We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay en route to Sequioa parc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast
119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kernville B&B and Inns
Rotterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay en route to Sequioa parc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We really enjoyed the warm hospitality in the Kern River Inn B&B, the room was pleasant and absolutely clean. Kernville is also a very nice town to just to do an evening stroll. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Kern River Inn over the Labor Day weekend and it was great to sit on the veranda watching the busy world go by, Virginia was very helpful and informative. We stayed in the Blue Room which was spacious with a great shower. The bed linen and towels were of the highest quality AND IRONED! something that we didn't find in top hotels we stayed in US. Breakfast buffet style was excellent as it enabled you to take as much or as little as you wanted, so no waste.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

What a refreshing change. The only night of our holiday not spent in a hotel/lodge. It was charming to be greeted by the owner into her home. The building was right on the river with a great view from the porch. It was very easy to find, and parking just outside.

The owner does have a cat and dogs so be prepared for them to greet you too. The cat spent most of the day and evening in our room and sleeping on the bed which was lovely. The room was large and very well decorated. Bathroom was large with the softest towels ever! Everything in the room was spotless, and every extra was there. Breakfast was excellent.

If we could think one improvement, suggest flat screen TVs and DVD players as she still had VCR's!!!! Although we were very grateful for the video collection.

The owner had local restaurant menus in the living room, and made an excellent recommendation for dinner, although her directions weren't great!

Overall a lovely place we would like to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The B&B is a quaint two story timber house situated in the small village of Kernville, in a quiet street overlooking the Kern River. It has 5 ensuite bedrooms to choose from, all of similar quality. The rooms are nicely furnished with high quality bed linen. The ensuites are on the small side but that is not a serious criticism. Our room, costing A$154 per night, including a breakfast of fruit, muffins, quiche etc, had an open fireplace and views across the street to the river. B&B owner, Virginia and her two dogs and cat, make guests feel very welcome. The B&B does not have a restaurant but there are a number of choices in the village within walking distance. We had an enjoyable pasta and a red on the front terrace at "That's Italian".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011 via mobile

We found this beautifull b&b in TripAdvizor, and it was as lovely as spring blossom. Every room has its own charming design, rooms are very clean, with all the stuf we needed, Virginia helped us with everything, even made special breakfast to fit my diet!
She recommended us about trip routes and was very kind .thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Just returned from our 8th annual family jaunt to this wonderful B&B. We always receive a warm greeting from Virginia and her pets. The B&B is attractive and welcoming. The rooms are tastefully decorated and cozy. The B&B is conveniently located across the street from Riverside Park and the Kern River. It is nice to hear the sounds of the rushing Kern River through an open window in your room or while sitting on the porch enjoying the scenery. Breakfast is out of this world and the afternnon cookies/brownies are always a treat. See you again next year Virginia, Bella, Poppy and Max.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our time at the Kern River Inn. Virginia was helpful and chatty and recommended a couple of restaurants and a great local bar for us. The area is simply stunning, the river is right outside and mountains all around with walks a short distance away. Would recommend for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 119 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Kernville, The Kern River Inn is directly across from the Kern River and a river side county park. There are 5 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, some with fireplaces. Owner (and dog and cat) lives on premises. Multi-course country style breakfast is included. Cookies and fruit basket always available. Please let us know if you have dietary preferences, so that we may accommodate your needs. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kern River Hotel Kernville
Kern River Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.