We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better then expected...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

No complaints!

We stayed 2 nights, first night we discovered our AC didn't work. We spoke to the front desk the next morning and it was fixed before we got back from the beach. What more can we say for service!

The pool was a bonus! After hours at the beach, it was nice to hop in to cool off.

The location was great, minutes from the beach and seconds to some great restaurants.

We did not eat at the hotel... We did try the cafe next to the pool, it was slow and expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    69
    29
    10
See reviews for
30
79
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during christmas. The hotel was decent, room was basic and simple. The breakfast spread was delightful.The serendipity beach is a 5 min walk from the hotel so no worries there. The pool looked terribly dirty, but hey, when there's the beaches who needs a pool?

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea. I had a terrible view on the other side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

room standard - once we had most things in the room fixed, no safe, no phone, on hot water, and the list goes on , we were fine although i feel the main room door lock was very sub-standard.
breakfast - although included in room rate - there was no consideration for european customers and all food was very asian.
no air- con in restaurant to most uncomfortable as an eating area.
staff tried to be helpful but standard of english was quite poor so communication was very frustrating

Room Tip: back of hotel - away from pub street - watch out as most rooms are two singles - doubles pretty few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

stayed in Sihanouk ville with my partner for two nights. at first we were pessimistic on the location but it turned out it was only a 3 min walk to the main street, close enough for a cool evening walk to fantastic restaurants but far enough so you don't get the brunt of the on going Sihanouk ville night life (which i would recommend; for one night only!)

Hotel itself is beautiful with a swimming pool you can actually swim in, our room was a standard room but it felt more like a luxury self service apartment bar the stove & oven - the kettle for tea is all we needed. Great lounge with full sat TV and the Jacuzzi! the icing on top of the cherry on top of the icing on top of the cake. It felt criminal we had all this luxury at such an affordable rate!

The staff are welcoming and can point you in the right direction, what more do you need?

In a HUGE nutshell, if you want comfort, acceptability and a relaxing time in a beautiful and vibant little spot in Cambodia i would recommend this to singles couples or groups!

Thank you soo much for your stay, Kris & Kiki

Room Tip: if you like the pool, i would go higher than the second floor. Sihanoukville is a beach town - hence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here as part of G Adventures tour.
Swimming pool plus cafe is perfect during the heat. Room was in need of slight maintenance but no biggy.
Very close to the beach side which was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu quoc, Viet nam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good things:
Great A/C, good swimming pool, comfort bed, silent around. Great view to swimming pool from my room
Need to improve:
Staffs not so friendly, they did good, but i don't feel like they are welcome . Pool must be deeper a bit, breakfast is many to choose but tasted not so good.
But i will stay here again interm of great room with good budget

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

we stayed here last year looks great from the pictures but sadly very dated old rooms unfriendly reception staff and kitchen staff if you want eggs done a different way you can only have these on certain days the food was very poor tried once that was enough plenty of good restraints outside the hotel the hotel pool is something else i don't mean in a good way its stuck outside the front of the hotel surrounded bye roads not a tranquil place the steps in to the pool are very slippery i sliped and crazed all my side on the concrete slabs all in all not a three star but it is cambodia after all

Room Tip: there isn't really and better than the rest here they all face roads go to a resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the “Most Beautiful Bays of the World”.We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel.With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests.Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.