We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and comfort at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sokha Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sokha Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Style and comfort at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite which really was 3 bedrooms with the middle one converted into a living room. It was very spacious and comfortable. The pool is lovely and big and the swim up bar was fun. The gym is very well equipped with new machines. The salon was a bit of a disappointment, as the upholstery was faded an ripped on some chairs. The food in the restaurants was good, we especially liked the Lemongrass restaurant on the beach but the service was far too slow. The buffet was also quite expensive even with kids at half price. The beach was really beautiful. We weren't expecting squeaky, white sand and clean, transparent water but that's what we got. It was as warm as a bath! The only issue was that a lot of garbage (plastic bags, bottles, cans, flip flops etc) wash up on the shore. It would be a good idea to have a staff member to monitor the situation so that the beach is kept clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    374
    192
    87
    32
See reviews for
183
439
46
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My daughter and I spent three nights at the hotel last week. We stayed in a 3rd floor ocean view room in the main section of the hotel which is attached to the lobby area. The hotel itself is huge and from other reviews, I think being in the main area is favorable. Our room was very nice, along with the restaurants, pool and beach. There is a pool bar along with two bars out on the beach. We had dinner each evening at 'The Deck' restaurant on the sand which is next to the Lemongrass restaurant. A beautiful restaurant at sunset and the food was very good. We had a very positive experience. The hotel is a calm and peaceful place, so if you are coming for a party scene, this isn't it. We went into town one night and I was very disappointed, Sihanoukville isn't much at all, especially after spending several days in Siem Reap. Go for the beach, not the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of our trip in Cambodia and as a party of three (one couple and a friend) we booked an executive suite, two bedrooms, three bathrooms and a living room. Room size was great and the bathrooms, though a bit dated were fine. Air conditioning at this hotel is completely incapable of keeping the rooms cool. One of our rooms was really warm so we asked if they could address it, which they did, but this only made the second bedroom heat up. Two days later it was back to square one. A major issue for me was large cockroaches in the bedrooms.
There is a relatively well equipped gym here and it is big too which was a bonus.
Breakfast was pleasant but they serve orange squash not juice which is strange and you have to keep asking for coffee.
The resort itself is vast and the private beach wonderful. A strange thing here is that the pool is quite small, certainly too small for a hotel of this size.
Good food at the lemongrass or deck restaurants (same place just one is inside and one outside) but it is very expensive for Cambodia better to go into town and eat at either Sandan or Nyam for a quarter of the price.
We wanted to love this place but staff, though friendly and willing, seemed poorly trained for hotel work and the whole place seemed tired.

Sadly we won't be back

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed for 7 nights in the quite expensive beach villas. Throughout our stay we had some excellents , average and bad experiences.

Check-in was good and quickly taken to our room on the buggy with our bags. We used the buggy a fair bit and it was always available quickly. Our villa was nice enough but in need of being renewed. The bathroom was outdated and off white due to age, and a shower in a bath. Worst room we have had for the price in all our stays in asia.

The pool area was nice enough, but the pool slightly dirty. The service at the pool for drinks was hit and miss. Some days good other days they were lazy and you had to go to the bar to order.

Had lunch a number of days at the poolside restaurant Champa. Service good as well as food and reasonable prices. The deck bar was a highlight and well run with a great setting overlooking the sea, we eat and drunk here every day. The service on the last night was awful but apart from that night was good.

Breakfast - as with other reviews pretty awful. We deliberately missed it 2 mornings and waited to get something to eat lunchtime as it was so missable. Horrible windowless location, often shown to dirty tables and once covered with ants, when you got coffee it was sometimes Luke warm. In the Buffett bit and juices not always refilled.

Water sports - we used jet skis which were fun but expensive.

Not many other choices though so maybe average is good enough for now.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I wish to say how wonderful the staff are and the prices for a 4 or 5 star are

excellent. I stayed nearby. I enjoyed visiting often.

Mr. Khim Sokhim who is bartender at Lemon Grass makes the best James

Bond Shake and not Stir Martini.

I wish you had a just a destination category to comment on.

Sihanoukville is not looked after by the government like Siam Reap and P.P.

Bad electricity problems along with lots of trash everywhere because locals do not

want to pay to have trash picked up so they just dump it anywhere.

Koh Kong was my last stop and they have 24 hour electricity from Thailand.

Cafe Laurant and Fat Sam's restaurants are great.

First time to comment.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the Sales Manager.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensborough Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, perfectly positioned, has a casino and ready access to numerous tuk tuks out the front to take you into Serrindippity Beach or the markets or wherever. A 1.2 kilometre long private beach with beach bars at either end and a magnificent pool also with a swim up bar. The rooms are great with big bathrooms and huge beds. This place of all the hotels we looked at on a very long beach walk from Sokha Beach to Victory Beach was clearly the best. But to be five star you have to be perfect and I know it's pettey but the grounds were a little run down and could use some attention.
The hotel is huge and has three different areas. The main Hotel, the villa's and the lake area. When we were there the lake area was abandonded. It is truly beautiful with brilliant facilities but it was empty, so sad to see but until the airport gets bigger and begins taking more flights there will continue to be empty hotels. Stick with the Sokha which is reasonably priced and he best of the lot. Get and ocean view or pool view room for the best outlook from your balcony

Room Tip: If you go to the casino drinks are free while you are gambling. Serrindippity Beach for dinner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is a huge place and is managed quite efficiently. The property is mostly clean except for some areas in the lake which smells a bit. but once inside the room, it just does not matter. You will need to move around in a shuttle golf cart - but this is very efficiently managed so you really do not feel this as a handicap. It is little pricey but you will still feel you got more than what you bargained for. It has a private beach, children's play area and a beautiful gym. A good place for a relaxed holiday if you are here on business and don't have the time in the resort, it might sound expensive.
Breakfast is very good as well.

Room Tip: Lake view may not be a good option as there is a stink in some parts, ask a map to be sent first to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#3 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokha Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.