We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Song Saa Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Song Saa Private Island to your Saves list
Song Saa Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Koh Ouen, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Money well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friends were (more than) pleasantly surprised by the service and the room. We had the over water room which has a private pool looking out to the sea. There're even stairs from our pool area straight down to the sea! Before the trip, we were asked to fill in a simple questionnaire of what drinks we like, any allergies etc. And when we arrived, these were translated to what kind of drinks and snacks were stacked in our minibar. How thoughtful!
For alcohol lovers, you would find drinks in a half bamboo tray along the paths! And for movie night, they transformed our room into a mini movie theatre with a white cloth as a screen and a projector, complete with popcorn and ipad for movie choices. All in all, a wonderful stay which exceeded my expectations.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    24
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
113
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed 5 fabulous nights at Song Saa after a few days around Siem Reap. It was a welcome relaxing break after days of tours & temples. At the moment it's a challenge to get to Song Saa but it's well worth the effort. The only flight from Siem Reap to Sihanoukville was booked out so we had to fly to Phnom Penh & the drive to Sihanoukville. There were no flights from Phnom Penh to Sihanoukville which seems a somewhat under utilized airport at the moment (maybe plans for the future?).
Our flight was due to arrive at 12.15pm (fortunately it was on time) & we found out that the drive is usually around 4 hours with the last speedboat service due to leave at 4pm. In hindsight we should have caught an earlier flight from Phnom Penh (it seems you can't rely even on local Travel Agents to work this out).
Anyway, after quite a stressful drive, we made it just after 4pm & the speedboat waited for us to our enormous relief. I'm sure the logistics of getting there will improve over time.
Once we arrived we began to relax with the help of the welcoming party & a nice drink. No check in so straight to the room (Jungle Villa #4). In our opinion this is the best room on the island & it's the cheapest! The Jungle Villas are all located around the perimeter of the hill. #4 is the first one at the top of the path &, being on the end, has only a single neighbour. The tree-filtered sunset view out to the main island & fishing village is just superb &, being elevated, the whole room is very private. We enjoyed looking out at the fishing boats coming & going & watched the boat loads of staff being ferried to & from the island. This resort has clearly been good for local employment! The fit-out of the rooms is stunning with everything you could need including a mini bar stocked with drinks of your choice. The pool deck with daybed was just perfect.
We loved the carefully sifted sand pathways so no need for shoes at all after arrival. The resort is very thoughtfully designed with some great spaces for relaxing & dining. Daybeds are scattered around & the bar & restaurant areas are simply out of this world. Cocktails have never been so enjoyable!
For dinner every night we were offered a special dining experience. These included on the beach, in the pool (just up to our ankles) & a fabulous local feast served in our room. The food was amazing & we really appreciated the effort involved in provided these experiences.
Snorkelling, kayaking & catamaraning around the island is all good fun & included. We arranged a picnic boat trip to the other side of the big island (Koh Rong). This was nice but a bit pricey at A$550. It included a kayak trip up a deserted river.
On our last evening we were offered a complimentary sunset cruise which was another very nice & much appreciated touch. They are very much about experiences & they go out of their way to deliver. The staff were all so friendly & helpful without exception.
While we were there we heard stories about planned developments for the surrounding area & left thinking that maybe we came just in time. These plans probably won't become reality for a while but it would be a real shame not to experience Song Saa just the way it is now. Truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: Jungle Villas 4, 5 & 6 for a great combination of sunset views to the neighbouring island &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We travelled to Song Saa with our two children - 3 and 2 yrs old - and in the words of my 3 year old when we entered our villa, "WOW"!. Everything about Song Saa is absolutely mind blowing, and it is not easy to write a review of such a wonderous place. The island itself is truly beautiful. The accomodation is simple and elegant, but appointed with every luxury that one could desire. The service is the perfect level of attentiveness, but not over bearing. The food is exceptional and some of the best that I have ever eaten. We were lucky enough to be there as part of a wedding group, and can I just say, it will no doubt go down as the best wedding EVER! Song Saa is like nothing you have ever experienced... pure magic. A huge thank you to all the staff on the island x

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Ocean View villas and it was perfect in every way. Having read reviews of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful resort and villas (decor and design is outstanding), staff members are some of the best that I have had the pleasure of dealing with (nothing was too much for them and always with a smile) and the island has just enough to do for both adults and children alike (snorkelling, kayaking, tubing, paddle boarding). The spa was very good and reasonably priced.

The area of slight disappointment for my family and I was with the food. Or rather the choice of food. There are two restaurants at the resort and the food is of a pretty high standard but the menu's at both were a little too "posh" for our liking. I totally understand that for the money you pay, "posh" is to be expected but it would also be nice to eat casual should the urge so take you. Apart for the pizza (which was still a little up itself with goats cheese and onion marmalade type toppings) our 12 year old daughter struggled with the choices. She has a very adult palate at the best of times (she happily ate the rare veal loin in the chef's menu) but she would also liked to have a standard burger, sandwich or basic dessert once in a while. So would we.

The F & B Staff make a huge effort with the Destination Dining option offered everyday and I would urge all guests to try it at least once or twice.

It was my husband's 40th birthday whilst we were there and I had let the team know before our arrival but they went above and beyond what I was hoping for. Cake, champagne, great venue for dinner, throughout the day staff members congratulated him (by name!) and made him feel like it was his day and for that I am extremely grateful.

One tip for guests - the island has decided to have it's own "island time". They are an hour ahead of the mainland. This should be taken into account when organising transfers off the island. Because I did not know this when organising our return transfers, the timings meant we would have spent over 4 hours at Phnom Pehn airport (not appealing AT ALL) so we ended up taking a private boat transfer back 1 1/2 hours later at an extra cost. (Not the end of the world but would have been better had we been prepared).

Room Tip: We stayed in ocean view villa 22 which had the spa suite next to it, which meant it was always very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wow, Song Saa really blew me away. Not only is it a beautiful resort but it is so refreshing to have a luxury resort that is not just set on making money. I love the fact that most staff are from the local community and have been trained and taught English from scratch, that in itself is a big achievement considering Cambodia is a poor country. They also run many conservation projects which you can get involved in, I would definitely recommend taking a tour to Koh Rong with Barnaby to see the projects they run and meet the local children, it is a real eye opener!

I stayed in a Jungle Villa and as soon as I stepped inside I thought I had died and gone to heaven, it was just beautiful and the bed is one of most comfiest beds in the world! The pool was a decent size, had lovely sea view and it was very private.

Walking round the island, you do really get a sense of place and I like that everything looks so rustic. The owners have put so much thought into everything even to the finest details, so hats off to them! The staff were friendly, chatty and nothing was too much trouble.

The food in the Vista restaurant was fine dining at its best, beautifully presented and very tasty. I would also recommend trying the unique pizzas at the Driftwood bar too !

I would recommend having a massage here too, it was incredible !

Overall I fell in love with Song Saa, it had a lovely ambience and the atmosphere is as far away from stuffy as you can get. I have come away feeling privileged to have been able to experience such a beautiful place. I have some great memories that I will not be forgetting in a hurry !!!

I could go on and on but its impossible for me to explain just how amazing this place is, so I urge you to experience it yourself !!!!!!

Thank you to Song Saa for a truly amazing stay and I look forward to my return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Amazed from the speedboat transfer to the " can do attitude " of ALL the staff. We stayed on Villa 1 in sea twin bedrooms. Had everything from a mojitos bar, kitchen, huge infinity pool, 3 huge and well equipped rooms. Very tropical feel island with paths winding through beautifull vegetation. The bar staff especially are very attentive and speak good English. Sopeaheat( not sure of spelling) was fantastic and deserves a pay rise! Every request was met and the word no was never heard. All the staff waved us off when we left..... Nice touch. Expensive but worth every single penny. 10/10. P s don't bother with shoes as most of the paths are whitesand !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Started exceptionally well with a great speed boat transfer to the island. So many little touches (staff waiting at the dock to meet and greet, canapés and cocktail reception, own personal porter, room cleaning/tidying during day) staff could not do enough for you, great interaction with customers, great food well presented and plenty of it, stunning rooms whichever you have, awesome infinity pool over the ocean, amazing robes, so soft, plenty of towels, huge bath, own pool in each villa and a bed outside to chill on, all mini bar (which is actually a fully stocked huge bar) all included, water sports all included, what you would would expect the likes of posh and beck, Kate and wills, etc to do for their get always. How many other places do you get to go to the loo, over looking the ocean and shoals of bright fish!well worth saving up for and spending 4+days so you have chance to do al, the water sports/spa/island exploring.

Room Tip: If you can afford one of the over sea villas, it is worth it, does make you not want to leave your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E, General Manager at Song Saa Private Island, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you very much for your inspiring comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. For us it was a real pleasure to host you and hope if you return we can exceed your expectations once more.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Song Saa Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Saa Private Island

Address: Koh Ouen, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Family Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Song Saa Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song Saa Private Island is a haven of sustainable luxury nestled in the undiscovered beauty of Cambodia’s Koh Rong Archipelago. With unique, world-class cuisine, stunning sunset views of the Gulf of Thailand, and an array of spa and wellness treatments, Song Saa offers the ultimate indulgence for mind, body and soul. Best of all, our commitment to environmental and community programs means you’ll be treading lightly on this special piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Song Saa Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Saa Private Island Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song Saa Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.