We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saracen Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saracen Bay Resort to your Saves list
Saracen Bay Resort
Ko Rong Samloem, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful beach, quiet and secluded - if you want a perfect relaxing getaway, this is the place. Bungalows on the beach are of a high standard, and all fitted with good mosquito nets and fans. Food at the restaurant was delicious and the service was of the highest quality we've seen in Cambodia. Beautiful!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location and great value. The bungalows are beautiful and in a lovely setting. You can just wander down to the water to cool off.

Staff are polite and friendly and food is good too. Excellent value for money.


If you want to just chill then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a place to chill out and get away from mobile phones, internet and the world, then Saracen Bay Resort is your place. Definitely the best bungalows on the Koh Rong Samloem, well constructed with very nice bathrooms. My wife and myself have stayed at Saracen Bay Resort twice, once for New Year 2013 and again in March 2013, both times were beyond our expectations. The owner is a very approachable and has built the bungalows himself and is continuing to improve the venue. The restaurant just opened while we were there in March and the it makes the perfect setting for meals. The staff were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend staying at Saracen Bay Resort, but definitely bring a book or two and be aware that the electricity in the rooms only operates from 17:30 to 22:30, which just adds to the flavour of the tropical setting. Getting to the island, we have used the Party Boat, which takes 3 hours to get to land, including a stop for swimming and snorkelling and lunch included, but be prepared getting your legs wet getting to beach. Forget noisey smelly Sihanoukville and head to Koh Rong Samloem, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Saracen Bay Resort and we loved it :) They're recently build and the most comfortable bungalows in the island. They are located right in front of a white-sand turquoise-water beach, which is kept clean by the staff, and they have a porch with chairs for relaxing and reading.
At the moment there are only 5 bungalows but they're planning to built some more in the future. The restaurant is also not finished yet, so if you want to get food you have to go to the other 4 resorts on the island. They plan to finish the restaurant in the next 2 months.
The Cambodian manager is very friendly and helpful. We really recommend Saracen Bay Resort if you feel like enjoying some quiet days on this tiny island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampot, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked to stay at Saracen Bay and looked forward to the beaches and bungalows. Unfortunately, though, our room was then double-booked. The staff did not inform me that they required a 50% deposit paid by lunch time. As a result, I spent half a day on the phone and in the bank. Very disappointing. Communicating with customers is the bread and butter of running a resort and lets this 'resort' down badly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Saracen Bay for three nights looking for some peace and quiet and a more unspoiled environment than Sihanouk Ville. The island is idyllic and the Saracen Bay bungalows definitely lived up to the little bit of luxury we were looking for but the noise from the neighbouring "Beach" resort was a bit of a spoiler. We also ate there (at the Beach) as the other option was a bit pricy so had to listen to the early nineties dance during our meals too. I understand that a new resturant is being built at Saracen bay which will improve things a lot. The is also a lot of litter from Sihanouk Ville although the beach is cleaned to some extent. All in all though a lovely place for a couple of days relaxing just in need of a wee bit more investment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saracen Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen Bay Resort

Address: Ko Rong Samloem, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Saracen Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saracen Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.