We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very warm hospitality welcomed us upon arriving. The hostess is a very nice intelligent woman which we loved in the first moment we met here.
The Inn is a boutique hotel - with 4 rooms. Very clean, very comfortable !
Breakfast was tasty and special. One can see that it was made with love !
Everything was just perfect !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arrived here after a 9 hour drive from Zion Canyon via Las Vegas and the Mojave Desert, just as a huge storm was beginning to brew. Stayed a the Big Blue room which was nothing short of luxurious with the most wonderful pulse shower. Virginia was very welcoming and gave us good advice on where to eat that night.

breakfast the next morning was great and the muffins were superb...I gather the recipe is constantly being perfected...for me I have to say perfection has been reached.

loved everything about the place.

Room Tip: The micro brewery is great to eat at...Try to take the road down to Bakersfield through Sequoia Nati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were traveling with our daughter and son-in-law from LA towards Yosemite and wanted to stop off enroute and chose Kernville as a good option. Virginia was welcoming in spite of the late hour and was happy to recommend local restaurants. The rooms were pristine and the bedding was first-class. We had the best night's sleep in the wonderful beds that we had in 2 weeks' of travel! The bathrooms were lovely and included several extremely thoughtful details, including bug spray, and bathroom spray which you don't often find in any hotel or B&Bs! The breakfast was excellent, catering to all sorts of tastes, and Virginia was happy to share her recipes for the wonderful breakfast frittatas she had prepared--I will be trying them now I'm back home! The informal nature of the breakfast room made for a sociable opportunity which was interesting. Unfortunately, our schedule (we had a wedding to get to) didn't allow us to explore the town very much, but none of us would hesitate to return to Kern River Inn in a heartbeat! She must have been having a bad day when Fiona visited! Our experience was very different indeed. Thanks Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetF830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Kern River Inn B&B is located in a very comfortable house in front of the river. The furniture is good-looking and there are plenty of interesting books. We liked the pets (they are not allowed in the rooms though). Breakfast is huge and very good; the guests were friendly and we enjoyed their conversation. The owner is very kind and available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgilio_Gabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our experiences appear to be very different to all the other posts here. We found Virginia extremely unwelcoming and we felt very uncomfortable during our stay there. So much so that I even asked one of the other guests if it was us.....but she said no she is very unwelcoming....

On the positive side it was a lovely house and the room was spotless.The breakfast was great....even though everyone ate it in silence too frightened to go in the kitchen in case you got your head bitten off!! Couldn't wait to get out of there.

Loved Kernville though it was an absolute hoot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiakri, Owner at Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Sorry that your stay wasn't up to standards. I must have been having a really "off day." Lots of effort goes into having all our guests comfortable with the Inn. My apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

yes this was a great stay! the place is located close to a park at the river. you can walk to all the places and restaurants in town. it was nice relaxing on the porch. the host is really friendly and welcoming. our room was super clean and very comfy. breakfast was great too. this is a worry free place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senor_Chang_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Virginia is the Innkeeper of this beautiful and comfortable Inn. She welcomes you with her hospitality and her skills as a baker and cook are fabulous! Located right at Riverside Park on the Kern River, this lodging accommodation is a very nice place to treat yourself to that relaxing quite get away!

Room Tip: Please share with Virginia the type of accomadatio you prefer and she will kindly suggest a room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Cone Inn
Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to everyone who has stayed with us over the last 12 years. We are closing on November 30, 2014. The Inn will be a private home for a large family. May you all have lovely travel experiences. You will be remembered for your travel stories and your kindness to me and to our pets. All the best wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kern River Inn b&b
Kern River Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing