We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Want For A Beach Bungalow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otres Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Otres Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otres Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Marina Road, Otres Beach 2, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly Strawberry Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 162 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Everything You Want For A Beach Bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Located on Otres 2, strawberry resort is just a few steps away from the beach. This side of Otres beach is quiet, with not much going on here so it's perfect if you want to get away for a bit. The bungalows are very basic but clean, and the fan does its job in keeping you cool! There's also a good bar and restaurant upstairs. It rained a bit when we were there and I can imagine it may not be comfortable in heavy rain.

It's also quite far away if you're planning on going somewhere else, and the roads are a bit scary to drive on at night time but other than that I'd recommend this place if you want some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
21
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traveling
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice place with good cheap rooms in a nice location, cute gardens and well tended sand paths.

The service is relaxed to put it nicely. You have to request everything, toilet paper, fresh towels or clean sheets. Though, when we did ask for things, the service was fairly prompt.

The drinks are cheap and the owner is friendly and talkative. However, the food is terrible, poorly cooked and bad quality. The vegetarian breakfast was cooked in bacon fat, which left a bad taste in my mouth.

I would stay here again, I just wouldn't eat here.

Room Tip: Nice sunsets from the raised bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aden, Yemen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Strawberry resort was nice, cosy and comfortable. We stayed in a clean, wooden hut with a toilet, running water and other basic needs. (Some resorts have their toilets separately). The resort is quiet and just two steps away from the beach. Otres beach 2 is a little bit isolated from the rest of the city, so you might want to rent a bike or take a tuk-tuk to the nearest market. Food is a little bit costly compared to other cities in Cambodia we've been to, but here you don't really have a choice.
Overall me and my friend enjoyed our stay and the owner was absolutely friendly.

Room Tip: - Upon your arrival to Sihanoukville, tuk tuk drivers will try to convince you that Otres 2 is too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and was quite happy with my choice. My simple bungalow was clean and pleasant. The bed was comfortable and even at the steamy end of the dry season, a fan was sufficient. The mosquito net worked well. The upstairs dining area is comfortable and attractive (although I wish they had more than one fan). Michael, the relatively new owner, is very friendly and welcoming. His Khmer fiance and her sister both speak pretty good English and are helpful and friendly. As others have said, it's about 30 seconds from even the back bungalows to the beach. The walk-in rate is $15/night, although I got it, booked on Agoda, for just over $13/night. Their long-stay discounts are excellent: stay a week and you get a bungalow for just $8/night; stay a month and it's just $6/night.

Otres 2 is at the eastern end of Otres, separated from the much more developed Otres 1 by about a mile of empty beach. I found Otres 2 much pleasanter than Otres 1. Both are preferable to the beaches right in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

its a basic wooden hut, very affordable, you have your own bathroom, a fan, mosquito net covering the bed, balcony, and is just 30 sec. away from the beach. There was no closed locker just an open shelf. But we had no problems with thefts or anything.

Don't get scared if u find a tokay gecko around your hut, we had one in ours for a night, it's very harmless, just leave it alone and don't try to touch it or scare it away, might bite you!

You need to take a tuk tuk or rent a bike if you want to buy anything from the nearest market. If you are travelling on a really tight budget you might find food a bit expensive in this area because it is a bit isolated.

Over all, it is a great place to stay near otres 2 beach which was amazing! and friendly staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Strawberry Resort in early May 2013.

The resort is fine if all you need is a room to stay in, and that's it. The bungalows are made of wood and are aesthetically pleasing but very basic, consisting of a bed with mosquito net, small table, wall mounted fan, wicker storage unit and an ensuite shower/ wet room. They each have a verrander with a table and 2 chairs too. For the price the simplicity of the rooms was obviously expected but we did have a couple of issues with the design of the bungalows:
1-they had numerous holes in the walls, particularly between the tops of the walls and the roofing. This invited lots of bugs which is fine when you're in your bed with the mosquito net over you, but a little frustrating when your getting ready for dinner in the evenings, etc;
2-given the holes, I did wonder how secure the bungalows actually were?

A couple of other points of note, the area outside the bungalows within the resort is very poorly lit and the wifi didn't work the whole time we were there which was very disappointing.

Location-wise, the bungalows are on the opposite side of the road from the beach but only about a 30 second walk away. Otres beach is absolutely stunning, quiet with only a handful of hawkers and some great beachside eating spots including Elephant Garden (fantastic dinners) and Tamu (awesome sunbeds, food, etc, serving breakfast and lunch only). It is around 20 minutes from central Sihanoukville.

We were not told about any "restaurant" when we checked in but from some of the other reviews on here, it seems there was one, but unfortunately I can't comment on that. We didn't get to know the staff at all really but any time we did need assistance they were very polite and spoke reasonable English. They kindly accommodated our request to move rooms one evening following one of our inconsiderate neighbours choosing to play his guitar and sing at the top of his voice at 11pm at night. Why do these people exist?!

I think to sum up, Strawberry Bungalows is ok, average accommodation which probably seems better to lots of people because of where it is (Otres Beach really is lovely). It's great if you're on a budget. But cheap or otherwise, there are still a few areas where they could easily improve in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Even with just a fan was ok but aircon wud be better.
Our room was great tho an the resort looks amazing.
Great service for washing clothes also.
The location is unbelievable down at otres 2 beach. Great atmosphere here and great people. So relaxing here. Easy place to get to the islands also.
The power does cut out from time to time but it's fine. Me and my girlfriend loved it here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otres Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Beach Resort

Address: Marina Road, Otres Beach 2, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly Strawberry Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otres Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OBR is a tradition Khmer bungalow resort set in a beautiful garden 20m from the sealine. Each bungalow is en-suite with hot water shower. We have a restaurant with excellent food at a fair price. A small bar with all your cocktails and cold cold beer. We are located in the tranquil end of Otres beach. If you want to party a 5 minute tuk tuk or a 15 minute walk can take you there. We can arrange bus tickets to all destinations including Thailand and Vietnam. We can also organise trips to the Islands and national parks and a taxi service to your required destination. We also rent motorbikes. Hope to see you soon. ps. We now have a full resort directly on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Otres Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otres Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.