We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nyam

Nyam
Tola street | Off Golden Lions Rounabout, Sihanoukville 2, Cambodia
+855 92 738 615
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 187 restaurants in Sihanoukville
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nyam is located in Tola street off the Golden lions roundabout and within a 5 minute walk going past the Golden Sands Hotel on the opposite side,look out for the Coconut tree with lights round it. Nyam is an attempt to make an authentic Khmer dining experience in an environment that is more accessible to tourists. When Cambodians eat it is far more social and more like Spanish Tapas. A number of dishes are ordered and placed in the center of the table and everyone shares them.
Sihanoukville
2 reviews
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Three of us went last night and had some delicious and well presented food including the banana flower salad, peppered seafood, fish in caramel sauce and chicken mango. The staff were friendly and we had a laugh with them practicing Khmer. It is low season at the moment so don't be surprised if you are the only group in the restaurant.

Would definitely go again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    150
    46
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sweet but off target”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ate there last night. The small plate/big plate menu is very appealing. Some interesting dishes here & good presentation.

However I like food to have some oomph & this just didn't.

Service was very sweet & efficient. Let down at the last minute. I ordered the Mung Beans in Ginger Syrup. Sounded interesting & maybe a bit of a challenge.

Half way through I had to ask the waiter how they got the farinaceous texture on the beans. It was only then that he told me they no longer use mung beans, but make rice flour dumplings. Very nice, but not what I ordered.

A relaxed place with very nice people & naturally very affordable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had the fresh spring rolls which were good and served with a great dipping sauce. The beef lok lak was very good. Only 3 people there the night I went?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Khmer Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food here was fantastic and better than average Khmer food. The dishes can be ordered in small and big portion sizes. Between 2 people we ordered 4 small dishes (plus rice) and this was just enough - the small portions really are small so it is best to order a few dishes and share. However the food really was fantastic so it was worth it. (Average price of small dish $3).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great selection of Cambodian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After perusing some reviews of restaurants in Sihanoukville, we came across Nyam (I kept thinking it was called Ayam or chicken for some reason).
Given that my partner is vegetarian, it is sometimes quite difficult to find a restaurant which caters for non-carnivores. Nyam however fit the bill perfectly. There was a wide range of dishes available, and we were given the ability to select the size of the meal.
We did eat here in mid-April so I cannot remember exactly the dishes that we ordered.
I do remember that the food was amazing, it was cheap comparatively and it was quite hot sitting outside (see the photo uploaded... it's not rain).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyam also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Nyam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.