We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD BUT GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OLD BUT GOOD HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here 06/05/2013 for 3 nights. I was up staying in Siem Reap and last minute thought was to go to Sihanoukville. i chose the Golden Sand Hotel I stayed in suite room 316. Very large room... but dated... Great Bathroom.. . Deep Bath... Good shower. Seaview.... 2 Big Beds....... Sofa... arm chair.... Right in the middle of Entertainment Good Base for thet ( Walking distance ). Pool area for Sunbathing was FANTASTIC.... really good SUN trap. Pool for swimming... TERRIBLE.... not very deep at all... Waist height at the Deepest.......... Breakfast.......... DREADFUL.... Nothing short. STAFF FANTASTIC........... Would I stay again??????.... No !!!!!... But basic hotel and good location.

Room Tip: Get a SUITE room overlooking the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    59
    28
    9
See reviews for
25
69
38
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We would like to come back to cambodia, we really enjoy it. Situation of hotel is great, close to beach and also close to restaurants. It is clean and service very good.
Beach is beautiful but a bit dirty. We totally advise you to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Golden sands hotel is one of the best accommodations in Sihanoukville. It is also located a 5-10 min walk from the vibrant part of the beach. Once you walk though a concrete pathway off the main road you hit the beach, which is filed with restaurants and bars. We were very peased with the location given that partying/ beach scene was were there for.

Hotel room was clean, and spacious. Take note that there is no safe in the room, but instead valuables are to be left in a locker room at the reception. THis seemed pretty secure and no valuables of ours.

They serve a decent breakfast, had a pool (that was quite dirty when we stayed) and have a new coffee shop that had just opened.

I would stay here if I was coming back for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved Cambodia so much that we think everything was excellent!) everything was ok exept some bad smell in bath, It was better if in room was balcony, and also near swimming pool, there was bar constructing, it was a little bit noise. and last bad thing- some times^ when we went for the breakfast in the early time, there were so much people, that we couldnt find place to sit, and food mostly was over. To say the trouth, cambodian people think this hotel is awesome, I cant say so, but it is rather good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you get a room facing the pool than it's good value. On a high floor even better.
Breakfast buffet - below average, should be fresher and they "forget" to refill.
Pool area get's a lot of noise from street traffic
- but the good thing is the beach with all their eating venues and bars is not far away - about 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes by Remork (Tuk tuk) for a dollar.
There are several very reasonable open air restaurants close to the hotel.
The cafe beside the pool serves very good ice cream.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Don't like writing reviews, but this hotel sending a letters for me everyday asking to rate them, stop spaming me, please! The hotel is good, but our windows doesn't open and right in front was a barbed wire(( Room is small and only a swimming pool makes this hotel better then a lot of guesthouses around, we moved to one of them with a balcony, big room, good view and chiper price)

Room Tip: Choose higher levels with windows to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandHotel, Front Office Manager at Golden Sand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Bluecave,

Warmest Greeting From Golden Sand Hotel, Sihanouk Province, Cambodia.

Thank you for your writing review about us on TripAdvisor and we feel so sorry to hear that you do not like to write any reviews. We try to send letter to all value customer to write review on TripAdvisor to show that they enjoy to stay with our Hotel or they had any comment. The review is very important for us to improve our product.

Thank you very for your stay Golden Sand Hotel!

Best Regards,
Mr. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel- clean, not very busy. Not many backpackers there but at the same time we didn't feel out of place. Friendly staff who helped us book our overnight bus. Pool was spacious and very quiet- however some evenings there was an influx of locals who took it over and didn't appear to be staying there

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the “Most Beautiful Bays of the World”.We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel.With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests.Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.