We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Song Saa Private Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Song Saa Private Island to your Saves list
Song Saa Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Koh Ouen, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

In the words of my 6 yr old daughter - I want to live in Villa 11 forever!

Song Saa - from its views, its staff, its food and general loveliness - will be remembered by us for a very long time.

Natural, relaxing, never stuffy or too try-hard - Song Saa is for those looking to chill out and really get away from it all while being expertly looked after.

The dining experiences in particular were amazing - my waist line shows the strain!

Now it's back to real life - wearing shoes for the first time in 7 days was a shock I can tell you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    30
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
142
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our week on Song Saa. As others mentioned the service, let me elaborate. This is one of the best venues in Cambodia. The staff, meals, and facilities are great. What a way to ring in the new year.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Song Saa Private Island, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Derek_Rader

Thank you so much about your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Song Saa Private Island.

The whole team were thrilled to be of service and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wishing you and your family a happy and healthy 2013

Warm Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Songsaa is a place of paradise. You can leave your shoes behind because you will won’t need them on the island, everyone goes barefoot even to dinner, the island is extremely casual which is unusual for a 5 star resort. The villas are beautiful, we really enjoyed our jungle villa as it offered privacy and also shade throughout the day from the hot sun. We loved the private destination dining options in the evening as you felt like you were the only ones on the island. I loved the nice touches like taking us on a Champagne sunset cruise or returning to your villa at night and finding the bath filled and covered with petals and surrounded by candles very romantic! It really is the perfect place for couples and honeymooners. The island is designed for couples and the guests that go there want to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquillity.
The Cambodian staff are delightful, nothing is too much trouble and you can see they are all very happy working there. However, if you are expecting perfect service with attention to detail this may not be the place for you. If you are prepared for hit and miss service from delightful people who are passionate about their jobs and are so excited to be there then you will love Songsaa.

We really enjoyed our stay, it is not an easy place to get to as you can only fly from Siem Reap but it was worth the effort.

Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Song Saa Private Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Winnie999,

Our sincere thanks for your compliments about your stay with us, it is wonderful to hear you found us a paradise for your honeymoon. Relaxing and tranquility is always our utmost goal for every guest staying in our resort.

At the same time, I appreciate your feedback on our service and only with these comments we strive to provide the level of service you experienced at Song Saa. With our lovely staff, together we are continuously learning, grooming each and everyone, to be able to accommodate every request and need.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Song Saa in the future, where you can stop, breathe and rejuvenate in this extraordinary natural setting.

Warm Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our Final Stop on a 4 week Tour of South East Asia - from HK 7s, through Vietnam (Nth & Sth), & Cambodia - before returning to Blighty via HK again. We knew and expected a fairly tough, from logistics and sights etc perspective, Itinerary, so deliberately chosen to end with a few days of intense chill & good old fashioned R&R..

It was superb from Start to Finish.

Rendezvoused with the Boat at Sihanoukvile, then shot over to the Island; met with a Reception Comittee at the Jetty. Shown our Room, Told of Services and given a Map of the Island and a few tips, then offered a free Spa Massage Treatment and told that our sundowners and Diner would be 'a deux' on the adjacent Island - connected by a raised wooden walkway over the sea.

It was our Anniversary, I know, but this showed an impressive eye for detail.

Romantice setting - a big ten-four. Surerb food. Waited on hand-and-foot by a very king young Waiter, with super dishes and both white and red wine. Stunning start.

Breakfast was fabulous again on a raised wooden deck area - a beautiful vista of sea, island and palm fringed beaches opposite. We had lunch there too, it was so gorgeous. And another dinner - it would have been more, but they had arranged for us to dine al-fresco on a beach (again 'a deux') on another night. And then again at a third Location and we were only there for 4 nights.

In a word - Food - stupendous

All thd beverages one could wish for and then some - They had the French Chateaux 'ballons des cheins' a plenty, but those on the Included List were so good, we never got there. Prices were high, but ........ NOT anything like London.

Rooms - we had one of the small ones on the Island (some on the other side were over the water, on stilts, and huge with multiple bedrooms and suites etc etc. Ours had a four-poster bed, living area and with full-length couches, wall-mounted TV (used too one one day when I had had too much sun), fully stocked mini-bar fridge, double bathroom with bath big enough for ....... (ad lib as necessary), shower, twin sinks, outside shower, own outside pool, own patch of beach (with sunloungers), sundeck, shaded table at waters edge, a partly shaded full size (double ie) cushioned day bed - again overlooking the sea.

View from our "small room" - sun, sea, & sky.

Oh, did I mention that it had AC, beautiful Bath Towels, Slippers etc and the Mini-bar was restocked daily. Ice was a mere phone call away.

Activities were not many - mostly water-based (canoes, swind surfing, snorkeling) or walks. Several Excursions were offered at additional charge, but we were in 'chill mode' and feeling bone idle. Very succesfully too, I might add. Nearly foregot - there was a fully equiped gym with AC, & fabulous views out to sea, but we did not use it

By this stage, hopefully, you'll have figured - we really liked this place.

Who it would suit - Honeymooners, Anniversary Celebrators, Romantics, Lovers, Folks who like peace and quiet, take their relexaion seriously, and enjoy escapism, de-toxers, those into Ecological Issues, as its Green credentials are quite amazing.

NOT appropriate for those who like to 'see and be seen', party animals, those who like jet skis & powered water craft etc.

So what's the down-side - it's a hell of a long way from here !! London. Anyone (fitting into the categories outlined 2 Paras above) going to HK, Taiwan,Chhina, Malaysia, Singapore, Burma (Mayanmar), Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, or Vietnam should conside making a detour and check this place out.

Going to add a few Pictures - apologies for the eclectic sequence - novice at this Technology stuff.

Room Tip: Ours was, as stated, one of the small ones on East side of the island and gorgeous. One the West (su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Song Saa Private Island, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Sousday from Song Saa

Dear Safariholic

Thank you so much for having stayed with us, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
We are very happy to hear that you have had such a beautiful closure to your holiday, at Song Saa. It is delightful that your anniversary celebration was wonderfully spent on the island and your triple WOW was such a flaterring note indeed. With our location which is a hideaway haven, although “quite” a distance from your London home, we are all thrilled that you both were able to visit us, and become rested and relaxed at our home.

Once again thank you again for your post and we look forward to your return, for another anniversary celebration.

Happy New Year!

With our warmest wishes,
The Song Saa Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I have heard a lot of beautiful things about the Song Saa but I never really believed until I experienced it myself. Upon arrival at the pier, we were greeted by a friendly staff and brought us to the boat. We were offered drinks and fruits and cold towel. Not long after, we started our journey. The boat trip was comfortable and exciting.

The welcome experience was quite amazing and the island and its surrounding is just beautiful. For a while, I actually forgot where I was. All I know is that I am in paradise. The rooms were well appointed, well-equipped and tastefully decorated (there's wifi everywhere in the island and various options of drinks and refreshments). A local touch is visible in every corner of the villa and there is somehow a feeling of being in an island but never a feeling of isolation. The food is great, every dining is a unique experience. The first night, they offered us to have a food tasting which consists of 6 course meal. The second night, we were treated to a nice barbecue under the stars. We did try their in house dining and the experience is different and unforgettable, especially the way they bring in the food. The beach is beautiful and what a joy to hang around in the big infinity pool, watching the sunset and hear the astounding sounds of the waves.

My thought was - it is a place for honeymooners, it was actually not. I stayed with my family (we have two children aged 6 and 4) and we truly enjoyed it and perhaps didn't disturbed anyone's privacy. The staff are very friendly (especially Dee - she was exceptional) and accommodating. We occupied the 2-bedroom water villa and i found it quite spacious for my little family. The balcony and the pool was extraordinary. At night time, we were just staring at the sky, watching the millions of stars. I have never seen so many stars in the past (we are living in a city). In the morning, we wake up and go straight to take a deep plunge into the sea. During mid day when the water is calm, various types of fish show around the villa. It was refreshing and good to know that they try to preserve the area. Everywhere is clean and well looked after.

I recommend this resort without a second thought. Yes, it is pricey but you actually get back what you paid for. Maybe, just maybe, even more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent two nights at Song Saa and... wow. I have been to some of the "world best resorts" (yes, yes, including the Amans) so I don't "wow" easily. It's impeccable. The villas, the ambience, the environment, everything. The highlights were many. The food is certainly one. The view from the villas. The bathrooms and outdoor showers. Incomparable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am not sure how anyone can say a bad thing about Song Saa. Yes it is expensive, but I feel it is worth every penny. My husband treated me to a visit here for my 30th Birthday and wow what a present. We went in October and had fantastic weather for 5 days.

The journey from Phnom Penh is a good few hours, but it passes quickly and there are so many things to see out of the window that it is not like traveling on your average motor way. The road is well maintained so don't be fearful that it will be a bumpy ride.

Once at the dock you are then taken to the island. We had to wait here for about 30 mins for few others guests to arrive but I didn't find this a problem as they kept us happy with fresh fruit, cold towels, drinks and umbrellas to keep the sun off us.

All the accommodation is great although they have different benefits. We stayed in the overwater water villa for a few nights. It had amazing sunsets and an outdoor bed which you can lounge on, but it had no outdoor table/ chairs or sun loungers. In room dining was a little difficult although we managed ok and ate on a tray on the outdoor bed which was always nice. The main advantage is being able to jump into the sea easily from the villa, which was fantastic.

The beach front villas have a little beach area with sun loungers, the outdoor bed as in the overwater and also a table and chairs. I liked this option the best as it had the largest outdoor area. Although access to the sea is very difficult from these villas as the water is a little more rough on this side of the island. Saying that, the beach and hence sea is about a 2 minutes walk outside the front door of you villa, so it was not a huge issue.

The jungle villas were also beautiful and had the benefit of being slightly more private, although I never had a problem with privacy with the beach front or over water villa.

The hotel has a wakeboard boat, but it is not advanced enough to do any tricks on. It is nice to have the option to do something energetic though. So we hired it for half an hour one day.

The hotel had no building work going on when we were there, but I hear that they are going to make a heli pad and also a new spa which will be of benefit as long as you visit when they are not constructing! Maybe check before you visit.

The water is very clear but there are less fish to be seen here than in places like the Philippines. Having said that, we still saw lots of beautiful fish when we snorkeled out by the restaurant.

Tips: Get the movie set up in your room one night. Such a great extra touch and they provide yummy pop corn too.

Kayak to one of the surrounding beaches. The locals are so nice and the beaches are deserted.

Get a picnic prepared for you on one of the surrounding beaches - such a treat!

Visit the local community.

Get your 15 minute free foot massage - it was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Song Saa Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Saa Private Island

Address: Koh Ouen, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Song Saa Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song Saa Private Island is a haven of sustainable luxury nestled in the undiscovered beauty of Cambodia’s Koh Rong Archipelago. With unique, world-class cuisine, stunning sunset views of the Gulf of Thailand, and an array of spa and wellness treatments, Song Saa offers the ultimate indulgence for mind, body and soul. Best of all, our commitment to environmental and community programs means you’ll be treading lightly on this special piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Song Saa Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Saa Private Island Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Song Saa Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.