We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otres 1 is best beach in Sihanoukville... no comparison, except the islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otres Beach

Otres Beach
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
034 633 8484
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Otres 1 is best beach in Sihanoukville... no comparison, except the islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you come to Sihanoukville for the first time, you'll no doubt arrive at Serendipity or Ocheu beach... quickly asking yourself why?
If that is the case then head to Otres 1, sunshine cafe or pappa pippa dependent on your budget. Sea change is also good... all are the furthest down the south end of the beach.
The beach itself is one of the most pleasant on the mainland coast... but what makes Otres special is the variety of establishments... restaurants, bars, hotels, guesthouses, cafes etc. You can be entertained in so many ways and have the beautiful sunset every evening to enjoy while lapping up the rays, warm waters, quality food each day... and when dinner comes round there are so many great options, but Sunshine cafe really provide the best quality, value and dedication to serving food. Blame Canada are also good in every aspect, while Mushroom Point is one to avoid due to the disgruntled staff and tense atmosphere

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    287
    72
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice beach in a quieter area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you want to chill out away from the crowds a bit Otres beach would be a good option and there is a good selection of guest houses and bungalows along the beack

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great visit- will return next time we go to Cambodia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We didn't know what to expect but on the advise of another fellow traveller who has been to this coast many times before we came to Otres beach - and returned the following day- and had our stay been longer we would have returned again.
The beach is not over crowded and there are many shacks to choose from- there women on the beach sell delicious pumpkin cakes and doughnuts and provide quite good manicures and pedicures, they are not that persistant- more persistant are the kids who I am told are mostly Vietnamese who stand in front of your lounger and start to wail saying they need money for food- how true this is is debatable but I watched one kid after we'd given him a dollar do exactly the same theatre to the next lounging person... there are a couple of disabled folk also who wander around trying to get a dollar here and there. The women are fun to talk to- their English is better than in some hotels I tell you !
The food is also good in the shacks- we went to The Ibiza Beach Club owned by Spaniards and you can get fresh clams- yum and freach lobsters the next day- you can see they are fresh as the chef brings them in of a morning from the morning catch. Our great thanks to Julia and Alex- Julia I must tell you is from West Kensington and she and Alex make a lovely couple- a breath of fresh air they are on that beach- we are indebted to them for making our last few days at Sihanoukville very interesting and fun.Good luck to you both and hope that you are still squatting as I am still grinding!
There is lots to see on the beach- some quite artistic experiences aswell as a real mish mash of folk- older end tourists and younger back packers, people from all over the world. some really scruffy looking specimens who look as if they need a good wash down! It's a fun place to be and better than Ochuteal beach.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The beach is so nice ! White sand, clear water and quite place (Otres 2) It is the perfect place if you want to enjoy a moment of peace!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paddle Boarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Loved the water - crystal clear, but lots of sea lice. Learnt to stand up paddle board here and it was great for that. You will get harrassed a lot by the locals to buy merchandise, but if you are tough from the start you'll be ok.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otres Beach also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Otres Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otres Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.