We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
boston ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Location, location ! right across from the Kern River, restaurants within walking distance. We had a downstairs room which was comfortable and well equipped with everything you could think of , including a terry robe for post shower ! We were greeted with tea and fresh baked brownies and the breakfast was delicious. Very comfortable highly recommend !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wofford Heights, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

A couple friends and I reserved a night and dinner and I have to say, it was one of the best ideas we have had in a long time... what fun. the hostess was wonderful and the food perfect... the room was amazing... and I am fussy! Clean, comfortable,cozy and fresh. I loved all the details and the home touches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Traveling across country, and we were looking for a restful break after camping at Arches and Zion en route to Yosemite. Googled B&B's at midway point (Kernville) and read wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor about Virginia, her Inn, and her hospitality so we made a reservation. Prior to arriving, we called to tell her we would be arriving around 8:30pm and simply as a courtesy, we asked how late was too late and her reply was...."after 11:00 is just rude". We thought this was an odd comment, but found this to be the theme for the two days we spent there. When we arrived, our car was parked out front on the street, since she never told us there was a lot out back. We discovered this on our own. She showed us in general where things were in the house and made it a point to tell us how tired she was because she had been up since 5:00am and was going to bed. We asked what time breakfast was and she said she served breakfast at 8:00. She said after 9:30 was "pushing it" and inconvenient for her. We got up at 8:30 for breakfast and there was only one other couple sitting at the table. She said since we got up early it would be about 15 minutes. We looked at each other puzzled, thinking we were making it easier for her. Every time we approached her she would ask "What can I do for you?" in a hostile manner. The next day we asked if she could recommend any hiking or local sites/scenery to see and she replied "Not really. I have very short apron strings, so I don't get out much". Taken back by this reply, we decided to try to stay out her way since whenever we asked a question, or tried to make pleasant conversation, she seemed to be annoyed. Maybe there were some personal problems in her life at this time, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Freshly baked cakes most days, along with English tea for Brits!
Good advice on restaurants.
Great breakfasts.
A perfect base for some whitewater rafting (walking distance).
A great change from a sequence of hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Virgina has a cozy house just in front of the river and our stay was so relaxing (we needed it after a long drive to her place). The host gives you a lot of advice about your trip and our bedroom was just lovely. We would like to go back there in order to enjoy a rafting experience because we didn't have enough time to do it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We spent our wedding anniversary here and we simply loved the place. The rooms are so well decorated and equipped with contrasting furniture. Virginia is a great host and such a wealth of knowledge of where to go and what to see. The breakfast won't disappoint you. There is a large shared fridge where you can store drinks and get ice for the day ahead. There are also bottles of water available for a small donation. The location is perfect for the town and nearby restaurants. We took a kayak with us and paddled in the Lake in the morning - the afternoon the wind can get up and there are a few waves. We loved this place so much we already are planning on coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I came to Kernville to windsurf on Lake Isabella. I had one experience here years ago, when I stayed at a dingy local motel and swore I'd never come back. I am pleased to say that we have now found a place I look forward to visiting again. Our hostess is friendly and full of good advice about places to go and things to do; she also makes a fabulous breakfast. The rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable, and the (private) bathrooms are stocked with high-quality bath products and nice towels. The house is located directly across the street from the Kern River, so it's a bit of a zoo on weekends (there is private parking around back, fortunately), but you can't beat the scenery and the peaceful atmosphere once the crowds go home for the evening. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Kernville, The Kern River Inn is directly across from the Kern River and a river side county park. There are 5 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, some with fireplaces. Owner (and dog and cat) lives on premises. Multi-course country style breakfast is included. Cookies and fruit basket always available. Please let us know if you have dietary preferences, so that we may accommodate your needs. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kern River Hotel Kernville
Kern River Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.