We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a very long trip from the madness that is Vegas, we were delighted with the welcome given to use by Virginia. Within minutes of arriving she had booked us a table at the local Italian restaurant.

We stayed in the Blue Room which was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and she was a lovely lady.

Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Kern River Inn and were delighted with our stay. After a long drive from San Diego it was lovely to arrive and immediately feel very welcome. The owner, Virginia, was very friendly and was happy to help as much as possible with things to do in the area. We just used the day to relax after a few hectic days and enjoyed sitting on the porch across from the river doing a whole heap of nothing! The bedroom and bathroom we stayed in were fantastic (probably the best shower we have ever used) and the breakfast in the morning was great. I would highly recommend and stop in Kernville, if you can get a room at the Kern River Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Friends and I stayed here 2 nights while river rafting this past weekend. We had 3 rooms - all rooms were nicely furnished with good firm beds and clean bathrooms. The bathroom amenities were really nice - it had everything from bug spray to tooth paste/tooth brush to face cream. The owner was very nice and friendly. She made fresh breakfast for us daily - the breakfast very delicious! Free wifi, water, cookies, etc. The only thing that was strange was that the maid had not looked into the walk in closet when cleaning our room before we arrived, as there was a man's boxer brief on the floor!

The best part was that we could pay for our rooms (split the rooms) on different credit cards, without any hassles.
Everything was very nice! I definately recommend this place and will stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed 2 nights while I was river rafting the Lower Kern River. The owner, Virginia, has 5 bedrooms, all with bathrooms and windows that open and ceiling fans. The queen bed and sheets were very nice. There is free wi-fi. There is a "guests" full size refrigerator in the hallway which is stocked with bottled water. Guests can store their own beverages. You really feel like you are staying in a home instead of a hotel. The Kern River Park is right across the street where you can take a dip in the river. The breakfast is wonderful. warm, fresh cookies are put out in the afternoon. My only complaint was that the flatscreenTV was quite small and was hard to see across the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in Kern River Inn en route from Sequoia to Death Valley. It was the perfect antidote to a very busy trip to date because we spent most of the time relaxing on the deck in the sunshine. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeous (we stayed in the Greenhorn Room). Everything is spotless and comfortable and I really wish we had been able to stay two nights as it was such a great place. Virginia is a lovely host - we really enjoyed chatting with her after our delicious breakfast - she really adds a personal touch. Absolutely excellent overall and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Greenhorm Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pulled up after a long drive to the most picturesque little house which, we were delighted to see, was our B&B!

Welcomed by Virginia and her little dog Poppy, with a batch of home made cookies - lovely!

Shown to our room, White Water, which had crisp white sheets, lovely bathroom with white fluffy towels and a view of Kern River...perfect!

Delicious breakfast served at 0830, with real English tea! 

Wifi connection was the fastest we have had on our three week trip in the US.

Lovely little Italian restaurant within walking distance (2 minute walk), and all the white water rafting offices are also a stones throw away from the B&B.

The Trail of 100 Giants is a picturesque drive (one hour drive if you don't pull over for sight seeing which is impossible as the views of the river are breathtaking).

Virginia is a perfect host, and sitting on the verandah with a glass of wine early evening is a joy.
Top tip though, bums on seats in the local restaurants by 8.30pm latest for dinner - otherwise ou won't get fed!

Room Tip: We stayed in White Water which has a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

At the end of a long drive fromYosemite this well run small b&b was perfect for our one night stop on the way to Las Vegas. Our room (Whiskey Flat) was spotless and beautifully decorated / equipped for a short stay and the view of the Kern river from our room was lovely.
Personal attention from the owner including an adequate 'made for you' breakfast was much appreciated and helped us on our way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Kernville, The Kern River Inn is directly across from the Kern River and a river side county park. There are 5 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, some with fireplaces. Owner (and dog and cat) lives on premises. Multi-course country style breakfast is included. Cookies and fruit basket always available. Please let us know if you have dietary preferences, so that we may accommodate your needs. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kern River Hotel Kernville
Kern River Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.