We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GBT Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GBT Guesthouse
Save
You added GBT Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mithona Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 168 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient, efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Sure, the tuk tuk drivers get a commission for bringing guests: two dollars, which is not added to the guests' bill. It's a fairly common practise in which other hotels in the area participate. Having said that, GBT 3 guesthouse has a great location, right near the beach and shops, and in the same street as all the diving operators. Sihanoukville being a spread-out city, this is definitely a selling point.

We stayed here twice. Room prices went up in the meantime, due to high season setting in, but remained competitive. The rooms were spacious and clean, minor problems were fixed promptly, and since all the staff communicates via handheld transceivers, orders (to the restaurant kitchen, to the cleaning staff) were also carried out promptly.

The staff was business-like but courteous. All in all, an efficient operation and a good jumping-off point for dive trips or looking around for a place to stay in a more remote and quiet part of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    33
    20
    25
See reviews for
5
27
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is linked with the bus company that is linked to the Tuk Tuk drivers who get a commision for taking you there. We arrived late and were tired and grumpy! It is very expensive and a s*** hole. Bathrooms were filthy. It had air con and wifi but the staff were rude! Apparently a good location but we left as soon as we arrived the next morning. I would not reccomend this to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

GBT - brilliant location and reasonable rooms, at $8 a night with hotish water you certainly can not complain. The power in Sihanoukville regularly cuts out and hotels have independent generators, some seem reluctant to turn them on as they are very expensive but we didn't have any problems with this. In general electricity is expense so be prepared to pay a premium almost as much as the room for air con. Great restaurant next door called New Sea Ville - as the busy season has just come to an end they offer $10 for 2x starters and 2x mains perfect for couples and regarded as the best food in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed her for 2 nights.The rooms were cheao and fine. The staff were extremely rude and condescending. The room i stayed in was in a row of rooms facing each other. There is a strict no noise after midnight policy, which i hear is enforced. Whatever dodgy dealngs and people were staying in the room opposite were ignored despite roaring and shouting until 4am, keeping everyone awake. We moved asap.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDAMERICA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I paid 10 dollars for a single room with tv and private toilet. It's quiet close to the beach and the staff is ok but the room has very little light and it's not very comfortable, it's the best you can get for such little price, for 15 and 20 you can improve a lot your room anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed at the GBT for $25 a night, while our neighbours right next door in an identical room setting paid only $20. Case in point....when ever a Cambodian tuk tuk or taxi driver reccomends you a place, he is sure to make a $5 commision.

The location for those wanting action is a good one.Within 5 minutes walk your are down to the main beach with it's many shops and restaurants. There is a restauraunt adjoining the property where you can get a decent average breakfast for $5.

The room itself is nothing special but is definitly adequate for $20 with a comfy bed, basic furniture, air con and bathroom. There is an outside porch area with a small table and chairs as to sit down and lounge. They did have a security guard watching the units 24/7 so your stuff is safe here one would think.

All in all this place is really worth $20 but so are a lot of other places that might be even better.$20 gets you a lot in Cambodia so shop around.If you don't have the energy to shop around, then by all means stay here because this place is a good average hotel for the cost.

Room Tip: Cut out the middleman tuk tuk commision and save $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We originally booked next door at New Sea View Villa but when we got there they had given our room away so they told us to go next door to GBT guesthouse. The room looked ok at first; nice view of the beach. But it was not good! The bathroom stank and the bath tub was cracked to the point where water was leaking. The shower head didn’t work. The mattress was foam and when you slept on it you sank right down to the slats underneath. There were mosquitos all through the room and we couldn’t find where they were coming from. There were ants all through the room and they completely invaded my partner’s suitcase, getting into all of his food, which he had to throw out. There were also condom wrappers in the side draw. The restaurant was good, but loaded with msg and made us both feel a bit off. We paid $18 for air-con room and it was not worth it at all!

Room Tip: Ask for window facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GBT Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT Guesthouse

Address: Mithona Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 205

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GBT Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.