We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place at end of Otres Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden at Otres Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Secret Garden at Otres Beach to your Saves list
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet place at end of Otres Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had 3 nights with our 4 children here and despite being rainy season and they were having unusual amounts of rain, accommodation was good, outdoor showers lovely esp in rain bungalows clean and spacious and serviced daily. Happy hour every night, in bar/restaurant right on beach, food in restaurant pretty good.. Beach in front of Secret garden clean, raked daily but beyond that, filthy, never seen so much rubbish on a beach but told a lot comes in from the sea at this time of year, such a shame. A new resort being built right next door. Is 20 mins tuk tuk from Sihanoukville, they arranged tuk tuks to meet us off the bus. Service pretty good, staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
60
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

At the end of Otres Beach you will find the Secret Garden bungalows. Location is great, very relaxed atmosphere and quiet beaches. There is a kayak rental nearby where you can rent kayak or katamaran sailing boat for just a few bucks. Food tastes good and cocktails are very good. The accomodation however is a lot more expensive than other accomodation nearby. And the service does not really compensate the price difference. Nonetheless had a relaxing time at Secret Garden, what about an open air shower in your bungalow!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I thinking ti's the best place to be. The owners and staff try to do everything for you. Theo Can arrange trips and bustickets. The rooms are keepend very very clean. The restaurant part is on the beach. There you have your breakfast. The Nice thing is the shower. It's outsider your room bit Total secluded. The pool is clean and pritty. The distantie to town is only more than that II expected. They keep the beach clean. If you like à quiet place than the Secret Garden is the best. If you want many bars and go out late, than take à place closet to town .

Room Tip: Get a tuktuk threw the reception. It's 5$ one way, but you never have to pas more and the driver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Despite sihanoukville being my least favourite place I visited in Cambodia the secret garden is most definitely my favourite place I stayed. It is at the quiet end of the beach and the owners keep the sand raked and clean.

The bungalows are spotlessly clean, have fan and aircon, beautiful big beds and luxurious jungle showers. The laundry service is cheap and efficient.

The pool was beautiful as was laying beside it getting a massage. There are no hawkers up this end too so you can truly relax.

We spent every night down at the beach bar and restaurant. Its about 30mins by tuk tuk back in to town. there were other beach bars nearby but we didnt try them. Started with happy hour cocktails to watch the sunset and then a nice dinner. We were pleasantly surprised by the abundance of good veggie food there too.

The staff, both Khmer and western , are lovely and welcoming. It really felt like home to us and we wished we could have stayed longer than 4 days. I highly recommend it.

Only negative is sihanoukville itself (nothing to do with secret garden). We found the beach really dirty with litter and waste going straight into the ocean and rubbish washes up all along the shore. We took a boat trip out to the islands but the poor water quality definitely spoilt it. It was very cheap but cost us a day we could have spent exploring ream national park or the river. I would recommend doing these things instead.

Ooh and I almost forgot. If you're an animal lover you can cuddle with their beautiful cats and dogs as well as watch the cows go by as you eat by the beach.

Total bliss!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

the best part about secret garden, is that the owners clean their section of beach every morning and evening. there is a lot of rubbish that washes up along the shoreline and they dutifully remove it and clean the beach in front of the hotel. what a difference such a simple act makes!!

they have great uninterrupted views over the ocean and the sun loungers are the perfect spot to watch the sunset. you can literally roll off your lounger to the restaurant / bar for a snack or a top up and roll back to your lounger. i think thats what we did for two days solid.

the food served is pretty good, with a good mix of asian and western dishes depending on what you have the taste for, and the prices are not overly marked up.

the bungalow rooms are big and spacious and very relaxing, and the outdoor showers are a nice touch. they are well maintained, clean with a slightly rustic beach feeling to them.

the pool looks great, but the water temperature is like a bath, which is the biggest down side. it would have been great to swim in the pool but it was just too hot. the temperature of the ocean was a little better, but still very very warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We moved to Otres beach after a horrible nights stay in Serendipity Beach.

I had read the mixed reviews but wanted to experience it for myself, if you are deciding between the main strip and the quieter otres side, think of Bangala Road Thailand; loud, nightlife, young kids, hagglers - that is Serendipity side (which is fine if that's what you are after and want to be in the action) BUT of you want peace, quiet, stunning beaches and relaxation, without question stay at Otres beach- in particular Otres 2 Secret Garden

Friendly staff, cosy rooms, great pool and food!

Other reviews have mentioned it being overpriced- it is not the cheapest you can find BUT you pay for what you get. If you want peace and quiet it's worth every cent!

Thanks Dora and the team at SG!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January and had a really enjoyable week at secret garden. The owners were very welcoming, helpful and free breakfast on the beach every morning was great.
unfortunately there was construction work right next to our bungalow, although this didn't bother us too much it wasn't as peaceful as it should of been.
Bungalows are really nice, kitted out with all you need and beds are comfortable.
Secret garden is over priced though, we realized this when comparing it to some other bungalow resorts further down the beach! We were paying about four times as much....
Still its fine if you have the money and want a bit of a retreat - the bungalows are right at the far end if the beach so its pretty secluded.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden at Otres Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden at Otres Beach

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is located at the secluded end of Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Our resort is designed to maximise the privacy of our guests, with detached bungalows set among lush gardens. Our bungalows are all equipped with A/C, free Wifi, minibar, and in our double bungalows,an attached jungle shower. We also feature Otres Beach's most beautiful swimming pool with kids' pool attached. At our beach bar & restaurant, you can relax and enjoy one of our signature cocktails at sunset, and try our great selection of Asian and Western cuisine. Happy hour specials every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Secret Garden at Otres Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden at Otres Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.