We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cambodian Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cambodian Resort to your Saves list
Cambodian Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Polowai Street Group 15, Village 4, Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 183 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked Cambodia resort because I left my booking rather late for busy new year period and the better rated options were fully booked.
The resort is very well maintained with lots of staff and daily room cleanings by well mannered and friendly cleaners. The pool is a bonus however VERY chlorinated so i ended up swimming at the beach mostly. The rooms were a good size. There is a restaurant downstairs which is not terrible. Breakfast has a basic buffet. It's a quick walk to the each and quiet so I wasn't bothered by noise from new years celebrations which was great.
Downsides: The reception staff were fairly unfriendly and sour. The power goes off multiple times a day for periods of up to 10-15 minutes which is annoying. The hot water worked once for me in 4 nights so it was cold showers for me most of my stay. The key slot at the door operates the power so the fridge didn't work when you were out, meaning no drinks kept cold. There is fridge but no stock/minibar. I had tea and coffee making facilities and drinking glassss but no cups or spoons to stir the tea/coffee. The sun shines straight into the balconies from 7am until early afternoon and there are no sunshades so sitting on balcony is out most of the day as its way too hot. I almost missed my bus because I was told the wrong time to go to reception and they didn't call my room when bus showed even though my room number was written on the ticket stub.
All in all I think you could get a lot worse but they could easily improve their rating through very little cost by a few small additions/improvements as per above.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has three wings. One wing faces the street and pool. The street side is extremely loud. You won't get any rest during the night. The opposite wing has a dance club at its back side. The club plays loud music late into the night and keeps you up. The wing that connects the other two wings is the only acceptable wing. The only difference in rooms is wether they have a balcony or not.

Air condition doesn't cool well enough.

You hear all the noises from the hallway.

The staff is a bit overwhelmed at the reception causing frustration for a bunch of guests.

You get better service for a better price at the guest houses around.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Definitely not a resort . Couldn't even get running water on my first night n the next day morning
Don't know when was the last time the pool was cleaned
Breakfast is decent but they won't turn the fans on in the lounge area
Btw the hotel does not supply hair dryers so byo
The rooms look v tired n desperately need a make over , the sheets look dirty n the bathroom has an unpleasant odor

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is definitely more of a hotel. We decided to treat ourselves to the possibility of a nice bathroom after 5 weeks of travel. I wish we didn't waste our money. Like some of the other reviews I agree that is ageing quickly and badly. The shower was a Hose and was cold. They fixed it so it sprayed but it was still cold. I have stayed in hotels that have nicer rooms without this price tag

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff and welcoming and helpful owners but the room was a little tired and mine had a very unpleasant occasional smell in the bathroom.

Unforgivably the cleaning and catering staff seem to start work (very noisily) at around 6am which is not at all what one would expect from a 'boutique' hotel and has been mentioned in previous posts.

The pool and gum are excellent.

The food, which I only tried once, appeared average at best - certainly not up the standards of some of the local competition.

When I stayed (off season) the hotel was very quiet and the bar had very few patrons at any time that I saw. It's not really a hotel for mixing with fellow travellers but apparently more of a dormitory for foreign contractors working in local factories I was told.

The location is great for the beach and lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Though the approaches to the hotel are all unlit and a little unsettling - definitely not for the faint of heart or heavy of wallet!

Overall I would say the place was utilitarian and serviceable. The pool, gym and location are good but otherwise it's pretty average. During my stay I saw a number of other hotels and beach front cabins that were a lot more quirky, interesting and sociable though lacking the size of pool and the excellent gym of the Cambodian Resort - those would probably be my first choice next time around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Cambodian Resort was just fine, however just because it has a pool and gym this does not a resort make. It is really just a hotel.

We stayed mid May and the low season and there were only 3 or 4 rooms being used, so very quiet, we had the pool area to ourselves most days, the same as for breakfast.

Check in and out was good, just a little consternation at check in as they couldn't find our booking, funny that, there were only a handfull of other people staying at the hotel, however it got sorted very quickly. Staff through the hotel are great, cheerful and a ready smile all the time, and forever cleaning, but then again with only four rooms being taken up I guess there was little else for them to do.

Great gym, perhaps the best I have come across at a hotel, but I did discover they have gym membership for locals, so perhaps that's why it is so good.

7 minutes walk to the beach and tuktuk transport outside the hotel all the time to take you anywhere in Sihanoukville for a small fee.

Room was large and clean, overlooking the large pool area, water pressure in the shower ok, water just warm, but sufficient to do the job. No soap bar(s), but we always carry a small bar for these situations. There is a soap dispenser in the shower, but nothing in the sink area.

Breakfast was iffy, and not a great selection, but they did say due to low season they catered on demand, I guess a la carte, so we ordered eggs as we wanted and took the rest of the small selection as we required. It was ok, sufficient for our needs.

So what were the bad points, on two of the three days we were woken by room service wanting to clean our rooms at around 8.30am. Huh??? With only 4 rooms being used hardly a pressing need to get rooms cleaned. Not as if there was going to be hordes checking in.

And there is a noise problem from the Golden Lion Plaza right next store. This is a group of night clubs and the deep boom boom boom from the music does permiate into the hotel. Ear plugs did help (always take ear plugs on holiday). Remember we were in the off season and not many people around, I can imagine the noise in the high season coming from this place. Our last evening was the final of the European football Cup and the noise was excessive.

Not withstanding the noise, the hotel was good to stay at and would reccommend and (with earplugs) would stay here if we found ourselves in Sihanoukville again.

Room Tip: The further away from the Golden Lion Plaza the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not a "boutique" and hardly a resort, but spacious, efficient, well thought out and with on-the-ball staff. Breakfast and the pool were the highlights. Excellent in both areas. Rooms were comfortable with a sensible shower arrangement, nice small balcony, simple furniture, good lighting, etc. Getting the basics right and having switched on staff made our holiday a success.
Asked for extra pillows, and got them immediately without fuss. We left a suitcase behind, but the staff found it, put it on a bus and we collected in in Phnom Penh. For $1!! The only hitch was, possibly, the lack of parking space in front of the hotel. But hardly a deal breaker. We will return happily!

Room Tip: 200s or 308-310 were about right. ground floor is too near the pool. 4th is too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambodian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambodian Resort

Address: Polowai Street Group 15, Village 4, Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambodian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambodian Resort is a new boutique style hotel which is located just 200 meters from the best premier beach of Sihanouk Ville in southern Cambodia.Moments away from bustling nightlife lavish entertainment and a variety of shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cambodian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodian Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambodian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.