipe. Apart from when we switched rooms our bedding and towels were not changed the whole stay. Even when the towels became a rusty colour. There clothe laundry is worth it thou! Best laundry on our travels so far!
The service was poor. The Cambodian guy that checked us in and banged on our door 10 mins before our pick up should have arrived was so uninterested in anything other that watching stuff on his lap top. When we arrived it really seemed like we had offended him personally by wanting to check in! We had to ask 3 seperate staff members about a bus to Phnom Penh before we could get any information. We had one dinner and one breakfast in the restaurant and disliked both but this is probably a personal thing.
I get that for this area and this close to the beach the price is good but there should be a disclaimer saying you are paying for location and not much else! It seems they are aiming above the average backpacker but in an area where the clientele are mostly backpackers. Plus the beach is hideous and we went to Otres beach everyday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in Sihanoukville for ten days. Our first four days where at a different guesthouse and we happily changed to Sea View Villa. Bang for your buck it is the best guesthouse you are going to get.

Rooms: The rooms are large and have everything your looking for (except a fridge) and they clean every day.

Location: They are ten steps from the beach in the Golden Lion are but the club music is pretty faint.

Service: This is where they take the hit. They want you to leave your key every time you exit the guesthouse. The only problem is to actually hand it to a person will take up half your day. The one Cambodian guy that is at occasionally at the desk is uninterested and the owners are oblivious.

For more information about Sihanoukville, copy and paste the link below into your browser:

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/11/25/sihanoukville/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here after checking out of our hotel across the road for lunch.
You will get the best sandwiches on Sihanoukville here.
I Wish we had found it sooner.
I cant speak for the accomodation but the bar area is great, Nice food & drink and very reasonable priced.

Very friendly staff and owner.
Well worth a visit for lunch if you are down the beach or are staying in a different hotel.

David & Jeannette UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We pre-booked one night here as we were going to go to the islands but decided at the last minute to stay for 5 nights and go for day trips instead. The rooms are big and basic. We were on the top floor with a fan room $15 a night. The room backed onto the bars along the beach so everynight we were treated to the thumping dance music and whooping of the many, many backpackers that stay in Sihanoukville. The owner and her husband (an English couple) were frindly and gave good advice on trips and stuff. The room was cleaned everday but the towels only changed once... even though they had turned orange (something in the water I think!). Breakfast is not included but the restaurant that is attached is really good... the best in the vicinity! All the staff were friendly. We had lots of powercuts and the wifi is sporadic.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room at the front, or take earplugs. Ask for aircon as it was 33degrees everyday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights total. We got a room with air con and hot water for $15 per night. Our room was quite big and clean! We didn't make a prior booking and the staff were friendly and accommodated our needs.

Positives: room size, restaurant downstairs, location (very close to the beach).

Negatives: the wifi cuts in and out and is not reliable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a 'games room' (pool table..etc...) attached and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind positive response. We endeavour to make everyones stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible and will make the necessary changes to the room that you stayed in so that the light does not shine in any more. We have also contacted our internet provider to see what they can do to remedy the situation with the wifi cutting in and out. Once again thanks for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have just returned from a sublime trip to Cambodia, we visit Phnom Penn, Seim Riep and then Sihnoukville, what an inspirational place.
Most of all I would like to say thank you to the lovely people at Sea Veiw Villa because they made us feel so welcome, the hotel is happy and friendly, the room we had was spacious and clean, the breakfasts were fantastic and great value, the restaurant food was delicious. We made lots of friends and felt very welcome.
A gem of a place.

Room Tip: go for A/C it is really hot down there and it is great to go back to a lovely cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. It is great for us and our staff to know that we are for the most part doing a good job. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Cambodia and hope to see you again soon.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Villa

Address: Sangkat 2 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Sea View Villa is a friendly, family run Sihanoukville hotel that offers a relaxed atmosphere whilst maintaining a consistently high standard. Our tastefully decorated rooms are clean and well maintained as well as stylish and affordable. Just a thirty metre walk from Sihanoukville's popular Serendipity Beach we are in an ideal location for everybody.All of our rooms have en- suite bathrooms with hot water and range from standard fan rooms to deluxe A/C family rooms with flat screen TV, fridge and coffee making facilities.The hotel offers a games room with pool table, table football and a wide selection of board games suitable for everyone. Furthermore we have free wi fi throughout the hotel and can offer a wider range of services such as laundry, bus and boat tours and Island bookings.Our leafy courtyard restaurant caters for all tastes. We have an extensive breakfast and lunch menu featuring homemade smoothies and cakes. Our evening menu is amongst the best in the area offering tasty homemade cuisine and a great range of delicious desserts, classic cocktails and an international wine menu.All rooms at New Sea View Villa are tastefully decorated to a high standard and are furnished with locally made furniture and art work. Each room offer sprung mattresses, mosquito protection, en suite bathrooms with hot water power showers and either fan or air conditioning. Our superior rooms offer, flat screen TVs, fridges, baths and coffee and tea making facilities. We have an in house team of cleaners that provide a professional, daily cleaning service, new towels and linen are provided every three days or upon requestNew Sea View Villa boasts a comfortable and inviting restaurant, situated at the front of the hotel. We have a varied breakfast and lunch menu. Our leafy courtyard setting is an ideal place to sit back and enjoy your meal. For dinner there is a great range of tasty, homemade, food that is amongst the areas finest. Our delicious desserts are prepared daily by our excellent kitchen team. A range of classic cocktails and an international wine menu compliment the menu perfectly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View Villa Hotel Sihanoukville
Sea View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea View Villa to your Saves list