We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling Waters is our Charming Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falling Waters River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falling Waters River Resort
15729 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Salmon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Falling Waters is our Charming Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stay in Kernville frequently and our most favorite place to stay is Chuck Richard's Falling Waters River Resort. Chuck and his staff are always helpful and have lots of great tips and local knowledge. Rooms are all different and decorated in a wonderfully eclectic style.

The resort is right on a very beautiful section of the Kern River. The sounds and sights of the flowing river add to the ambience of Falling Waters.

We enjoy a room with all sorts of homey decorative touches, a comfortable king size bed, a sitting area with a couch and a rocking chair and a table with 4 chairs to eat at. The cooking area has a two burner cooktop, a microwave, coffee maker, a toaster, sink, countertop and a small refrigerator. It is stocked just right with cooking utensils for light cooking. Outside the front door of the room is a bbq. There's an attractive propane fireplace that heats the room nicely. We are usually here in Kernville during the winter months but there is also an air conditioner for the summer. The staff does a great job on cleaning the rooms, they are always spotless.

The grounds are very well maintained and nice to walk around. There's a beautiful pool with beautiful granite rock features. One year we were here in April and the pool was open and I had a lovely swim. Lots of lounge chairs surround it, bet it would be nice in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Before we even arrived in America, Chuck was emailing us back and forth with suggestions on where to stay and what to visit on our 3 week road trip around California. So I left a little bit disappointed in the standard accomodation at Falling Waters. We were greeted by bunk beds with plastic mattresses, the kitchen had gaps where the drawers had been taken out and a huge gaping hole where the oven should have been, the microwave and frying pan were so disgustingly dirty, I refused to use them. There is a serious ant problem in the resort and you have have to be ultra careful about food. My daughter made a cheese sandwich and left a few crumbs on the floor and when we came back after dinner one evening there were ants all over the kitchen floor and counters, it took a good 30 minutes to clean them up before we could go to bed. The pool however was great, huge, clean and for the two days we were there we had it to ourselves which the kids loved. This place could be amazing if only they spend a little money on bringing the accomodation and outside areas up to standard. The staff and Chuck however made this place shine, Chuck you are a star, thanks again for all your help!

Room Tip: Going by the other reviews don't choose the family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been staying at Falling Waters Inn for the past nine years. We always reserve the same room during Whiskey Flat Days. Each room has a different theme. The people who run the place are great, we have never had a problem. The room we have is clean and inviting. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The room and set-up was better than we were expecting. The room was shaded by mulberry trees, the courtyard in front had a BBQ and it was pleasant to sit outside our room and listen to the river. We went up on a Friday and the place was very quiet. The staff greeted us in a friendly and helpful manner, providing suggestions for places to eat and things to do. The room was large, tastefully decorated in an Old West theme and the bathroom and shower stall were spic and span. We particularly enjoyed the nice skylight that brought in lots of natural light in the morning and sitting in the dining area looking out the windows for breakfast. We were in Room #15, which I liked because it was on the end. Parking was very convenient -- right next to our cottage. There was potential to hear the neighbors through the adjoining door, but we lucked out and had relatively quiet ones. All in all, our stay exceeded our expectations, was restful, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: I was glad I saved money by choosing a courtyard room rather than a river view room. Room #15 was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have stayed at Falling Waters Resort several times- the past 6 years. Clean cottages, wood burning fireplaces, picnic tables, bbq's, full kitchen...all that...and right on the River- and we can bring our 2 dogs! A delightful- no BS- relaxing place to get out of town and enjoy. The staff is always pleasant- and helpful if needed. The grounds are well manicured- and we just highly recommend this place- if you are looking for a simple few days to sit and enjoy some peace. Kind of like camping- but with all the ammenties of a home.

Room Tip: The rooms are all a different theme- but they are all very quaint. If I can get my macho husband to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I were wanting to stay at places that were not in the cities during our road-trip around Southern California. In April we virtually had the place to ourselves. Friendly Chuck and his dog were waiting when we arrived with four sets of keys and asked us to look in each room and decide which one took our fancy. Each room has a theme; pirate ship, hunting, (lots ) . We chose #27 right at the end. All done out in victorian style with huge bed that had a step to use to climb up on to it. The room was large and with a kitchen with good facilities. Bathroom and shower were good.
It was very quiet and peaceful with just the river for company, but I could imagine that in the summer season this place would be full of adventureous people and familes taking advantage of the Kern river.
Chuck gave me lots of his time to tell about the history of the area ane was very friendly.
The small town of Kernville was about 10mins away with a few shops and eating places.

Room Tip: The ends one was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Chuck Richards’ Falling Waters River Resort is a great place to stay if you’re looking for a cabin right on the beautiful Kern River! It’s far enough from the road to hear nothing but the lull of the river and was serenely peaceful and quiet in the off-season! We stayed in a lovely Victorian-themed duplex cabin. The staff and service were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falling Waters River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Waters River Resort

Address: 15729 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty lodging in Kernville
Also Known As:
Falling Waters River Hotel Kernville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falling Waters River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Falling Waters River Resort to your Saves list