We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All You Need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everythang

Save Saved
You added Everythang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Everythang
Sangkat 4 | Mittakpheap, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Everything Is Everything)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All You Need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

STAY HERE!! If you are staying on Otres Beach you'll find a lot of beach bungalows or dorms all with a similar standards and prices. We worked our way along the beach and ended up at Everythang where we had a bungalow that looked directly out to sea and basically, we couldn't leave. What separates it from the rest are the people who work there. We were instantly part of the group as were all the other guests staying there with us. I had passport trouble and everybody gave so much support and advise it was awesome. I finally got my passport sorted and they threw a huge party. The guy I was traveling with is still there so thats got to say something about this place. It's just a really cool place and from my 4 months in Asia one of my best memories. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks Richard! Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
21
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Don't expect too much when visiting Otres Beach. Lots of little beach bungalows. If you want a good relaxed atmosphere this is the place to go. Everything there is very laid back. The room is very basic but I wanted to beach experience so was better than camping but if you want luxury...stay away from Otres Beach. My room was clean, fan almost did the job but April is a very hot month so was expecting it. The shared bathroom was clean. Room prices a bit more than what you would expect for SE Asia but the laid back atmosphere made up for it.

If insect, critters and rodents annoy you stay away from Otres beach. The hut is made from wood, grass and Bamboo and they will managed to get inside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review, Francious! Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was lucky to get the last dorm bed at Everythang. The dorm is a little hot but once in bed you have a fan blowing right on you so I didn't have any trouble sleeping. There is a large mosquito net coving the bed as well. No lockers for your stuff though. The bar hut is breezy & welcoming & I sat on the beach using the free wifi. Otres beach is a great location & better than staying in the town itself. There are women selling massages but no matter where you stay they will be walking along the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for the review, Sophie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are looking for a laid back, chilled out no-frills beach retreat Otres beach is for you.
If you can't stand sand, bugs or the occasional rodent, then it probably isn't so don't go and bum the rest of us out.
I LOVED my time at Otres, and Carrie the owner of Everythang does her best to make everyone feel like at home.
She is also known to give a free lift into town if she is headed that way!
The rooms are simple and on the beach, which is everything we needed. Bathroom door locks have been added since some of the other reviews were left and I didn't see any rats in the week I was there.
Carrie's menu is unique and a bit of a change from the rest of the stuff on the beach. Fish taco is a must try!
All in all me and my boss had the best stay and definitely will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks, Miranda! Come on back down... its almost birthday time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Otres beach as a whole is a much better choice than the other beaches in sihanoukville. It is far more chilled out, the water is crystal clear (with glowing plankton if you swim at night!) and the sun sets are spectacular. There is still the odd party going on somewhere on the beach so you get the best of both worlds. Take a 10 minute walk past the guest houses and bars and you will find a completely secluded beach if that's what you are looking for.

We stumbled upon Everythang (the name has changed from everything is everything since the new owner) by accident and intended to stay for 3 nights... We ended up staying for 4 weeks on and off! We went to a couple of islands, Kep and Kampot but we always returned to Everythang...We just couldn't stay away!

The bungalows are all simple, clean, have mosquito nets, fans and clean towels are provided. The bathrooms are cleaned every morning and new toilet roll every morning. There was always soap to use. Sand on the ground of the toilets is expected as you are on the beach! There are buckets of water outside of the toilets to quickly wash off your feet to avoid the sandy floors.

We stayed in the penthouse beach hut for the majority of the stay which I would highly recommend if you don't mind spending the extra couple of dollars. It has a little balcony that you can sit and watch the sun set from and the room is a bit more spacious than the smaller bungalows. However, we also stayed in the smaller beachfront bungalow where the sand is your doorstep and we loved that too. We also stayed in a bungalow at the back of the bar which was the exact same as before, except you are a few meters from the beach (yes we stayed in every kind of bungalow, that's how many times we came back!). All the beds are very comfy too!!

As for the comments about the rats... we did occasionally hear one scurrying around outside but this does not mean that Everythang is dirty... there are rats anywhere you go on Otres beach which is not surprising as it is a 3rd world country! They mind their own business and they never entered our rooms.

The bar is very chilled out and plays all kinds of music. There are books, hula hoops, beach games and cards. The cocktails are good and the beer is cheap (50c for a can). The food is also great. I would highly recommend the chicken or fish tacos, they are huge and so tasty! We also ate the noodle soup every day as it was our favourite soup we have had on our travels in asia!

Last but not least the owner Carrie is awesome. She makes you feel so at home and she is really easy going and fun loving. She makes an effort to get to know all her guests and we really felt a strong bond with her by the time we left. Also try one of her homemade special brownies ;)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review, Jackie. Don't study too hard!! We miss ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everythang was without a doubt my worst accommodation experience while travelling through South East Asia. After originally booking for two nights, we left and did not turn back after a sleepless first night.

We were given beds in a dorm room. The owner warned us we might want to avoid one of the beds as it was "a little rickety and shaky". When we asked about security we were told that essentially there was nowhere secure at the hostel, but that if it made us feel any better the thieves around the area were "nice" and "would leave our sim cards and passports".

An abysmal party was held there that night, and ridiculously, the music was not turned off until 4.30am. While not sleeping in our room we also witnessed a rat running across the floor, and a cockroach across a pillow. The communal bathrooms were dirty and did not lock.

In addition, prices were made up on the spot and the $7 each we were charged was highly overpriced for what we received. For the same price you can (and should) find somewhere much nicer, with much better service further up the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The locAtion is great but I guess all the hostels on otres beach are a good location as they all lay on the same strip just steps away from the beach. Don't expect anything other than a bed to stay in. The electricity and water fails every day and there is rarely toilet paper, even if you ask for some they just suggest you go buy it... Cheers. I had a rat in my bed which I didn't enjoy too much (they never charged me for it though hehe!) probably wouldn't stay in the dorm again but the bungalo seemed alright for the amount you pay. To sum it up I think the customer service was really bad and you are essentially just staying there to fund the owners life there. It isn't really a business so don't expect to be treated like a customer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Apologies for your experience with us. We sincerely hope it didn't ruin your time on Otres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everythang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everythang

Address: Sangkat 4 | Mittakpheap, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Everything Is Everything)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Specialty lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the sands of beautiful Otres Beach, Everythang is a small casual guesthouse with 6 comfy beach bungalows, a penthouse that sleeps 3 (with a killer view!) and a mixed dorm room for 6; all spaced around a huge geodesic dome which houses the bar and restaurant. Everythang's menu consists of a little bit of, well, everythang. Top notch Chef Ta does the standard Khmer fare to your tastes, as well as some specials you won't find at most places. A small sample of the western fare, that she has perfected, includes pancakes, eggs benedict, hummus, fried chicken, a range of salads, and the biggest hits - the taco and burrito. Once a week, we spice things up with a Spanish Tapas menu (mmmm Sangria!). Everythang's bar is a great place to have a 50 cent Happy Hour draft and tell your travel tales. Later on you can get loose with some of our custom cocktails. Like to sing and dance, you say? Well get up on your pedestal, we've got the mic! If you're a little sick of the beach (what?!), shoot some hoops out back, go for a bike ride, play some chess, or motivate one of us to lead a yoga class. Boat trips, day trips to Ream National Park or the waterfalls, bus tickets and visas can all be arranged by our travel agent just out back. So come stay with us, cause life is a beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Everythang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everythang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.