We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i prefere smaller hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sokha Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sokha Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“i prefere smaller hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel room was great! very clean and spacious and nicely furnished.
staff is really nice and super helpful.
the breakfast buffet has everything you wish for.
the beach is very nice but the sunlounges are right next to eachother.
it was good to stay there for 2 nice, it's very close to the party part of town and the hotel has a free shuttle, but generally i prefere smaller hotels. you could as well just come here for a day and enjoy the beach if you were consuming from the sokha bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    319
    156
    69
    25
See reviews for
151
364
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Extended family gathering for a beech wedding. Superb location and good quality facilities. Reservation and booking in procedure was efficient. The large room was well equipped with a balcony onto a sea view, serviced twice daily included tv, phone and internet facility. Good quality food fairly priced in all of the restaurants on the resort. Nice pool area and superior beach including bars and shady areas. Pleasant helpful staff.
Breakfast whilst the extensive range of food was well prepared and fresh the organisation was poor, often leading to shortages of many items and cleared tables. Regular transport into town by free curtesy bus or local Tuk Tuk. Do try the 3 island boat trip which is good value. Avoid the "Serendipity" strip in town unless your a head banger. Beware the expensive airport transfer provided by the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

All we like about this hotel was its private beach...that's it!

Epic fail for the announced 5 stars!!!
- It is definitely not a 5 star hotel
- Lake wing rooms are very far from the main building, we had to wait for buggy for up to 10 minutes which was very inconvenient
- Relocated to the main building when found a bunch of ants in our bathroom (took pictures)
- Bathroom looks like in a cheap 3 star hotel, everything is worned out
- Very uncomfortable pillows (personally for me) since they were very thick so my neck hurt every morning and I had to use towels to sleep on
- Ordered food from the restaurant only once, had to wait for it for 1,5 hours and it was ridiculously overpriced compared to the restaurants outside this hotel
- A bottle of water is SEVEN times more expensive than outside!
- Absolutely no entertainment on the premises given a huge territory of this hotel
- Sunbeds by the pool of the lake wing are very uncomfortable since the matresses on them are very thin so you could feel the hard wood beneath you however by the main bulding's pool they were different much more comfortable
- Staff speaks poor English
- And the breakfasts...everyday they were THE SAME!!! By the end of our stay all we ate was coffee and donuts...the food was cold and NOT tasty at all.
I would definitely not recommend to stay at this hotel. Don't ruin your trip to this wonderful country since there are many other hotels out there to stay!

P.S. and if you stay there during a high season make sure to wake up at 7 am to reserve a sunbed at the beach since there are not enough of them for the guests.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at this hotel I definitely recommend to choose the ocean wing rooms (main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have mixed feelings about his hotel but I am still quite disappointed.

My partner and I chose to end our tour of Cambodia and Laos with 5 days by the sea. This was a special occasion for us so we decided to pamper ourselves. We decided to come to Sihanouk and the Sokha seemed the best option. I therefore booked a Junior suite two months in advance because on the hotel map on the website it seemed it was the only type of room where you would have sea view for sure. While booking I specifically requested for a room with a sea view and a king bed. This was a special occasion for me and my partner and we had high expectations on this resort, especially having booked a suite. The pictures on the website looked fantastic and the reviews on tripadvisor where excellent.

We received an email a few days before the trip welcoming us to the Sokha beach and confirming our reservation. When we arrived we were impressed by the resort. It is really a nice structure with a private beach that is constantly cleaned and wonderful sea. Yet when we arrived they told us the room we requested was not available and they wanted to give us a ground floor room. When I insisted they showed us to a room on the first floor with no sea view and two single beds. We did not accept it. At this point the manger shows up, he is a very caring and kind person and proposes an " upgrade" to a villa in the resort. It is a 53sqm room that is at ground level from which you can see the sea from quite afar. At least it had a king bed. We accepted because we thought there were no other options, and also because from a first review of the room it seemed better than what it really was.

While the name of the room might seem fancy, this was not a real upgrade (on the website the villa and the junior suite cost more or less the same). The room was very old with old flooring and old furniture and scratches and bumps everywhere. See the pictures attached. Bed sheets were also stained as well as towels. House keeping was a disaster with our room not being cleaned before 4 pm. This was not 5 stars standard (not even 1 star standard really!).

The hotel restaurants were good but quite expensive. The deck in particular had quite small portions and high prices.

Many of the hotel guests are Russian and Chinese. Chinese guests in particular have very different habits from westerners and the hotel seems to be adapting more to this kind of customers.

So overall we did not enjoy our stay. There were too many times when we got upset. We are usually quite flexible and try to enjoy our stay without making problems, yet we would not recommend this resort. We would suggest you choose to spend your time by the sea somewhere else. In Sihanouk there are no other options at the same level unfortunately (the Sokha management clearly knows this and takes advantage of it). In Kep as well there are no five stars structures. So I would suggest you go to Thailand or Vietnam instead if you want to spend the last days of your holiday by the sea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was the second stop during our visit to Cambodia. Our room had a pool view and we could also see part of the beach. I liked the open air lobby and dining area. Breakfast buffet was good though sometimes people were impatient when waiting for items to be prepared (only one person at the "egg" station and the line would get long). Selection was good. Ate dinner in the cafe and thought it was not terribly over-priced and we had good service both nights. Our last night we went to The Deck to enjoy tapas. We did not have a reservation and sat off to the side though the other tables were open (no one arrived for those tables while we were there). Good service as well, when asked about a preparation for one of the dishes the server was able to tell how and what was used to prepare the dish. LOVED the beach, it was exactly what we were looking for to relax and get some sun. I did get a pedicure at the spa, poor selection of nail polish for what appeared to be fairly upscale environment - but otherwise no issues. I cannot comment as to value, as the room was part of our tour package and so I do not know what the specific rate was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A great location on the beach , a very nice resort with great staff , terrific service . The breakfast is delightful , they really make an effort to please . Our room was good but a little bit tired looking , needed a little bit of maintainence . Nice khmer food in the restaurant . The other beaches are worth visiting as well , nice seafood along the beach .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South AUSTRALIA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We dropped in for an afternoon when our cruise ship visited the local port. It was an "oasis to relax in" compared to the busy market goings on in the town. We actually found the ship's entertainers in the swim up bar & pool when we arrived .... they know where to visit !!

I discovered for $US10 a ship's passenger gets to use the pool, the bar,the beach, a towel, a change room AND you get an included drink too! Not bad value at all :)

The hotel's private beach is superb and clean - I was impressed that the sand squeaked while I was walking .... reminded me of our home (local) beach in Australia where the sand also "squeaks" at times. Nice!

I can't comment on the rooms as we did not stay over night but I can thoroughly recommended this place by the tropical white sandy beach for a relaxing day time visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#3 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokha Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.