We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tamu Hotel to your Saves list
Tamu Hotel
far end of Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18400, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at Tamu for 5 nights in the Suite and we absolutely loved it. The room was nice and spacious with a great view over the pool and the beach. The weather was not the best unfortunately while we were there and we had about 2 days of sun and 3 days of heavy rain but we didn't mind relaxing on the couches in the restaurant and in our room.

The staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help us and make sure we had a great stay.

They cleaned the beach every morning which was nice to see as further down the beach there was a fair bit of rubbish which was disappointing. We weren't harassed too much by women selling massages either, as soon as we said we weren't interested they would leave.

It is a fair way out of town, which we really liked about the hotel but if you are wanting to travel into sihanoukville regularly it probably wouldn't be the best place to stay as it is about $7 one way. Although most tuk tuk's will try and get up to $10 each way and it takes a lot of negotiating to get down to $7 which the staff at the hotel have said it should be.

Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, it is very romantic as well.

Room Tip: The suite in the low season is worth the money but the prices in the high season seem a bit high for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Clofaulk,

On behalf of all the TAMU team, we thank you very much for recommending us on Trip advisor and for your lovely review. We will share your words to our staff.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time in our hotel enjoying our Suite room and our facilities.

Wish you the best,

Kind regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
117
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middle east
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A lovely hotel right on the beach.
Strengths:
Beautiful location if you want a beach getaway.
Well designed rooms some with outdoor bathrooms in a minimalist style but it works.
Great amenities,
Friendly staff
Universal plug sockets so no adapters required.
A good selection at breakfast.

Areas for improvement:
The water is a yellowish colour, which really needs looking at as it discolours towels, clothes etc
After reading good reviews about the food, we ate in the restaurant the first night but were very disappointed. Both my friend and I ordered their Khmer Loc lac, which we had eaten in other places while travelling in Cambodia. This was by far the worst, in fact, the meat was so tough, I ate half and gave up. Needless to say, we didn't eat there again. A bit disappointing.
The bedrooms need a full length mirror.

Room Tip: Don't go for outside bathrooms in the rainy season.....too much rain and Mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review us on trip advisor and for sharing your experience.
We are really glad that you had a relaxing stay in TAMU and that you enjoyed the location and the design of our hotel as well as the service provided by our staff.
We thank you also for your valuable feedback regarding your experience. We take very seriously all the feedbacks of our guests to improve our service.
Regarding the issue of the water, we deeply apologize and we are now currently under maintenance to solve this issue. We are sorry that you were disappointed by your food experience in our restaurant and I will share your comment to our chef.

We hope to see you again,

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Clearly the best hotel at Sihanoukville ! (We've been trying several hotels...) The room are nicely decorated, large, spatious... The location is calm and very beautiful (the private beach is really great). The personnel is perfect : nice, polite and discreet. Food is fresh and goes perfectly well with their tatsty cocktails and/or good wines. We recommand this place to all our friends and family. Definitely, a must stay hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Thomas Z,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this wonderful review.
We are absolutely delighted that you had an amazing experience of TAMU enjoying our facilities, our rooms and appreciating the quality of the service provided by our staff.

Wish you the best,

Best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Went with 4 friends and requested for a connecting room. Room was clean and environment was relaxing. The service was first class. My girlfriend was sick and the hotel staff immediately brought us some medication. During the stay, they keep checking on her making sure that she is ok. All I can say is superb service! Will definitely recommend to everyone!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you so much for recommending us so warmly on Trip advisor.
We are glad that you loved our hotel and the quality of our service. We do our best to provide the best service possible. So, it is a great reward to read that you appreciated the service in TAMU.

We would be very happy to have you back here!

Warm regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved our stay at Tamu! Even through it rained quitte a bit (it is rainy season) the experience was great! we loved hanging out at the pool on big matrasses, chilling in our comfortabele room with good quality beds, lovely soft bedding and a super shower in the garden bathrooms! Staff were very helpfull and flexible. Our kids loved the restaurant staf who played with them on the beach. Highlight: Sunset coctails on the beach playing gammon or chess (al available at Tamu) on big soft beach beds. Ohh and great breakfast also!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear famillychilli,

We are so happy that you enjoyed our stay in TAMU (even despite the rain!), our swimming pool, the features of our room and the service provided by our staff.
I will share your special thanks to the restaurant staff who really enjoyed to play with your children.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review!

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After having been to Sihanoukville several times and always ignored Otres beach I now made the effort to investigate what other members of Trip Advisor had to say about this beach and the Boutique Hotel Tamu.

- what we found was sheer bliss on the very far end of Otres beach and named '' Tamu Hotel ''.
Whilst checking in we were greeted by a very charming French Lady and handed a welcome drink and asked to pay up-front. For unbeknown reasons my wife's Chinese credit card was rejected so I paid in cash.

- the superior ground floor room was spacy, clean and sufficiently appointed.
Their beach side open Restaurant airy and blessed with ocean breezes. The included breakfast was laid out with a fast array of all what one could wish to have in the morning and if that was not enough for some guests they could order a la carte such as eggs scrambled or in any other way with bacon, tomatoes and/or other dishes listed on the breakfast menu.

At lunch and/or dinner we liked their grilled Barracuda very much but had other dishes as well.
- and also no problem with the Hotels speedy room delivery as well.

Beach is spotlessly clean and ample chairs and other lay-down amenities are provided for reading or just to chill out and take the scene in.

A special mention deserve its smiling and attentive staff always more than willing to appease the clientele of this splendid abode.

I also had the opportunity to speak to the Hotels charming French (Paris) owners at great length and hear their story how it all came about

Last but not least I must mention that on our last night the Lady of this establishment ask me if we would like to have dinner on a specially set table on the beach. As a special treat she arranged with the Chef to have Pork rips, mash potatoes and vegetables prepared for 7pm.
- when we arrived the table was set with candles, tropical flower blooms and also proper table cloth napkins were laid out!

(there is also a 17 meter long in-ground swimming pool on this property)


In concluding I can truly recommend this establishment to the discerning traveler, honeymooning couples and/or anyone who wants peace and quite at a pristine beach setting away from all the noise of Sihanoukville's other beaches.
Gerard

Room Tip: away from the side where current building activities take place. We had a ground floor superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Gerard,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review and for describing your whole TAMU experience!
It was a real pleasure to have you and your wife as guests and to have a chat and your feedbacks.
Be sure that i will share your very nice words to our staff.

We are glad that you appreciated the features of our hotel, of our restaurant and beach.

On behalf of the TAMU team, we thank you very much for recommending us.

We hope to welcome you again!

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I don't usually write reviews however me and my fiancé have just recently stayed at Tamu and WOW what an amazing hotel in a gorgeous location. I'm usually really fussy about cleanliness and only usually stay In 5 star hotels but I can not fault this hotel at all. We booked to stay here for 4 nights then moved to Borei Angkor resort (5*) for the last 2 nights of our stay and to be honest with you we wished we hadn't bothered.. Tamu is a small, friendly resort with the most amazing views. The rooms are very basic but ultra modern. The outdoor shower is lovely.. (I mean come on how often do you get to shower outside). The breakfast, lunch and dinner is to die for with a great choice.
The downtown is about 15 mins but to be honest with you once you get to Tamu you won't want to leave. It's the paradise of Sihanoukville.
I would also like to say a massive thank you to Vy and Sami the waiters who took the time out of their morning off to take us to a few places near Tamu.

I would highly recommend this hotel.. If it was not too far for us we would defiantly go back..

Many thanks

Jenna and Tom

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Jenna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review,
We are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our team.
We'll share your special thanks to Sami and Vy for sure..

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamu Hotel

Address: far end of Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18400, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TAMU is designed to be a chic haven with style and sophistication to enjoy the end of Otres redefining the "barefoot chic" spirit. We offer our guests an affordable luxury and a charming retreat on Otres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tamu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.