We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in a Tacky Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Claude

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Claude to your Saves list
Chez Claude
2 thnou | M1, S3, Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 99000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 170 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a Tacky Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a gem. My room overlooked the ocean 2k below, and the walk to the beach (independence - one of the nicer ones) was 15 minutes. In the evening I would open the french doors and surround myself in the mosquito net (bugs not a problem) and hear ... quiet. The restaurant is very good. I would never stay in the center of this tacky town- full of drunken frat boys and hideous overdevelopment. Instead, take a $2 tuk-tuk 3 kilometers away and enjoy.

Room Tip: Enough already with the AC - enjoy the fresh air and use the fan - and save the planet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    1
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

After reading rave reviews of this place and wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle to somewhere quieter for a day or two, me, my husband and my mother opted for chez claude. With two fan rooms with adjoining bathroom we thought the $40 a bit steep as we we're coming from an enormous, aircon, cable tv, freew wifi, family room for only $25 and chez claude had non of these amenities, but thought it would be worth it since so many people have called it one of the best places they have ever stayed. We arrived at 1pm, our room wasn't ready yet even though we we're the only guests and had booked in at advanced especially since check in is at 12. The women who seemed to be running the place was sharp and difficult to talk to and we had to wait an hour till our room was finally ready, meaning we we're almost forced into buying drinks, that are twice the price than 10minutes down the coast .Once in our room I noticed that nearly everything was covered in cobwebs, for being the only guests surely they would at least give the place a dusting? Anyway, to get to actual sokha beach you'd have to walk 30minutes to sokha beach resort and then pay a price to use the beach. The closest beach to chez claude is a 15/20minutes up hill walk to independence beach which is covered in litter and quite horrible. We had dinner at Chez Claude that night, there's really no other option, and personally was pleasantly surprised as my barracuda creamy clay hotpot was excellent, sadly my partner and mothers dishes we're bland and not worth the very high price tag. Also dinner was spent listening to the manager? shouting constantly at her other staff and since there was no music this was quite uncomfortable. In the morning we ordered from the supposedly 'complimentary' al a carte breakfast menu only to realise after we left that she had charged us a ridiculous price for it (guess our fault for not checking, but it seemed like we got a bit scammed and it was not the best). She also said she would order us a tuk tuk and after my poor husband struggling down the steep steps with our bags we waited 40minutes for a tuk tuk that never came, luckily the one armed grounds keeper ( the only good thing about the place, always with a smile and very helpful) knew a number himself and we finally got going. I would recommend NOT TO STAY HERE. It cost us $116 for one night, dinner and breakfast. a five star price tag for a 1 star resort. Please keep in mind that me and my husband have been travelling along time on a very small budget, we are not fussy, we get what we can take but wanted to take visiting mum somewhere nice and got worse than places we pay $5 a night in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We read some excellent reviews of Chez Claude online and decided that it sounded like our kind of place. Amazing views, brilliant food and a truly wonderful place to stay are what we expected, what we got however was very different.
I was travelling with my Wife and her Mother so we booked the family room that had 2 rooms and an adjoining bathroom, the price was $40 and it included an a la carte breakfast so we thought it was a good deal.
Our room was OK, although the lights didn't work and strange piles of dirt appeared on the floors from the ceiling?? We were the only guests so the place felt a but like the Shining, although not as fancy. We were met by a one armed man and a lady that seemed to be coming off a 3 day bender speaking pure nonsense, the room wasn't ready although we had booked in advance, the restaurant smelled like an old ladies house, the food was average but very expensive ($2.50 for a small glass of Orange Juice!) and the restaurant played no music while the lady shouted at the kitchen staff at full pelt so we felt like we had to whisper, really odd.
The tractor/lift thing didn't seem to work, there were building materials and rubble everywhere, the whole place was very run down and mismatched. It felt like no-one had stayed there since the 90's...and no sign of Mr Claude either!
When we checked out we realised later that we had been charged for breakfast bringing the whole bill to $116 for one night in a dump. We asked the mad lady to call us a Tuk Tuk while we headed downstairs and she didn't bother so we stood in the rain for over 30 mins.
The one armed man was the only good thing about our stay here, although it made the deserted hotel even more odd, he was lovely and very, very helpful where no-one else seemed to be.
On the way back to town we seen the public part of Sokha Beach and it was at least 25 mins walk away and pretty underwhelming.
All in all, don't do it. I cannot understand how there are good reviews from this year on the site?? Maybe it was lovely 10 years ago but now it really is not.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked into Chez Claude after reading the glowing reports on this site and can only say we were really disappointed. From the very offset the place looked unkempt and tired. As there were three of us we had booked a family bungalow which had two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. The bungalow was perched on the side of the hill up some quite steep and uneven steps. It was nice enough if rather tired and basic. The beds were clean and comfortable with mosquito nets and a couple of fans per room. We were the only guests in the whole place! There was building materials scattered all over the site and the whole place is a mish-mash of different styles of bungalows some very old and tired looking and some newer modern looking units. We tried walking to Sohka beach but couldn’t find a way down to it and ended up at Independence Beach after a 15 min walk – not a very nice beach either. We ate in the restaurant as this place really is a good distance from any eating places as well as the beach. The view is impressive and the thunderstorm provided some spectacular backdrops to dinner. The food was ‘ok’ but expensive and we had had more enjoyable meals elsewhere for half the price. It wasn’t until we left, after only one night, that we realised we had been charged for the breakfast we ate too and their website had said the family bungalow came with breakfast included – our fault for not double checking the bill but something to be on your guard about. The best thing about the place was the one armed porter who carried our cases up to our room and phoned for a tuk tuk for us on our departure. Even the tuk tuk driver said ‘you go find better place to stay?’

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in sohka beach resort and consulted the lonely planet which told of it's 'pick', be this chez claude. So a skort tut tut ride and we arrived tho being low season it looked like we were the only ones there. I'd read about the cable car but when I saw it, I thougt how the hell does that... Anyway a tractor fires up it's engine and, with you onboard a little platform, drives the length of the drive! The cable car goes up and you arrive at the most spectacular of settings! Perched on the side of a small cliff-the views rock!

The staff were lovely, ESP Claude who we chatted to for ages. We had seafood and it wad delicious. Delicate and so tasty! Wine good too. Overall I would say this will be the most menorable of all our evenings out as the setting, the food was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I have just spent one of the most pleasureable months of my life at Chez Claude situated on a hill side about two kilometres outside Sihanoukville. They have several bungalows some wooden some not - done African style. There are also three or four budget option bungalows. The rooms are absolutely massive with a spacious terrace overlooking green fields and trees and then the sea. They are kept spotlessly clean. The steps up to them and the restaurant are surrounded by beautiful plants,trees and flowers. The restaurant itself serves unbelievably good food cooked by Claude's Vietnamese wife DouDou who is ably assisted by their son Kubi and is apparently rated among the best in Cambodia. The New York Times actually named it the best in Cambodia. You only need to see the guests from nearby 5 star resorts making their way up each evening to realise this is no exageration. For anyone who does'nt want to climb the steps they have a little train which will take you up the hill! If I sound gushing about this place it's only because I want others to enjoy what I have. The rooms start at $15 so its value for money to say the least. My only regret is now I've told you all about this gem evrybody will want to go and I'll find it hard to get booked in again next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Were recommended to go for dinner. The setting is unique and the staff charming. We had to wait awhile for service but when it was offered it was exemplary. The wine list was heavily curtailed as a result of the difficulty of keeping good wine at its peak in the local climate.

The food was delicious and indeed outstanding. The dessert menu declared that what was available depended on the 'mood' of DouDou the chef, but the creme brulee was superb.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Claude

Address: 2 thnou | M1, S3, Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 99000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are located nearly on top of Kampeng Hill, behind Sokkha Resort,in Sihanoukville, Cambodian Premium Sea/Beaches destination. Our resort, well mentioned in most of the Guides Books, allows one of the best view on the Sea and Islands, offers accomodation in nice bungalows, one of the best seafood restaurant, scuba diving and Islands Tours services. See you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chez Claude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Claude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.