We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My savior!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Serendipity Beach Resort to your Saves list
Serendipity Beach Resort
Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Sihanoukville
2 reviews
“My savior!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are a backpacker in Sihanoukville, you'll quickly figure out that half the hostels have bedbugs. And its a nightmare! I had (and still have) a full body rash from those evil things and sought refuge at this resort to heal myself with a clean bed and proper shower. The basic room is 35 a night which is still less than a motel 6 at home! It had a big bathtub for me to soak in and a nice warm shower. Tv with cable and what seems like a nice pool though I didn't enjoy it because bedbugs leave you looking like a mutant! I'm about to stay here for a fifth night before moving on. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    64
    25
    30
See reviews for
27
163
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is still being completed it seems by the protruding rebar on the fourth floor stairs and furniture tucked away on the landings still in shrink wrap. The rooms are spacious and the ac worked well. As another reviewer pointed out, the first room that we were assigned had a shower that leaked terribly. Management did move us the next day unfortunately to a higher floor. For whatever reason there is no elevator and the stairwells had 25 steps between floors...a lot after a long day at the beach. That being said the hotel is clean and the pool is nice and the location is superb. Only steps to the beach, directly across from several ok restaurants and near to a convenience store and plenty of bars.

We were staying between Christmas and New Years so the hotel was at full capacity and the price was at a holiday premium of $38 USD for a King Size Bed pool view, pricing was a few dollar premium for beach view but it wasn't available. It would be worth the premium. There were numerous families with children, older hippie back packers and the whole spectrum of tourists. We would stay again despite the unfinished common areas.

As others wrote the phones don't work and our door lock had to be replaced but all in all the hotel was fine, just needs better attention to details!

Room Tip: If you are on first floor it doesn't matter which room you get, higher floors try for the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Serendipity Beach Resort is perfect!! The location is just awesome because you are nearly 20 meters from the beach and close to everything in town like restaurants, bars, travel agencies, the beach...

The hotel is brand new so everything is super clean, the designs are just very modern and up to date.

And what can I say about the swimming pool?? It's HUGE!!!! 30 meters, nicest I've seen in Asia so far. A lot of sun beds and nice area to relax after an hard day at the beach!

Staff is accomodating, always cleaning the public area, smiling and nice.

Go for it, treat yourself :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in good location but that is all I can say. Key never worked, phones don't work, bathroom flooded. Every time there was a problem had to walk down 4 flights of stairs to get help. Help was not either that forthcoming. Shame on whoever manages this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Relatively new hotel just meters from the beach. Spacious rooms and the best bathrooms in the price range. Efficient check in and out and good, daily room servicing. This was my second time to stay here and I will be back again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm not exactly sure how long this place has been open but it has a huge feel of still not being 100% finished. The room rate is one of the more expensive in the area and as such we felt it would be a nice luxurious way to end out holiday, especially after 3 days on Koh Ring Salaom.

Upon booking we asked if it would be possible to extend our check out until 1pm rather than 12 and were told that it would be ok providing te hotel wasn't fully booked, upon check in we were told it wasn't possible due to availability which was fine but upon asking if it would be possible to book another night later they suddenly had rooms??? Odd

We had a pool view which I would recommend over sea view if you want any sleep, the hotel is at the en of the each where the late night parties happen and actually overlooks one of the very late nightspots!

The room was a good size as was the bathroom with a good size bathtub and seperate shower.

The hotel exterior looks fresh and modern bit this doesn't quite translate into the interior and the bedrooms, ultra modern bathrooms but the sleeping areas are a mix of wood and rattan furniture and it all feels a little disjointed.

The finish of the rooms is poor, paint from the ceiling is all over the tile work in the bathroom, the grouting isn't great and the shower feels like it would cave in at any moment, I think they obviously went for a very cheap shower case.
The bathroom had an installed hairdryer but it wouldn't actually fit the plug socket in the bathroom, likewise aroud the room the lamps and such didnt seem to be 100% correct for the socket type.

The bedrooms are again not finished to a great standard with chipped paintwork and a general feel of not bing finished.

The hotel has upped prices left right and centre over the holiday period and I wouldnt say it is worth the extra money.

Overall I was really underwhelmed with the rooms, if they just finished it off to a good standard it would be better. I would liken it to a UK travelodge.

The pool area is nice, but its a bit cat and mouse if you want to get some sun as areas quickly move into shade due to the high walls and high hotel. Good morning spot but maybe move to the beach in the afternoon if you're looking to tan.

I will say that bar the reception desk staff being a bit loose with the truth on availability for our late check out (we even offered to pay) the staff are friendly and always greet you if you pass in the corridor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel has got its pluses and minuses, but all in all our stay here was enjoyable and well worth the money we paid. On the plus side, it's location is nearly ideal, just steps away from the ocean and the strip of bars and restaurants on Serendipity Beach, and plenty of shops and surprisingly good food options nearby. The hotel itself has clean, modern, spacious rooms, and the upgraded sea view room which cost only US$45 was luxurious by even Western standards. The view of the ocean was worth the few extra dollars, and the hotel pool was very nice.

The biggest drawback of the hotel was that it's feel was sterile and corporate, and did not have the "warmth" of some of the smaller boutique hotels we stayed at during our trip. The signs throughout the hotel warning not to bring prostitutes into the hotel and warning that drug use including marijuana would be reported to the police was a little off-putting, even though I personally wasn't partaking of either. The rules posted in the room even forbade the "committing of debauchery", and in general the staff, while professional, were often cool and aloof instead of welcoming and helpful.

All in all, it was still a decent place, and a good value given its location and the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: The sea view room for US$45 per night was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Address: Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.