We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one-night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent one-night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

At the end of a long drive fromYosemite this well run small b&b was perfect for our one night stop on the way to Las Vegas. Our room (Whiskey Flat) was spotless and beautifully decorated / equipped for a short stay and the view of the Kern river from our room was lovely.
Personal attention from the owner including an adequate 'made for you' breakfast was much appreciated and helped us on our way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We chose Kernville for our anniversary getaway, hoping the drive to Lake Isabella and beyond would be lovely. There aren't enough words to describe the river valley.
And to top it off, our two nights at the Kern River Inn were delightful. Kernville is quiet at the end of September. No crowds of rafters and fishermen. We spent hours walking the town and looking in every shop, wandering the museum, and eating at local restaurants.
And we were Virginia's only guests.
The house was built as an inn, faces a quiet spot on the river, and has all the comforts you would ever need. Common areas are sunny and bright. Guest rooms are spotless, carefully arranged, and have every convenience. Perfect beds and crisp linens.
Breakfast is laid out in abundance every morning with the freshest ingredients in a charming dining room.
Virginia's granola is the best we've ever tasted. Get the recipe, she makes copies.

Room Tip: Even though it may be a little noisy on warm evenings, choose a room where you can see and hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wonderful room with fireplace, extremely well-kept and clean. Great breakfast! Very nice owner. Can definitely recommend this wonderful little b&b.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

What a lovely and peaceful New Year's weekend my husband and I shared at this comfortable and welcoming Inn in Kernville. Virginia and her animals were a treat and made us feel like we were in a comfortable home --- much preferred for us over a sterile hotel room. The food was very good - not gourmet like so many B&B's - and we loved that! Virginia's laced cookies are unbelievably good. For a nice getaway we highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Piute Room which has a nice wood-burning fireplace and Virginia supplies the durafl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We really enjoyed the warm hospitality in the Kern River Inn B&B, the room was pleasant and absolutely clean. Kernville is also a very nice town to just to do an evening stroll. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Kern River Inn over the Labor Day weekend and it was great to sit on the veranda watching the busy world go by, Virginia was very helpful and informative. We stayed in the Blue Room which was spacious with a great shower. The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality AND IRONED! something that we didn't find in top hotels we stayed in US. Breakfast buffet style was excellent as it enabled you to take as much or as little as you wanted, so no waste.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

What a refreshing change. The only night of our holiday not spent in a hotel/lodge. It was charming to be greeted by the owner into her home. The building was right on the river with a great view from the porch. It was very easy to find, and parking just outside.

The owner does have a cat and dogs so be prepared for them to greet you too. The cat spent most of the day and evening in our room and sleeping on the bed which was lovely. The room was large and very well decorated. Bathroom was large with the softest towels ever! Everything in the room was spotless, and every extra was there. Breakfast was excellent.

If we could think one improvement, suggest flat screen TVs and DVD players as she still had VCR's!!!! Although we were very grateful for the video collection.

The owner had local restaurant menus in the living room, and made an excellent recommendation for dinner, although her directions weren't great!

Overall a lovely place we would like to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Kernville, The Kern River Inn is directly across from the Kern River and a river side county park. There are 5 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, some with fireplaces. Owner (and dog and cat) lives on premises. Multi-course country style breakfast is included. Cookies and fruit basket always available. Please let us know if you have dietary preferences, so that we may accommodate your needs. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kern River Hotel Kernville
Kern River Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.