We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food anywhere !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rio Mexican Restaurant

El Rio Mexican Restaurant
11 Kern River Drive, Kernville, CA 93238
(760) 376-3246
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Kernville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Wofford Heights, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food anywhere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love Carnie Asada tacos. El Rios are the best I've had. The food is always good, the service is friendly and quick. Prices are good. We go almost every weekend and they are not too crowded on Holiday weekends. Nice family owned business.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped by for a quick bite while we were out and about and rafting the Kern. From the outside and looks like nothing special and the inside looks like a little hole in the wall. But from the first bite I seriously could not believe the amazingness of this tiny little restaurant. My enchilada sauce was so flavorful, and the shredded beef taco was full of flavorful, tender beef. The chips and salsa were plentiful, and the waitress was attentive and kind without being overbearing. I will for sure be back to visit, even if it is out of my way to visit Kernville!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Mexican food is a favorite of mine and I am always looking for great places to pick some up when I travel. El Rio is on the top of my list, which is absolutely surprising to me-I didn't expect to find such a hidden gem in this part of the state.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you enjoy good Mexican food then you'll truly enjoy El Rio. This place is "hidden" from the main part of town and it's what I'd call a "hidden gem". When you walk in your first thought may be that this is sort of a "hole in the wall" but don't let the fact that it's not on the main drag of Kernville. Food is excellent and there is no doubt that we will return on our next visit to town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Rio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rio Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.