We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar to your Saves list
Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar
Sangkat 4 | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I spent a night at the dorm in this GH in Otres beach. Friendly staff, nice facilities but really noisy. It may only happen on weekends, can't be entirely sure about this but the truth is that there was a party going on until 6am on the bar right next door and it was impossible to get any sleep. If you are gonna party, this is your place, if you want a quiet night sleep, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    17
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
26
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

WYWH is a great place to stay, with a very friendly staff. I would recommend it to any group of friends traveling. It's a very atypical place, the bungalows are the best we tried so far, it's very comfy. Food is also a must try there. And most of all, it's about 5 meters from the Otres beach which is definitely the best beach in SIhanoukville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at wish a few times, we did have a bed-bug problem one time but the staff were so apologetic that we felt fine returning. Great location, simple accommodation. Shout out to the staff, especially Todd!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at WYWH, the staff were really nice and helpful. The rooms seemed clean enough but as others have said, the toilets did not seem very clean and there was no soap anywhere to be see, even when asked we were told they do not have soap. This seemed like a very strange policy as it is not something you want to always carry round with you and is a fairly basic and expected thing to have in any bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wish you were here, is one of the most simplistic peaceful places I have ever been to. The food is top notch (big shout out to the breakfast team) and the accommodation is very comfortable. Could not have a better spot for it literally 50 meters from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August. We stayed in a private hut, which was basic but nice and with lots of space and a big bed, and shared bathroom facilities. The bathrooms were not clean and were a bit grim to be honest, with dirty yellow water that ran through all taps, showers and toilets. This is not something i expected considering the price and compared to the rest of Cambodia. (A few days after leaving this place, i should say that i got a weird rash on my face and after seeking medical advice in a Bangkok hospital, was told it was a fungal infection sometimes caused by dirty water.)

Unfortunately while we were there a thunderstorm hit us for a solid 3 days, causing severe rain and flooding inside the hostel. Luckily the huts are on stilts but the water still came through the front door and it also meant that the entire pathways to get to your hut were covered in a foot of water that you had to wade through dirty water to go to either the bathroom or your hut. Luckily, the hostel has a great social area and bar, with a film area attached too. They have a good selection of beer and cocktails, and a lot of board games (thank goodness as there's not much to do in Sihanoukville during the rain). Plus, the staff are really nice and pretty cool.

Security in the private huts was also a bit of an issue. We had a padlock for our door to the hut, but when we went inside we opened the 'window' only to find out that the window did not have a lock and could easily be opened from outside with a more than bit enough gap for a large man to climb through.

Another downside was the fact that they had builders working in the hostel, who woke us up promptly every morning at the crack of dawn drilling or with the sound of the radio.

All the negatives aside, i can imagine that if the weather is beautiful you wouldn't notice the down sides as you'd be at the beach all day. Its relaxing and cosy and the staff are very nice and chatty. Its a good place to meet people too, especially with such a good bar area. Overall, i was pleased with the service and atmosphere but let down by the bathrooms and water problem, feeling that it was overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and at first thought it was great. The bar area is a great place to hang out and as it was raining the whole time we were there it was good. The staff were very friendly and you feel comfortable.

The fact that the bathroom area is separate was a bit annoying, having to (as it rained the whole time) wade through what felt like a foot of water to go the toilet was a pain, from either the bar or your room. Also the water was a yellow colour which was a bit off putting, and my girlfriend got a fungal skin infection after staying here.

The bungalow was ok, bigger than other places we had stayed in beach areas but as there was a window (a moveable piece of wood) which could be opened from either side it felt a bit pointless having a padlock on the door, though at no point did it feel unsafe so it wasn't an issue.

I don't thnk i'd stay here again, though that isn;t because of the place, rather the area, as there wasn't anything to do and there are much better beach destinations in SE Asia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar

Address: Sangkat 4 | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish You Were Here… Otres Beach is a Backpackers that offers clean & comfortable accommodation at affordable prices... For the price conscious traveler, we offer dorm beds at budget prices...Our Dorm Rooms with shared bathroom have their own chillout area with balcony for guests and are located up on the 2nd level of the main building, above the 'Cave' & Bar/Restaurant area. We also offer Doubles, Twin Rooms & Bungalows. Our Bungalows all have Double beds with have private balconies & shared Bathroom. Read a book from our book exchange, write, paint or just laze around in the 'Cave' - it's up to you... Relax on the decking or up on the balcony… sip on cocktails or have a beer with your mates as you watch an amazing sunset over the picturesque Otres Beach... We have 24hr security, Dorm beds have individual lockers, Wi-Fi, laundry service, Drink specials daily & great food at great prices!!! We also offer discounted rates and 'specials' for extended stays... Wish You Were Here... Otres Beach is Aussie/Khmer run and our staff will do our best to make your stay with us as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.