We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GBT Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GBT Guesthouse
Save
You added GBT Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mithona Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 170 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Barrington, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Review of Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were dropped off here by a tuk tuk driver even though we didn't ask to be. Had breakfast here as it was early and nothing else was open. The two staff members who we spoke to were really rude.
As soon as we said we were only coming to eat one of the staff became really short and rude. Another when we said thank you to him laughed at us really rudely and mimicked us back. The food was not bad but a little pricey for what you get. Because the two staff members were such jerks and the tuk tuk driver clearly had some kind of deal with this hotel we definitely decided we wouldn't be staying here, no matter how cheap the rooms were.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    33
    21
    25
See reviews for
5
28
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were brought here by tuk-tuk drivers, but unfortunately we had to stay having confirmed that no other place had enough room for our group. The rooms on ground floor were more spacious and a little cooler, but thanks to the wood on the walls upstairs you couldn't see how dirty they were, as opposed to downstairs. There were bugs in the bathroom, the drain wasn't working, overall one of the worst places I've seen in SE Asia. On the upside: it's bearable, the beach is really close, a few bbqs and spas nearby, beverages can be bought on the premises 24/24. For us a fan was sufficient. Wifi in common areas only.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Sihanoukville right on Chinese new year so accommodation was sparse so I didn't mind when mr tuk tuk at bus station asked me if I wanted hotel. (despite the obvious commission scam). I only wanted 3 nights and when I got there they only had a double twin. I checked the room out and went for it..... So, room was great, clean and towels fresh. Shower was good and beds comfy. Air con was brilliant. My only real niggle with this place was the price for what I received (okay Chinese new year). The wi-fi here is terrible... No signal in room and public areas simply no good. The restaurant here is nothing special either although I found the service good. The coffee was the best thing about it. Location is brilliant beach is 90 seconds away. It fairly noisy due to road, bars n restaurants but I don't mind that. Overall not a bad place at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Positives:
Close to the beach
Rooms available in peak season
Numerous menu options
Tidy room
Private bathroom, hot showers

Negatives:
Rats very active at night, fresh droppings on our luggage in the morning!
Very noisy at night, clubs, rats and brawls outside
Unfriendly reception
Our room smelt bad, rat urine?
Construction noise from 7am occurring downstairs
overpriced at 18 per night

Room Tip: Avoid unless desperate and don't plan to sleep much. There is no pool (accidental rating selecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only stayed here as recommended by a tuk tuk driver.
We were charged $20.00 for a blood stain on a sheet. I have never been so humiliated in my life by such an odious and rude member of staff.
The towels were filthy and smelt foul too.
The rooms are noisy, dirty and we were kept awake by a hooker moaning for half the night in a room on the other side of the corridor.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

GBT Guesthouse had much staff available although everyone wasn't that helpful. The smell in the room wasn't pleasant at all. Our room had a problem with ants and some rats (which also includes dirt from them). I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Sure, the tuk tuk drivers get a commission for bringing guests: two dollars, which is not added to the guests' bill. It's a fairly common practise in which other hotels in the area participate. Having said that, GBT 3 guesthouse has a great location, right near the beach and shops, and in the same street as all the diving operators. Sihanoukville being a spread-out city, this is definitely a selling point.

We stayed here twice. Room prices went up in the meantime, due to high season setting in, but remained competitive. The rooms were spacious and clean, minor problems were fixed promptly, and since all the staff communicates via handheld transceivers, orders (to the restaurant kitchen, to the cleaning staff) were also carried out promptly.

The staff was business-like but courteous. All in all, an efficient operation and a good jumping-off point for dive trips or looking around for a place to stay in a more remote and quiet part of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GBT Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT Guesthouse

Address: Mithona Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 205

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GBT Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.