We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chillaxed place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Bungalows

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangri-La Bungalows
Save
You added Shangri-La Bungalows to your Saves list
Phum 3, Sangkat 4 | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“chillaxed place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in one of the bungalows on the beach for a very good price. life is good here. cheap beer, nice beach across the road, friendly manager and so on. the only downside was we got stomach problems the day after having a dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Quite surprised to read so many negative reviews as we just had a lovely couple of days here. We opted for the wooden bungalows at the back of the property which were spacious, clean with excellent fan, comfortable bed and decent mosquito net. The bungalow also had a nice veranda (with light) for reading at night. At $20 including a well cooked breakfast and coffee not bad value for a beach location. The newer stone built bungalows at the front are more expensive, we were quoted $25 per night. Staff are friendly and helpfull. The beach is just over the road (although dirt track with few cars may be a better description) with plenty of sun loungers and parasols for free. Sam's bar is a great place for watching the sunset and having a cocktail.
The power did go off a couple of times but they do appear to have a generator for those occasions now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this bungalow two nights. There are things I liked about it and other things that I really didn't.

What I liked:
Close proximity to beach with seating

Very attractive garden and landscaping

Booking office for tours (although I didn't use it)

Very good wifi connection compared to other places where it drops

What I didn't like

The bathroom smelled of mold but the kind of smell that is very strong and smells up the room

Hard to relax and take a nap is needed because staff and family start talking and don't stop ALL DAY. children crying and running around, dogs barking etc. It actually feels like they are in the room (this might be because our room was closer to the front of the property, but can't confirm if other guests feel the same)

Pricier than neighbouring hotels.

Staff doesn't seem as interested or concerned with your stay.

No space available in bungalow to hang clothes.

Power cuts out, and it doesn't appear as though they are equipped with a generator.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here despite the negative reviews after looking at a 3 places in otres 2. Yea the rooms are simple and rustic, yes the service for drinks and food is a little alow (but not really) and yes the location is a littlw out of the way from the main drag ...

BUT!

all of otres 2 is simple And rustic (except secret garden which costs $100 per night). Hot water and power are luxuries that can be inconsistent but majority of venues are facing the same low pressure water and power that occasionally drop out for a few minutes.

The food here was absolutely superb in every way, as were the generous cocktails. our bed was comfy, the staff were very pleasant to us from the start and even nicer once we built a rapport after day 1 of 3. We stayed in the wooden shack/bungalows out the back with a high tech fan, good mozzie net, ample lighting and clean toilet. Dont expect hotel-style turndown service but im sure they would if you made a request.

Life in otres 2 is slow and relaxed, enjoy it and embrace it and you'll have a fantastic time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usti nad Labem, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was the worst resort in which we have lived in Cambodia. Hotel is located about 10 km from the town, in Sihanoukville resort nobody knows (no taxi) - problem with transportation. Mess. Noise. Employees are sleeping in day and night in a garden house between the cottages. Local residents walked through the hotel along the way. Very long wait in the restaurant. In the neighborhood you will find a better offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed twice over the New Year Period. The first time we booked through Agoda and stayed in the round concrete bungalow (fan, double). We liked it so much that we booked a larger twin bungalow (fan) for our return from Koh Rong Samloem.

The bungalows only opened in Sept 2012, so they are still finishing off the landscaping and finding their feet. I would rate this as 3.5 stars - above average but not quite 4 - yet, but I rounded up as they are nearly there. The staff are fantastic and breakfast is included in the room rate. The upstairs restaurant has a nice view of the beach.

Despite the lamentations of the previous reviewer, there is plenty of room for luggage in the round bungalow and even more in the twin room. We had two backpacks, two day packs and a handbag and still had lots of space in the room. The beds were comfortable and the free-standing fans good. The twin bungalow has its own veranda with chairs.

Things that could be improved in the round bungalow:
1) Provide a broom as we tracked a lot of sand in the room from the beach.
2) Better mosquito nets on the double bed. The ones provided were more like a canopy and had gaps, though no problem with mosquitos.
3) Shelf and mirror in bathroom tilted on an angle made them difficult to use.
4) Provide a chair in the room.

The location is Otres Beach 2 which is the most remote and least developed beach in Sihanoukville. A tuk-tuk to town (Golden Lion) costs US$6-$8. If you are coming to Sihanoukville to party, this is not the place for you. If you want quiet relaxation on a fairly empty beach then it's perfect. Otres 2 has only a few restaurants, but each night we took a tuk-tuk to Otres 1 (US$2-$4 each way) which has a number of bars and restaurants.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First, the good. The owner seemed nice and his wife was really wonderful, caring and considerate. Serving staff were all nice and the food good although a bit overpriced perhaps. Location is across the street from the beach but this really is a not-so-busy dirt tract so this isn't that important. It was a bit out from Otres 1 and our driver had real difficulty finding it.

The Bad. The rooms are terribly grossly overpriced. We booked through Agoda. The picture on Agoda was nice, unfortunately though not the picture of the bungalows actually rented. For the $35 per night per bungalow we did spend we expected something really good. How wrong. They're round and small with a double bed and one 50cm x 40cm table to put all your stuff on, to lay out your clothes and other items, which isn't much for two people even though we just travel with just carry-on. Otherwise use the concrete floor but there's no corners and so no space. There is one small window which is so close to the public walkway that the curtains always need to be drawn for any privacy. To compensate for this lack of light there is harsh unpleasant overhead fluorescent lighting.

We had a private bathroom which the water never drained off and so left a permanent 3cm deep puddle over half the bathroom floor. We could make it to the toilet without stepping in the large puddle, but to use the sink (or the broken mirror which had to be aimed with one hand) always necessitated wet feet. How unpleasing before climbing into bed. There was a clothes rack in the bathroom but it was located across the puddle too.

We were here two nights. We had arranged to meet someone here so they would have a nice place upon their arrival in Cambodia. NOTHING would have induced us to stay a second night except we had no way of contacting the person we were meeting here to waive them off to anywhere else. And to boot we had a 'misunderstanding' with the manager over the cost of the second night despite a very lengthy conversation in advance.

We could have asked for a different room the second night but the the fundamentals of the rooms are so poor - the shape, the smallness, the window, the lighting - that small repairs can't fix the big problems, and so there was no real point. The rooms might be worth $12.

As we were checking out we saw three other couples come in, look at rooms and then leave again. In sum, this may be the worst value-for-money not just in Sihanoukville, but most likely in the whole of Cambodia.

Room Tip: Go to Otres 1 perhaps; it's busier but easier access from town and everything shuts down at thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bungalows

Address: Phum 3, Sangkat 4 | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.