We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

yes this was a great stay! the place is located close to a park at the river. you can walk to all the places and restaurants in town. it was nice relaxing on the porch. the host is really friendly and welcoming. our room was super clean and very comfy. breakfast was great too. this is a worry free place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Virginia is the Innkeeper of this beautiful and comfortable Inn. She welcomes you with her hospitality and her skills as a baker and cook are fabulous! Located right at Riverside Park on the Kern River, this lodging accommodation is a very nice place to treat yourself to that relaxing quite get away!

Room Tip: Please share with Virginia the type of accomadatio you prefer and she will kindly suggest a room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a very long trip from the madness that is Vegas, we were delighted with the welcome given to use by Virginia. Within minutes of arriving she had booked us a table at the local Italian restaurant.

We stayed in the Blue Room which was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and she was a lovely lady.

Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Kern River Inn and were delighted with our stay. After a long drive from San Diego it was lovely to arrive and immediately feel very welcome. The owner, Virginia, was very friendly and was happy to help as much as possible with things to do in the area. We just used the day to relax after a few hectic days and enjoyed sitting on the porch across from the river doing a whole heap of nothing! The bedroom and bathroom we stayed in were fantastic (probably the best shower we have ever used) and the breakfast in the morning was great. I would highly recommend and stop in Kernville, if you can get a room at the Kern River Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Friends and I stayed here 2 nights while river rafting this past weekend. We had 3 rooms - all rooms were nicely furnished with good firm beds and clean bathrooms. The bathroom amenities were really nice - it had everything from bug spray to tooth paste/tooth brush to face cream. The owner was very nice and friendly. She made fresh breakfast for us daily - the breakfast very delicious! Free wifi, water, cookies, etc. The only thing that was strange was that the maid had not looked into the walk in closet when cleaning our room before we arrived, as there was a man's boxer brief on the floor!

The best part was that we could pay for our rooms (split the rooms) on different credit cards, without any hassles.
Everything was very nice! I definately recommend this place and will stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed 2 nights while I was river rafting the Lower Kern River. The owner, Virginia, has 5 bedrooms, all with bathrooms and windows that open and ceiling fans. The queen bed and sheets were very nice. There is free wi-fi. There is a "guests" full size refrigerator in the hallway which is stocked with bottled water. Guests can store their own beverages. You really feel like you are staying in a home instead of a hotel. The Kern River Park is right across the street where you can take a dip in the river. The breakfast is wonderful. warm, fresh cookies are put out in the afternoon. My only complaint was that the flatscreenTV was quite small and was hard to see across the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in Kern River Inn en route from Sequoia to Death Valley. It was the perfect antidote to a very busy trip to date because we spent most of the time relaxing on the deck in the sunshine. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous (we stayed in the Greenhorn Room). Everything is spotless and comfortable and I really wish we had been able to stay two nights as it was such a great place. Virginia is a lovely host - we really enjoyed chatting with her after our delicious breakfast - she really adds a personal touch. Absolutely excellent overall and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Greenhorm Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Cone Inn
Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 6 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount-N-Lake Motel
Mount-N-Lake Motel
#1 of 2 in Wofford Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to everyone who has stayed with us over the last 12 years. We are closing on November 30, 2014. The Inn will be a private home for a large family. May you all have lovely travel experiences. You will be remembered for your travel stories and your kindness to me and to our pets. All the best wishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kern River Hotel Kernville
Kern River Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.