We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Jacalito Mexican Grill - CLOSED

El Jacalito Mexican Grill
11301 Kernville Rd, Ste B, Kernville, CA 93238-9761
760-376-3834
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We go to Kernville a few times a year but in general I stay away from eating Mexican food because I am very picky - I am used to home-made Mexican food. My husband convinced me to try this place for dinner one night and I am so happy I did. The place is nicely decorated, clean with a pleasant atmosphere. The waiter was friendly with good service and helped with menu choices. Apparently all sauces are made/stewed there in the kitchen and they are excellent. I chose a "safe" plate, in other words one that I knew I would like, my husband is more adevnturous, but his was so good we went back the next day for lunch and I ordered that! I have been telling everyone to stop there if in town, and even offended my grandma when I said it was the best Mexican food I've ever had. I stand by that. Try this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food was pretty gross and the service was really slow. I ordered the fajitas and it was really greasy. I wouldn't eat here again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangeville, Idaho
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I travel ll over the country. Mexican is my favorite kind of food so I know good mexican. This was not it. It was ok, just ok. The salsa was different, but good, but the food very bland and only ok. I had the chicken enchilada and chili rellano. I only ate half of my meal and had the rest for lunch the next day. I never throw out mexican food, but in this case I never finished it (and not because there was too much) and threw the rest out. Not sure what the others ordered who raved about this place but I'd say go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Real value for money and the best Mexican food I ever ate, I wish I lived near enough to get take away. Make the effort to go for lunch

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awsome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

we were in town riding our dirt bikes when we came along this wonderfull place for lunch, salsa and chips are awsome, it is some kind of blackened salsa!!!!! MMMMMM
i had taquitos and the pot beans and my friend had the shrimp taco that he raved about, both were great!
it was soo good we came nack the next day for the shrimp taco's again!
if u are in kernville and like mexican food, i would not miss this place, you can sit inside or on the patio with some seats that face the street views!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jacalito Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jacalito Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.