We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, lying rip-off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquarium
Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dirty, lying rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

Thinking of going to Sihanoukville? Don't bother!! Unless of course, like us, you are after a visa for Vietnam. In which case, try and get in and out in a day and avoid wasting your money on accommodation.
The Aquarium charges $10 per night (minimum) and when you think of all the other places you have stayed on your trip for the same amount, you will be asking yourself what parallel universe this is!?

Everything is damp, which is usually understandable when by the sea, but here everything smells too.

There are no mosquito nets and the lights flicker when they are switched off, so we had to remove the lightbulb when we went to bed. (Those with epilepsy take note!)

We were woken at the crack of dawn to dogs barking and one was sat on the table outside our room when we opened the door.

The worst part was when we asked reception where the Vietnamese Embassy was, the lady owner adamantly told us there wasn't one in Sihanoukville and they would need to organise the visas for us. This was a blatant lie - hundreds of people come though here for same day visas and so we got a tuc tuc to the Embassy and did just that. When we got back and showed her the visas she claimed she had no idea about the existence of the Embassy (!!?) How can you trust them with anything after this?

I could go on, but I think you get the idea and if you are wondering why it's called Aquarium, there is a muddy tank in the bar with a small, lonely puffer fish, unlucky enough to be plucked from the ocean, now spending eternity bashing its head against the glass!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I didn't stay at aquarium but during my stay in Sihanoukville i was looking for a nice beachfront location which was relaxed and not too formal and expensive to eat and i found aquarium. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, The Khmer style traditional food is amazing and great value, A nice selection of fresh fruit drinks and cocktails, happy hour each evening so very cheap drinks, Fresh BBQ each evening and music, Free Wifi. I had food and drink here two evenings in a row, It was so relaxing and possibly the best place to eat and drink in peace on serendipity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The first thing you should know about the Aquarium is how to get there. We made the mistake of checking in the Coaster's next door as a result. The Aquarium is located on the beach next to the Coaster's. The problem is that if you enter from the small alley behind Coaster's which has a sign that says, "Aquarium", you must walk through Coaster's. As a result, you will walk past the front desk at Coaster's and if you aren't aware, you may make the same mistake.
After spending the night at Coaster's, we were happy to arrive at our original booking. At Coaster's the A/C was preset and didn't get cool enough. Luckily, the Aquarium gives you the remote so you can set the temperature like you prefer. Our bungalow was at the front, just behind the beachfront restaurant. The bungalow was just fine and everything seemed to work just fine. The only problem we had was wifi access. Sometimes we got it, sometimes we didn't (in and out of the bungalow). In the end, we were happy with the bungalow and the service and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at Aquarium for a total of 10 nights, broken with a trip to Lazy Beach.The staff are welcoming, the food delicious and fresh, the drinks cold and the location relaxing, so if the rooms were a bit run down, we didn't mind at all.

Set at the quiet end of Sihanoukville's party beach means you are within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants without being disturbed by the noise all night. The Aquarium fronts right up to the sea, so it was barely 10 metres from our room to the water, with only the restaurant in between. There's a sliver of beach but the raised platform that runs along the front of the restaurant, with low tables, floor mats and cushions, makes it a very comfortable place to while away a big chunk of the day.

A lick of paint and some basic maintenance to the rooms would make this place perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

First perceptions can be deceiving. We went to book the previous day and we thought we were booking into a lovely beach side bungalow, however when we checked in 12 hours later the area had turned into a building site. The bar/restaurant area was covered in rubble and trees, so obviously was closed and we had to clamber over building materials just to get to our bungalow.
In the bungalow itself, the door did not close properly and had holes in the walls, by the doors, windows and aircon vents and when we sat on the bed it broke. There were mosquito nets over the beds which were definitely needed but they did have holes in. The shower was just simply a dribble and impossible to wash in.
The staff were of no help at all and just said the word yes to every question asked without comprehension. We were kept awake at night by wildlife (at one point we had to shout out the window until someone came as there was a foot long lizard in a gap by the door) and woken at 7am by building works.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

This place was just what we needed during our trip through Cambodia. After staying in town at Beach Road Hotel this place had everything our first place did not: ocean views, breakfast included, great internet, friendly staff, tranquility. We kept extending our stay because of how much we loved it. Best deal in town and the friendliest staff. Were sad to leave but look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

i stayed here a while back, had an serious emergency due to a girlfriends illness in London but couldnt get back. Was in limbo for a week or so. The guys at the bungalows were very friendly and helped me thru a hard time. Beers in the evening and good chats. The location is ideal, good for a relaxing evening but close enough for the other bars etc. the room was comfortable and had a view. food was good and everyone relaxed and friendly. I looked at other places and found this to be the best by far.
thanks Norm and Gordy etc. good times.

Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium

Address: Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 66 Specialty lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Aquarium Hotel Sihanoukville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aquarium to your Saves list