We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mushroom disappoint- sorry!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mushroom Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mushroom Point to your Saves list
Mushroom Point
Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 3000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mushroom disappoint- sorry!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am sincerely sorry to say this but the people who run the lodge really are lovely and everything, but I think the lodge is overpriced. The novelty idea of it being mushroom shaped rooms is really fun, and made me smile and thought it was quirky, but there was very little space, it is not on the beachfront and the mozzie nets were not clean- had holes in (spent night trying to kill mozzies in my net) and my friend also had a smell coming from the neighbours which kind of came to our room- and the staff were nice in trying to give incense so I know they meant well. I think if the smell is fixed, the rooms are cleaned up a bit them maybe it will be worth more (the place opposite was loads cheaper and on the beach with new huts) but for me this was a basic backpacker quality which reminded me of my youth when I was not so bothered- I think the money is paying for the novelty idea-although staff were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    62
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
51
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for money! Right on the beach. I stayed in a 7 bed dorm, unusual
Circular beds, more of a novelty, if you are tall you would struggle to sleep well. Got very stuffy, 3 fans but straw roof seemed to make it hotter. Bed linen was quite stained and a lot of crawlies get through the nets, though that's not the guesthouses fault. Food amazing, staff ok. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I arrived here after a hellish bus ride and no sleep the night before. I asked a moto to take me here because I remembered the name of the top of my head off of tripadvisor. For a private room in the low season, they asked for $20, and then offered $15 if I agreed to stay two nights. After negotiation we agreed on $15 for the night with no obligation to stay a second night. I'm glad I didn't, because when I looked at other places around Otres Beach the next day, I found bungalows of equal (or only slightly lesser) quality for a third of the price. You can get a bungalow with a big bed and cold shower (which is what I got at Mushroom) at many other places along Otres much cheaper. I got a room for $4 that was only a bit shabbier, but hey, you're there to chill on the beach, not in the room. I felt a bit scammed that I paid this extra cash on a backpackers budget when there are other places to be had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved this little place on Otres Beach, which is, in my opinion, the best beach in Sihanoukville. Mushroom Point is very unique and quirky - single and twin rooms are little mushrooms! We stayed in a mixed dorm, which was clean and spacious, and we loved the round beds. The showers were also clean and hot, and the bar/restaurant area was great - an excellent place to relax in and meet other people, with cushions, hammocks, books etc. The food here, although not that cheap, is very good indeed, and overall we thought that Mushroom Point was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Folks - you'll never find a 3 stars spot on Otres Beach. It's a low-key, mini-paradise, off-the-beaten-path location where you'll savor the remoteness, quietness and raw. I'll tell you that Mushroom Point's the best to offer than any spots on Otres Beach - clean 'rondavell-shaped' bungalow with towels, best and price for price kitchen and smooth service. In fact, it won awards such as best accommodation voted by 1000000 hostelworld.com customers. I'm gonna shut up 'cuz I've said enough. :-)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived there for a couple of nights. Nice room, clean and good facilities in the room. The environment was great with the mushroom-like bungalows.
Maybe a bit pricey for what you get, but its a nice place to stay. More quite than other places around Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My initial plan was just to stay here for 3 nights but now it has been more than a week and I am still here - doing work-exchange just because I am oh-so in love with this place!!!

It is just few steps away from the beach. One of the reason I chose Mushroom Points obviously because of its mushroom-ish design and the round bed. Sexy. Might be pretty pricey for a budget traveler like me but once in a while or if you like it very much, why not eh?!

Basically at first, I think I made a wrong choice to stay here because Otres Beach is none like Serendipity Beach. It is relatively quite, chill and too relax for party people like me but after spent 3 days here, especially on this awesome Mushroom Point whereby the owners and the staffs treated you like a family, I got the calmness vibes and I like it!

Well, going to town/Serendipity area is not a problem as lots of TukTuks and MotoTaxis around. The f&b provided might be a little bit pricey but actually it is just the same like any other restaurant or guesthouse everywhere around Sihanoukville. That's not the question. Is the price worth the taste and the portion? YES is the answer. They might serve you your food kindda slow but they were slow because they prepared everything fresh from scratch. Nothing ready-made. Even the French fries.

While no guesthouses or hostels clean up your space and made your bed every day, Mushroom Point does. They even provide (change) the towel everyday. This is the extra point of Mushroom Point.

The Chill-Out point where the guests hang out together pretty much a cool place to lazy-ing around. Lots of cushions, bolsters, hammocks, magazines, books for your comfy. Big LCD TV for you to watch movie of your choice, too! This area will be really busy at night although at low season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mushroom Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Point

Address: Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 3000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created our own world here in Mushroom point! With unique design of bungalows, water tower and big reception area with restaurant, bar and chill out area we gave to the place more personality and charm. We care for quality, we keep it clean and green. Food coming out of our kitchen is always fresh and tasty! WiFi is available all around the property. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Mushroom Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Point Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mushroom Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.