We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to stay here last month, it is a comfortable hotel, friendly staffs. I will come back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sand Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I used to stay here last month, it is a comfortable hotel, friendly staffs. I will come back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

I like golden sand hotel. Freindly staff, good service, good location. Popular hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    59
    28
    9
See reviews for
25
69
38
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time . I really enjoy my time but from the beginning upon arrival it have no room to check in . but it's metter . The staff front desk staff very helpfull he organize and looking us for the bus ticket and call to us by phone .

Thanks we will back again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Agoda. We arrived around 9pm from a very long bus trip from Siem Reap via Phnom Penh. The check in staffs were polite but not a smile or even not very welcoming. The check in took a bit of time (it is as though it was complicated). We requested a room on an elevated floor but was only given on the second floor facing the backside of the hotel.
The room itself is pretty basic. Nothing to brag about. The decor was tacky and very simple. The feel of the bed was great though - firm-ish and easy to sleep on. The toilet is basic and simple but stinky. Apparently there were having sewage problems. Nonetheless, it stinks. The airconditioning functioned ok but asked to change the remote should there be a problem because ours did.The chambermaids were too eager to come and clean up the room in the morning even though we asked them to come back in 10 minutes, they stood outside waiting for us which then automatically forces us to get dressed in record time - I guess this is more of cultural issues.
The hotel is very much central and very easy access to the beach - walking distance. Apparently for the tuk² driver this hotel is well-known for its big swimming pool - which we never get to use. See tip at the end of this review.
3 or 4 stars hotel? More like 1 1/2 star hotel to me.
In general - tacky and stinky hotel. Don't bother spending your USD if you have other choices.

Room Tip: I suppose good rooms are facing the swimming pool and/or on the elevated floor facing the beach. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I asked for a non smoking room when I booked, maybe they don't have that but it was like a chain smoker just left my room after staying there a month.

In my part of the building there was this 40+ group Vietnamese people who liked shouting in the corridor just in front of my room while an hour later their kids were occupying the swimming pool screaming so loud I could hardly read a book INSIDE my room.

Staff had a habit of gathering around my door also to talk their gossip at 7 AM waking me up.

I moved out after 2 nights and found heaven across the street for 10 dollar i.s.o. 33 $...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Golden Sand has as many Cambodians staying there as foreigners. It is 2 blocks from Ochheuteal Beach and a bit back from the noisy bars and food shacks on the beach itself. The hotel is probably better for older travelers who no longer spend each evening beer binging and pot smoking. The hotel is elegantly appointed, with a great lobby. The staff for the most part were very friendly, although their level of English was minimal. It was good enough for me to be able to borrow an extension cord and a hair dryer. My standard room was very nice, very clean, comfortable twin beds, had a good working air conditioner, a small refrigerator, tv with both CNN and BBC, a wireless connection and a good size bathroom with a shower in the bathtub and very hot water. The hotel has a swimming pool, an unusual treat. I walked along the beach/shore line several times and ate in the restaurants on the beach, but tended to leave to go back to the hotel by 8:00 when things got noisy.
When I booked the hotel thru an Asian booking site, it said that breakfast was $3. When I arrived at the hotel, I was told I was "wrong" and that breakfast was $5. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel. There are so many small restaurants in the area that that was not a problem. Only negative: sometimes the bathroom had a slight smell probably due to the recirculation of air throughout the bathrooms of the hotel.

Room Tip: My standard room faced the back and did not have a very nice view but then you get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a typical larger hotel that's starting to age (our bathtub had come away from the wall so we had a leak on the floor every time we took a shower). But the staff made up for it by customarily responding the first time we asked for something. There's only one small elevator, so plan to use the stairs much of the time. The pool is large and great for swimming laps if you go at a time when it isn't full of people. The hotel is a destination for tour buses, so depending on the day, you can be overwhelmed for breakfast in the dining room. The breakfast is OK, but not inspiring. However, we ate several lunches with a group and had wonderfully prepared food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

this hotel is very unlike most of the other hotels and accomodation in the area, its is very large and attractive and the reception area is beautiful. it is therefore more expensive than most other places, but it is still really very very cheap, and if you are not on a budget it is defintately worth it. we had a large comfortable room, with all the mod cons, and a large bathroom. There is a nice pool and it is only a short wlak from the beach, and loads of lovely bars and places to eat in all directions.
i wouldnt recommend the breakfast (it is cheaper to have a room without) if you want a western style breakfast as there are loads of places nearby with more choice and even cheaper.
the only thing i would say is the hotel staff dont have very good english, this isnt a problem at all, except my purse got stolen, and it was a bit of a nightmare trying to sort it out. but that said the staff are lovely, and overall i would definately recommend this hotel. (also I think I was unlucky with my purse as the area doesnt feel unsafe at all, and the hotel does actually have security)

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the “Most Beautiful Bays of the World”.We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel.With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests.Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.