We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had been here sooner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea View Villa
Save
You added Sea View Villa to your Saves list
Sangkat 2 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wish we had been here sooner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here after checking out of our hotel across the road for lunch.
You will get the best sandwiches on Sihanoukville here.
I Wish we had found it sooner.
I cant speak for the accomodation but the bar area is great, Nice food & drink and very reasonable priced.

Very friendly staff and owner.
Well worth a visit for lunch if you are down the beach or are staying in a different hotel.

David & Jeannette UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
8
46
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We pre-booked one night here as we were going to go to the islands but decided at the last minute to stay for 5 nights and go for day trips instead. The rooms are big and basic. We were on the top floor with a fan room $15 a night. The room backed onto the bars along the beach so everynight we were treated to the thumping dance music and whooping of the many, many backpackers that stay in Sihanoukville. The owner and her husband (an English couple) were frindly and gave good advice on trips and stuff. The room was cleaned everday but the towels only changed once... even though they had turned orange (something in the water I think!). Breakfast is not included but the restaurant that is attached is really good... the best in the vicinity! All the staff were friendly. We had lots of powercuts and the wifi is sporadic.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a room at the front, or take earplugs. Ask for aircon as it was 33degrees everyday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights total. We got a room with air con and hot water for $15 per night. Our room was quite big and clean! We didn't make a prior booking and the staff were friendly and accommodated our needs.

Positives: room size, restaurant downstairs, location (very close to the beach).

Negatives: the wifi cuts in and out and is not reliable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a 'games room' (pool table..etc...) attached and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind positive response. We endeavour to make everyones stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible and will make the necessary changes to the room that you stayed in so that the light does not shine in any more. We have also contacted our internet provider to see what they can do to remedy the situation with the wifi cutting in and out. Once again thanks for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have just returned from a sublime trip to Cambodia, we visit Phnom Penn, Seim Riep and then Sihnoukville, what an inspirational place.
Most of all I would like to say thank you to the lovely people at Sea Veiw Villa because they made us feel so welcome, the hotel is happy and friendly, the room we had was spacious and clean, the breakfasts were fantastic and great value, the restaurant food was delicious. We made lots of friends and felt very welcome.
A gem of a place.

Room Tip: go for A/C it is really hot down there and it is great to go back to a lovely cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. It is great for us and our staff to know that we are for the most part doing a good job. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Cambodia and hope to see you again soon.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We booked a standard room but for the first night they upgraded us to a superior for the same price as the standards were full. Location was amazing right by the beach. The decor in the rooms was lovely, looks like there's some thought gone in with little homely touches. We didn't know about the 'games room' before we got there, a pool table fussball table and table tennis, which was a nice surprise, or the roof terrace with sun beds which is amazing to get a bit of peace and quiet away from the hawkers! We were asked a couple of times if everything was alright - it's nice to feel like a valued customer! The restaurant was really good - try the brownie!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review New Sea View Villa on Tripadvisor, it makes a big difference. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at New Sea View and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

As much as I dislike sihanoukville and found it dodgy as hell I like this guesthouse very much.
The staff were friendly especially in the restaurant. The food was delicious there I recommend the 2 starters 2 main for 10 dollars from 5-7pm more for your buck! Ice cream menu is unbelievable!

Private room ensuite was basic although there was another door leading outside in the room where it didnt join with the floor which allowed the odd cockroach/ mosquito to come in, no problem they cleaned the room when we asked.
Lots of power cuts but this is usually throughout any given area in Sihanouk and not their fault. Generator beside our room was very loud so prob try get room upstairs. Wifi kept disconnecting but it's perfect in the restaurant. Great spot near the beach

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your input on Tripadvisor. We are aware that there are certain problems with Sihanoukville, but this is to be expected after the tourism explosion that has occured in the last couple of years. There are a certain number of businesses (including Sea View) which are working with the local government and NGOs to try and remedy these situations. However, as you can imagine this is a slow process that will take some time.
As for Sea View Villa, a new quieter generator is top of our shopping list and should be installed in the next month or two.

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed only one night because the water in the shower wasbrownish, the sheets were stained and I had to kill a few bed bugs in the morning. Shame because location is great and service lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickSeaView, Owner at Sea View Villa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at New Sea View Villa. We can only apologise for this and offer some form of explanaion. With regards to the brownish water, this is mainly due to the fact that we used to use well water (we are now connected to Sihanoukville mains supply) and when the water is transported up to the tanks, it brings up some of the silt from the well. To remedy this, as soon as we know that this is the case, we clean out the two water tanks that we have. With regards to bed bugs, we are unable to prevent them arriving as they usually come via backpacks and clothes of customers from other hotels. However, when we are informed about this we get pestokill in to fumigate the room, mattresses and beds (which involves closing the room down for 3 days). As for the bed sheets, on occassions our cleaing staff occassionally miss such things when making the beds. When the management are informed, we make sure that the offending item is bleached or if this does not fix the problem then donated to a local charity. Once again sorry for the inconvenience during your stay

Nick Robbe
Owner
New Sea View Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Villa

Address: Sangkat 2 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Sea View Villa is a friendly, family run Sihanoukville hotel that offers a relaxed atmosphere whilst maintaining a consistently high standard. Our tastefully decorated rooms are clean and well maintained as well as stylish and affordable. Just a thirty metre walk from Sihanoukville's popular Serendipity Beach we are in an ideal location for everybody.All of our rooms have en- suite bathrooms with hot water and range from standard fan rooms to deluxe A/C family rooms with flat screen TV, fridge and coffee making facilities.The hotel offers a games room with pool table, table football and a wide selection of board games suitable for everyone. Furthermore we have free wi fi throughout the hotel and can offer a wider range of services such as laundry, bus and boat tours and Island bookings.Our leafy courtyard restaurant caters for all tastes. We have an extensive breakfast and lunch menu featuring homemade smoothies and cakes. Our evening menu is amongst the best in the area offering tasty homemade cuisine and a great range of delicious desserts, classic cocktails and an international wine menu.All rooms at New Sea View Villa are tastefully decorated to a high standard and are furnished with locally made furniture and art work. Each room offer sprung mattresses, mosquito protection, en suite bathrooms with hot water power showers and either fan or air conditioning. Our superior rooms offer, flat screen TVs, fridges, baths and coffee and tea making facilities. We have an in house team of cleaners that provide a professional, daily cleaning service, new towels and linen are provided every three days or upon requestNew Sea View Villa boasts a comfortable and inviting restaurant, situated at the front of the hotel. We have a varied breakfast and lunch menu. Our leafy courtyard setting is an ideal place to sit back and enjoy your meal. For dinner there is a great range of tasty, homemade, food that is amongst the areas finest. Our delicious desserts are prepared daily by our excellent kitchen team. A range of classic cocktails and an international wine menu compliment the menu perfectly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea View Villa Hotel Sihanoukville
Sea View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.