We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchidee GuestHouse are very good and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchidee Guest House

Save Saved
You added Orchidee Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchidee Guest House
Ochheuteal No 23 Tola Street, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Sihanoukville
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Orchidee GuestHouse are very good and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Was staying for some days on Orchidee in September 2012.
Its a cheap hotel, ad breakfast buffe are included in some room types.
The guest House had also a good pool with a safty guard.
Room prices was between 18 and 30 $
We had a good clean room, with a lot of space and a balcony with a good wiev.
Service was more than expected, our water heater on the bathroom was broken down, and a message to the frontdesk was given, after 30 minuts a new heater was installed, and the room was cleaned again.
Only a few minuts from the beach, where you can get cheap BBQ (from 3$) also on the same road as the GuestHouse was some good restaurants.
There are 2 constructions around the hotel but it was not a problem, no noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    57
    24
    18
See reviews for
23
118
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Orchidee guesthouse is a very nice place to stay in Sihanoukville. I made a reservation the day before i came and was perfectly picked up from the bus stop by a special Orchidee tuktuk. The guesthouse has a big swimmingpool in the backyard where you can order drinks and food. Big towels and nice sofas are provided at the swimmingpool. At the front side is a restaurant where breakfast, lunch and diner are served. The bungalow rooms are spacious and clean. Showers provide hot water. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, they are currenly building a new hotel next to the guesthouse. The building noise is hard to neglect and it starts early in the morning. The building site is next to the swimmingpool. I know the guesthouse cannot help it but the noise from the building site was quite annoying. I hope they will soon finish the building works next door because apart from this the guesthouse is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I cannot comment on value as I stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour.
The place is like a rabbit warren.. My room could not have been any further from the entrance and, as it is known for, rain feel in Sihanoukville for most of my stay and with limited shelter, I was lucky to get two showers a day!
The shower in the room was not very strong at all and was cold even with it turned to highest heat.
The toilet was easily blocked too.
The beds very comfy though, with a top sheet and quilt.
Staff were fairly averages.
Restaurant staff ok though.
Coffee for breakfast was TERRIBLE! But fruit, yoghurt and muslie was good.
3 min walking distantace to beach. Pool not too bad.
I would look else where if I visit Sihanoukville again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is the very first time our guesthouse was mentioned as a rabbit warren. At least one in the top 10 of Sihanoukville according to Tripadvisor. Besides the 2 showers per day there were 2 umbrella's too in order to keep you dry.
You were drinking cambodian coffee and the majority of our guests love it. I already have instructed the staff to check the shower and heater.

Come back again and choose a room at the entrance of the warren. Even better in dry season

Once again thank you for your review.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a problem free stay at Orchidee - lovely room, helpful staff, 3 mins from beach - fab....& then we left our passprts in the room safe, not realising until we got to Battenbang! One frantic email to Jan the owner & our passports were located & put in a taxi to us & were safely received that evening - we can't thank Jan enough! Above & beyond customer service!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here in July last year & returned again last weekend for a two night stay. Once again the owner was friendly, the front-counter staff helpful, the room clean & the bed comfortable. It is a nice hotel for the price & would stay here on any future trips to Snooky. I would re-iterate all the positive comments made on here, but can't comment on the breakfast or food generally as we never ate at the hotel. We took the short walk to the beach & had breakfast, lunch & dinner down by the sea. My only criticism is the mounds of garbage sitting outside the hotel, which the local dogs & even cows rummage through & the smelly remains spill out onto the ground. The owner claims that it is collected daily but I would dispute that. The pile appeared to get higher & smellier during our stay from Friday until Sunday. I know garbage management is an issue in Cambodia but surely a better system could be implemented. No wonder rats & mice are such a problem here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are always happy to see "old guests" coming back again. Thank you for taking your time writing this review. You are absolutely right with your remarks about the dirt.
Garbage was and is a problem as well as collecting it. We do have a contract with a company, called Cintri, to collect all garbage at least 5 times per week. Sometimes they are very good and do it 7 times and some times not so good and then only 3 times. A nice big container should be a good alternativ for the view but one problem in Cambodia. A nice container will disappear after a few days.
I hear readers saying: "Keep it inside" but then I already know some future complaints about a certain smell.
Conclusion!! I am going to introduce a container and give my staff a bit more work taking good care of it.
Come and see for it by yourself next time.

Brgds.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A good clean guest house with a lovely pool - soon sadly to be overlooked by a new towering hotel next door. The breakfast is excellent and the staff are friendly. A short walk from the beach. It would be good if the restaurant had a bit more change - I don't know if they are angling for tips!! The rooms have aircon and plenty of Europeans use it.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are obviously handy for the pool but will be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your nice review which is highly appreciated.

Fishing for tips!! No they are not fishing but always short of small change. All those years I am here I hear no change, no change from motodop to reception. Every day we give small change and after a few hours we get the same question. Probably my staff or the guests are eating it.
Anyway will try again.

Come back again.

Brgds. and thank you.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Orchidee, we had a good stay, the room was nice and clean, the pool is very refreshing. The guesthouse is located 5 min from the beach and 15 min from shops. You don't need any taxi except if you want to go the beach at the other side of Sihanoukville. The breakfasts are alright.

My only cons would be the unfriendly staff at the reception and the price ($30/night, standard room). Even if the room was good, this is the most expensive we've payed in Cambodia for nothing more than in the other city, where it's about $20 per night for the same kind of room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. About the room rates I wish to mention that our cheapest rate is 13$ and the next rate is 18$. We have room rates up till 50$ and most of the time you can make a choice between rooms and rates. 30$ rates include breakfast.

Cambodia is still a cheap country and you can find rooms for 2$ but for 2000$ per night too.

I will certainly check upon my reception staff.

Please come again.

Brgds.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchidee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchidee Guest House

Address: Ochheuteal No 23 Tola Street, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Orchidee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchidee Guest House Hotel Sihanoukville
Orchidee Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchidee Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.