We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked the bar,, can't rate the shacks !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Serendipity Beach | 40m from "Coasters", Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 162 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I liked the bar,, can't rate the shacks !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very relaxing area !! The dance music later at night ruins the serenity !! Most of the staff are fine, but one non Cambodian guy appeared to be on some heavy drugs !! Spilt food on our table !! Apart from that it was great !! Drinks are nice and so is the food !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Manager at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Craboo,
I did email you personally regarding this, as I don't like to think that any of my staff are on 'heavy drugs', and you replied that the staff member in question was a blonde 30 year old gentleman. I did reply to you that we don't have any blonde staff, and that our food is served only by Khmer waiters, to which I've not yet received a reply.
I am glad that you enjoyed your drinks, although they may not actually have been at our establishment.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    13
    12
    6
See reviews for
7
43
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Our 5 nights at Above us only sky was fantastic. Big clean bungalows with an amazing sea view. Great Staff and a very cosy bar just a few steps from the bungalows and from the sea. Thx Ben, Mary and Toni !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at AUOS for three nights with a friend in June 2012. It was overall quite a disappointing and grotty experience.

The room is reasonably sparse, but that's alright as we didn't expect much from a bungalow. My problem was with the lack of aircon. It didn't work for the entire 3 days. Now there is a note explaining that when the power is cut (which happens a bit in Sihanoukville) the aircon and hot water system won't work, but the fan and water will because a generator kicks in. This was not the case. Our fan worked only sporadically, and on several occasions I went to have a shower to find there was not only no hot water, but no water at all! I do understand power cuts are a way of life here, but for $40 a night I expect to get air con and hot water, as advertised. I spent most of my time hot, dirty and frustrated.

Another issue is noise - the main party bars are quite close, and as a result you can make out every word to every song blasting from the speakers till 5am. if you are one of the people dancing till 5am, it won't be a concern. On the nights we didn't go out, we found it impossible to sleep.

A final negative - on the last evening our bungalows roof started leaking. We came home from dinner to find one of the beds soaked. The barstaff moved the other bed to the other side of the room for us. But then the whole floor was dirty and wet. A minor whinge maybe, but I think it was all compounded by the lack of shower/air con situation!

There were a few good things - the balcony had great comfy chairs to relax on, and the bar is in a nice position over the rocks. But overall I was disappointed with the room and would not stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else. Staff seem nice but were pretty dopey.

I'd advise you to look elsewhere for a better place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Owner at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Broomegirl,
Unfortunately there were power outages during your stay in Sihanoukville, and as you've written, the air-conditioning and hot water are too consuming to use while we're on generator power. However, the fan, water, fridge, lights, and wi-fi are still fully operational at that time.
As the power cut was not for the entire 3 days you should still have had use of the a/c and hot water. Had the staff been made aware of your predicament they would have done their best to find a solution, and if you had no a/c for the duration of your stay you would have been charged at the lesser rate.
Please accept our apologies for your bad experience, I hope it didn't spoil your travels of Cambodia.
And yes, our staff are nice, and although Dopey has since left us, the 6 remaining dwarves are an asset to the business.
Kind regards,
S.Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice location in front of the sea with a comfy terrace. Having said this, too expensive for what it offers, needs refurbiching and more amenities. The path that leads ther is not appropiate for all persons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had four days in rainly weather, so spent most of our time at the bar. It is in a great location, and is just the right size. The rooms are sparse, and should really have bathroom doors fitted. The view from our deck was great though. For a small place like this, it is essential to have good staff, and the guys on duty were always up for a smile and a chat. They were always pleased to help when we needed anything. It also helped that they gave us great recommendations for places to eat. The place is up for sale but if the new owners have any sense, they will leave things exactly as they are (apart form adding bathroom doors). There have been some comments about the noise at night, and although it can be heard, it didn't affect our sleep, so didn't have any real impact on us. Over all it gets a "Very Good" for the bar and the setting, the rooms alone would be "Average".

Room Tip: Room 3 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time at auos staff were great
Thanks a lot to all the staff ,Sharon, Ben , rob,Toni and mari
Real relaxing time, great cocktails, great time, best 2 weeks ever
Hope to see you all real soon
All the best
David

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syd
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

after checking a few place to stay on serendipity i find "above us only sky" and it's definitly the best place to stay in sihanoukville : a small piece of paridise, simple,beautifull and tasfull bungalows with a huge terrasse overlooking the water, best with AC. the owner and the staff are very freundly and very helfull. my daugther got sick in the night and they called right away a doctor who came 20mn laters. i spend 4 nights here and unfornunatly it was too short but we hope to come back. just stay on your terrasse or sit outside in the bar with some drinks and enjoy the wonderfull view...

Room Tip: best with AC, for a few $ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows

Address: Serendipity Beach | 40m from "Coasters", Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows to your Saves list