We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brewery in Kern County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kern River Brewing Company

Kern River Brewing Company
13415 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9714
760-376-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Kernville
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Brewery in Kern County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This brewery in Kernville has plenty of indoor and outdoor seating with the brewing area behind the bar. They have awonderful line of t-shirts the beer I liked the most was the red ale and the blonde. They even had a new one called dirty hippie. The food was good and flavorable. The fish tacos tasted fresh and not greasy. I liked its rustic look. Outside there is a mockup of a water tower with their logo on it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great rootbeer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great view, good vibe, good food, good service. Its about the average burgers, sandwiches and salads place, but its a satisfying visit. The place is clean and on weekend night is fairly busy and lively. I went non-alcoholic that night and I know it sounds funny but their rootbeer will keep me coming back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A great reason to go to Kernville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

OK, so there are plenty of reasons to go to Kernville - whitewater rafting, beautiful mountains, nice little town, fresh air, the Kern River, sequoias nearby... well here's one more great reason to go - some of the best and most unique beer you'll find in California.
While the food served here is mostly standard pub fare, solidly good and in line witih most microbrewery menus I've encountered, things are as they should be and it's the beer that really stands out as nothing short of excellent.
Our favorites were their IPA, which was one of the most unusual tasting, almost earthy, IPAs that I've ever had the pleasure of encountering, and the Class V Stout, which carries you away like the rapids it is named for, and is one of the best domestic stouts I've fallen for in a long, long time.
So, thirsty travelers, head to the Kern River Brewing Company and slake that thirst (and stay at the Kern Lodge next door so you don't have to drive). You'll be glad you did. There's a great view from the pub, or you can sit outside, and there is no better way to pass an evening up in the mountains. We will return!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mmmm beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place, it's a brewery and the menu consists of typical bar food. Tacos, burgers, soft pretzel.... The staff is hit or miss depending on who serves you. Big fan of the soft preztles and sequoia red beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed the beer sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The folks were very nice and the service was pleasant. We took a table outside because there were six of us. Most of us had a 'beer sampler'. While we each liked one or two of the beers a LOT....none of us liked the same ones!! The food was pretty tasty and the menu offers a lot of choices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kern River Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Kern River Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kern River Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.