We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largest rooms for those who do not care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kong Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kong Bar
Save
You added Kong Bar to your Saves list
Serendipity Beach Rd, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 170 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Luhansk, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Largest rooms for those who do not care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've been staying in Kong guest (bar) for 12 nights with our 5 year old son during the second half of February 2013. First we liked it, wanted to spend at least a month. We were asked to pay $500 for a month in advance and we did (shame on me). Right after payment they told us that electricity should be paid for too (1 thousand riel for 1 kVt). Okay... We tried not to spend much electricity. ) Next day they told we would pay for fixing TV or aircond if something gets broken (without any fault of ours). That was strange, but we did not pay much attention. Next day we understood that Kong is a trap. In Sihanoukville there is the electricity problem. That means no electricity almost every day for some time, may be for all day and night long. Usually guest houses have power generators to give electricity to their customers, at least when its dark. NEVER in Kong! They always put electricity generator stream to their first floor bar (with lots of their own "women for one night" - family business, you know), but never for inhabitants! And some people pay $32 a day! Moreover, when there is no electricity, there is no water! Imagine, we come from a beach late evening with our child and we can't even take a shower! It is very hot and noisy inside, fridge won't work, scary, eh? And it is almost impossible to sleep there, no sound isolation, just like sleeping by the road with all those loud bikes, cars and drunk/drugged people. In 12 days we asked for money back, they surprised us with guess what! 2 thousand riel for kVt of ELECTRICITY WE NEVER HAD!! Awful place to live, awful place to think of now. DO NOT COME! Their main business is sharing their women with elder europeans, but not guesting.

Room Tip: Rooms outside of this Kong, in front of it is a good Ocean Walk Inn - stay there. )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

kong was central. Close to every and everything. The bar was fun. the staff went to the laundry and market for Us
No charge and good price.
met some interesting people. And became good friends. I gave the maide an extra dollar a day for the cleaning and care thanks kong

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed in Kongs Rooms several times and always had a good experience.
They have about 12 huge rooms with 2 double beds and plenty of furniture, fridge, TV, AC, and beautiful balcony's with a great view. The also have about 10 new bungalows at the back. The staff are friendly and the cleaning lady is second to none. Hard to find a fault with her work.
Location is perfect just 1 minute to the beach and the location is on the best street in Sihanoukville.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the main building, they are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here. Rooms are very big and clean but staff are very unfriendly and borderline rude. Initially the lock on our rooms door was broken and they refused to fix until we kept pursuing the matter and got another room but the fan did not work in this room so more hassle again to fix that. Stayed for two nights only because everything else was booked out during peak season room wasn't cleaned for 20$ a night you would expect fresh towels.

Also at night time this place is full of dirty working girls who give the place a really bad vibe which is a shame because this place has a lot of potential

Bottom line for 20$ you could do a lot better

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with good rooms and the location was great ! However the staff made us pay for a night we had already paid for !After arguing for a while it was just easier to pay again as i hadnt kept the reciept from when i initially paid . So keep your receipts if staying here ! Other than that it is a nice hotel to stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kong Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kong Bar

Address: Serendipity Beach Rd, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kong Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.